September 17, 2012

Celadon Road 20 SPF Sunscreen: great products, accessibility an issue

IMG_1981.jpg
We've reviewed Celadon Road before, and I do truly like their products. This time, we were sent Sunscreen SPF20 by a public relations company, rather than a Celadon Road consultant.

Our Original Sunscreen is fragrance-free, non-comedogenic, ecosystem approved, cruelty-free and comes in 100% recyclable packaging. Did we mention the remaining ingredients are gluten-free, corn-free, vegan edible-grade 86% certified organic? Just remember: it goes on your skin, not on your salad.

I continue to be frustrated by Celadon Road's accessibility. I do really like their products, but if I would not have had a prior consultants info, I could not have found the sunscreen on their website. Even so, the product photo was blurry.  Even my crappy old iphone photo is better.

Celadon Road's products are made of simple ingredients. To order them online, you either need to know a consultant already or fill out a form to have a consultant contact you. I don't have time for that. The multi-level marketing may be good for people to start their own businesses as independent consultants, but it also interferes with accessibility of these great products.

I love the quote from Sitting Bull on the sunscreen package.

This product is made in the USA.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

September 14, 2012

Low Acid Coffee for Sensitive Stomachs Endorsed by the Vatican

healthwise.jpg
I know several people that have had to give up coffee because their stomachs could not handle its acidic nature. This would be very tragic for me personally. I love coffee!

HealthWise 100% Colombian Supremo, Low Acid Ground Coffee and HealthWise 100% Colombian Supremo Decaffeinated are designed for people with sensitive stomachs.

Our coffee is produced using what we call the TechnoRoasting™ process. Starting with only the finest 100% Colombian Supremo beans, we roast a coffee that is like no other coffee on the market - low in acid, high in minerals and micro-nutrients, and high in yield. The coffee taste is not bitter. There is no harshness. There is no need to use creamers or sweeteners to mask the bitterness present in other coffees. Beyond that, due to the unique roasting process, the coffee can remain on a warmer much longer and still maintain its fresh taste....even be refrigerated and re-heated.
I am sorry dear reader, but I have not actually tried these coffees. I am a little worried, as they are preground (I like freshly ground in my kitchen), and I limit myself to one cup a day. I don't want to risk it! Plus, it is not organic. Perhaps I will try the decaf later and let you know.

Strangely, the packaging says it is endorsed by the Vatican. How do you get that endorsement?

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

September 12, 2012

Digipower eco-friendly smartphone case made from grass

IMG_1978.jpgDigipower is the maker of accessories for your gadgetry. We were sent an eco-friendly case for smartphones and digital cameras that is made from grass!

Mobile tech enthusiasts who want to make a statement about the environment as much as about their technology can now do both with the market introduction today of the new "Back to Nature" Series of eco-friendly cases for PDAs, smart phones, and ultra-compact cameras by Mizco International's (www.mizco.com ) DIGIPOWER Division. The cases feature recycled paper, hemp, cotton, and bamboo!

Unfortunately, I cannot find this product on the internet anywhere, so perhaps Digipower gave up on their green cases. This is one of those products that has sat in my office buried before review, thus the times and availability has changed. Too bad, it is unique and well constructed of grass!  The magnetic closure is very handy.  I guess these products didn't sell well.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

September 10, 2012

Paperless Kitchen: Each Skoy Cloth Saves 15 Paper Towel Rolls

skoy_paperless.jpg
There are major things you can do to help the environment, like converting your home to renewable energy, and there are little things you can do, like using reusable shopping bags.

One of my eco sins is using paper towels. I hate them, but I have yet to go completely paper free in the kitchen. This is a little thing I could do for the environment, which is much easier and less expensive than getting an electric car.

Paperless Kitchen has the solution with Skoy earth friendly cloth:

SKOY is the perfect cloth for your home due to its absorption ability of 15X its own weight in liquid. If you used regular paper towels, you would need at least 15 sheets to soak up that much fluid. The cloth is washable so you are able to re-use it for months. It has a quick dry feature and does not provide a suitable environment for bacteria, unlike a sponge which can leave your dishes, counters and hands dirty and bacteria ridden. Simply, microwave your SKOY cloth regularly to kill germs and keep you and your home healthy.

