August 23, 2012

Make Your Own Soda Recipes: The Artisan Soda Workshop

Artisan-Soda-Workshop-Cover1.png
Sodas used to be homemade at local shops. These soda fountains offered unique flavors beyond the cola we are used to today. Now, thanks to Andrea Lynn, you can make your own unique, homemade, natural sodas.

The Artisan Soda Workshop: 75 Homemade Recipes from Fountain Classics to Rhubarb Basil, Sea Salt Lime, Cold-Brew Coffee and Much Much More is a cute little book that features many great recipes. At first, I was worried you needed a machine, like a Sodastream Fountain Jet Soda Maker, to use these recipes. Fortunately, no machine is required, but you can use one if you have one.

FLAVORFUL FIZZY SENSATIONS Craft amazingly delicious and stunningly creative sodas using natural, gourmet syrups you make at home. Nothing is more refreshing than soda. But why settle for canned carbonation when you can make your own delectable sodas at home? Artisan Soda Workshop shows you how to take soda to the next level by making flavors like:

• Apricot-Cinnamon
• Riesling and Raspberry
• Mango Chile
• Prickly Pear
• Fizzy Cantaloupe Agua Fresca
• Lemon -Thyme
• Plum Vanilla
• Cranberry, Orange and Ginger

With step-by-step instructions and colorful photos, this book's palate-pleasing recipes make it easy to create your own bubbly concoctions from exotic combinations of fruits, herbs and spices. These thirst-quenching drinks serve up parties bubblier, fill hot days with fizzy fun, and impress even the most discriminating of tastes.


These homemade sodas would make wonderful cocktails!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 21, 2012

Take that Stinky Dog: Environmentally Friendly MrGreen Dog Deodorizer

MR_Green.jpg
I have stinky dogs! They are country dogs that love to frolic and roll in whatever they find. They still haven't learned the skunk lesson.

MrGreen Dog Deodorizer is a "long lasting" that is "naturally derived".