SKOY is perfect for the environment too, simply by the fact that you are cutting down on the use of paper products used in your home, the cloth's durability and absorption, and because the cloth is entirely degradable. Now you can rest easy knowing not only is your home safe from bacteria, but you are protecting the Earth by keeping waste out of landfills and using a product that will compost easily.


I don't have a microwave, but I am not worried about keeping Skoy cloths sterile. They are safe to use in the washer/dryer or dishwasher.

Skoy is super absorbent and affordable. Bye, bye recycled paper towels!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.


Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

September 6, 2012

Motherhood Exaggerated: Dealing with life-threatening illness in a child

motherhood_exaggerated.jpg
Motherhood Exaggerated by Judith Hannan is a book I can relate to. It is the story of motherhood dealing with a child who has a life threatening illness. Judith's daughter has a rare bone cancer; my son has a congenital heart defect. My son's illness was discovered when he was a baby. Judith's daughter's was discovered when she was eight-years-old.

Judith Hannan has performed a valuable service by publishing this remarkably honest account of the crisis she and her family went through as her daughter--now a brilliant and beautiful young woman--dealt with a rare form of cancer. She takes us with her on her journey through the valley of the shadow of death and then back to the sunshine of life. Tears of remembrance came to my eyes and will to the eyes of other readers who have been through similar crises. Judith's willingness to share intimate
feelings and to discuss difficult moments is a gift that will help so many, as it has already helped me, to deal with the pas [sic] as well as the future. --Alan M. Dershowitz

This book is published by CavanKerry Press, a "not-for-profit literary press dedicated to art and community". Thankfully, all of their books are use recycled paper. Just this book alone saved "2 trees, 1 million BTUs of energy, 127 lbs. of CO2, 67 lbs of solid waste, and 524 gallons of water".

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

September 5, 2012

More from Celadon Road...Multi-level marketing eco-friendly products

celadon_glass.jpg
After criticizing the tiny samples we were originally sent from a Celadon Road consultant, we were sent a box of full size products. If you are not familiar with Celadon Road, it is a company that sells eco-friendly products through hosted parties and independent consultants.  

We've actually been contacted by a few Celadon Road consultants lately. The following samples were sent to us by Lowenna Prestel:
Lemon Mint Glass Cleaner:
More than Just a Natural Way to Eliminate Streaks. Shouldn't your glass cleaner do more than promise to eliminate streaks? Celadon Road's™ Lemon Mint Glass Cleaner does! Not just the natural way to leave windows sparkling and clean, it's also an all purpose cleaner that boasts a fresh scent which naturally repels flies. Plus, safe for everyone to use...Next time, you can accept your little one's enthusiastic offer to help - worry free!

Odor Eliminator:
Naturally Conquer Unpleasant Aromas. Do dingy diapers, fishy cuisine or the kitty's potty leave your home feeling, well... not so fresh? Celadon Road's™ Odor Eliminator destroys odor naturally, freshens instantly and eliminates those unwanted smells on contact. Non-toxic, biodegradable and safe to use around children and pets, it's a safe and effective weapon to combat food, pet, smoke and other unpleasant aromas

Stain Remover:
Life happens, and in your home, stains happen! But, dangerous chemicals and harmful fumes aren't the only option. With Celadon Road's™ all-natural Stain Remover, made with Certified Organic ingredients, safely remove food, beverage, blood, pet, mold and mildew stains from nearly any hard surface, carpet or hard-to-reach spot. Safe to use around children and pets.

Jasmine Laundry Detergent:
Conquer Laundry Mountain Naturally. With the essence of pure essential oils, it takes only 1-2 tablespoons of Celadon Road's™ low-sudsing Jasmine Laundry Detergent to work its all-natural magic on any dreaded laundry mountain! Use in regular or high efficiency washers. Dissolve in water for washing floors and walls. An all-natural family formula, this detergent was originally created to ease the suffering of a child with eczema aggravated by commercial laundry products.

Butter Bar Soap:
Soothing Shea Butter Butter Bar Soap. With our natural shea butter formula, this is one bar of soap that will soothe even the most sensitive skin gently. Leaving your body moisturized and beautifully radiant, our formula won't irritate your skin and creates a healthy and natural cleansing experience.

All of these products are priced affordably. I do like the smell of the glass cleaner, and I did not worry when my dog started licking the door after I had cleaned it. The ingredient lists are simple and natural, which is something I truly appreciate.

I wish the products were more easily accessible though. After my parents' experience with Amway, I can't help but feel suspicious of multi-level marketing companies. I hope the Celadon Road consultants, which I imagine include a lot of stay-at-home moms, are successful! These are nice, natural products!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

September 1, 2012

Radically Simplify Your Life: You Can Buy Happiness

NEW-You-Can-Buy-Happiness-book-cover.jpg
Unfortunately, we live in a consumer culture which does affect our happiness. We want things, even eco-friendly things, and if we don't get them, many of us suffer. 

 Don't let the title of this book by Tammy Strobel fool you, it's not about buying your happiness but making choices to downsize and live more sustainably.

You Can Buy Happiness (and It's Cheap): How One Woman Radically Simplified Her Life and How You Can Too is written by the blogger at Rowdy Kittens.

Once, Tammy Strobel and her husband were living a normal middle-class lifestyle: driving two cars, commuting long distances, and living well beyond their means. Now they are living the voluntary downsizing -- or smart-sizing -- dream. In this book Strobel combines research on well-being with numerous real-world examples to offer practical inspiration. Her fresh take on our things, our work, and our relationships spells out micro-actions that anyone can take to step into a life that's more conscious and connected, sustainable and sustaining, heartfelt and happy.

I found the author's conversation with Dusti Arab interesting, as it involves kids. Tammy does not have kids, and those of with them, know they have a lot of crap! My son, especially, has lots of toy trucks and tractors. Sure most of them are eco-friendly, but our house is overrun. It's the obligatory holidays and gifts from others that packs the place. The conversation with Dusti is interesting about how you handle family and friends as you downsize. For example, giving a gift to the Goodwill can be insulting to those that don't understand your motivation.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 31, 2012

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castille Soap: Still the Best!

Dr-Bronners-Organic-Pure-Castile-Liquid-Soap-18-in-1-Hemp-Unscented-Baby-Mild-018787772324.jpg
Dr. Bronner's was one of the first natural brands I discovered before "natural" was trendy and a marketing term. The tiny print quotes were a constant source of inspiration, and the multi-use formula is all you need.

Vita Cost, which beats Amazon's price by a few dollars, sent us Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Baby Mild Unscented:

  • Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses!
  • Our unscented organic baby castile soap contains no fragrance.
  • It is also great for people who have allergies or sensitive skin.
Guaranteed no synthetic tea tree oils and 100% vegetarian. Super mild castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers. Preferable to harsh soap and defattening synthetics. It does no cut dirt, but dissolves it. It is the mildest pleasant soap you ever used. Enjoy body rub to stimulate body mind-soul-spirit and teach the essence moral ABC uniting all free in the shepherd. 100% Biodegradable! Not animal tested. Our unscented organic baby castile soap contains no fragrance. It is also great for people who have allergies or sensitive skin.
  • Made with organic coconut, olive, hemp & jojoba oils
  • All oils and essential oils are certified organic to the National Organic Standards Program
  • Packaged in 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottles
  • Contains no synthetic surfactants, no petrochemicals, and no floral water fluff
Free Of Synthetic surfactants, petrochemicals, floral water fluff, detergents, animal ingredients, animal testing, artificial ingredients.
This is the only soap I will use backpacking!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 27, 2012

Affordable Dr. Woods Shea Vision Black Soap Prevents Wrinkles and Clears Up Blemishes

black_soap.jpg
I have never heard of Dr. Woods, so I was excited to try the Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter provided by Vitacost. Black soap? Why not?

Dr.Woods Black Soap also known as Anago Soap or Alata Soap, originates from West Africa. It has been used for centuries in Africa. It's methods and secrets have been passed down from generation to generation to keep the soap close to mother nature and avoid exploitation & limitations. Many have tried to create their version of black soap with all kinds of ingredients. 
 For centuries, Africans, have used Black Soap to help relieve acne, oily skin, clear blemishes and various other skin issues. Black soap has also been used to achieve beautiful skin. Africans have also used this natural soap for bathing and washing their hair. Today people from all walks of life are benefiting from this amazing soap. Great for removing make-up Dr. Woods Black Soap will leave your skin soft, clear and smelling delicious. This soap works against premature facial lines.
 Black soap comes from plantain skin. It is natural source of vitamin A & E and iron. (Plantain is a popular food in Africa, South America & other parts of the world. It can be found in ethnic or international grocery stores such as Latino, Caribbean or African. It looks like banana but much bigger. It does not taste like a banana & has to be cooked before eating. The skin of the plantain is gingerly dried to be precise texture under the hot African sun. It is then roasted in a clay oven. The heat must be constant in order to achieve a particular color, texture & smell. 
 The next process is very delicate because if it is not done properly, with the right ingredients, there will be no soap. The roasted plantain skin is mixed with palm oil, palm kernel oil to form the soap. The roasting of the plantains determines the brownish-black color of the soap. The longer plantains are roasted, the darker the soap. Dr. Woods may be used by anyone who wishes to improve the quality of their skin.
It can also be used for cleaning!
 

This all natural soap is very affordable ($7.80 for 32 ounces!), and it does not contain sodium lauryl/laureth sulfates.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 25, 2012

Mrs Meyer's Aromatherapeutic Lavender Dryer Sheets

Mrs-Meyers-Clean-Day-Dryer-Sheets-Lavender-808124141483.jpg
Mrs. Meyer's has a lot of fans for her cruelty-free, biodegradable cleaning products. VitaCost sent us Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Dryer Sheets Lavender to try:

Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Dryer Sheets Lavender Description
Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day Dryer Sheets reduce static, soften and add a bit of garden-freshness. Our dryer sheets contain a vegetable-derived softening agent and natural essential oils on a new biodegradable paper sheet.

For years, the lavender herb has been valued for its wonderful relaxing scent that's soothing and believed to relieve fatigue. What more could you ask of an herb?

The Real Mrs. Thelma A. Meyer

People are always asking, "Is Mrs. Meyer a real person?" Well by golly, I'm here to confirm it once and for all. My name is Thelma Meyer, and my daughter started Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day to honor my good old-fashioned values. I'm retired now, but I have cleaned my own home for more than 40 years and believe me, after raising nine children I know a little something about cleaning. If only I had these products back then, it would have made our chores more enjoyable. Today, I use my cleansers around our home in Iowa as well as our camper in Arizona, where I go with my husband Vern in the winter.
Our fragrances are inspired by our gardens. We plucked essential oils from garden-fresh flowers and herbs that are especially powerful against dirt, grime, fingerprints and the like. Our philosophy is to make straightforward, honest cleaners that smell good and work like the dickens on dirt. They are also aromatherapeutic, which is another fancy word for healthy and good.

So no, I'm not a cleaning superhero, but I really do exist. And every once in a while, I show up at an event or drop by the office to answer some customer phone calls.


I don't use my dryer during the warm months, so I have not tried these dryer sheets out. When I do use this appliance, I do not use dryer sheets. I really am not sure of their need.  

This box of lavender Mrs. Meyer's dryer sheets smell really strong sitting next to my computer. I am not sure if the scent would be too much for my clothing or not.

Although the first ingredient listed Di-(palm Carboxyethyl) Hydroxyethyl Methylammonium Methyl Sulfate sounds super scary, the Good Guide finds no health concerns. The Good Guide gives this product an 8.2 out of 10. Mrs. Meyer's dryer sheets does earn a perfect score of 10 for lack of health concerns.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy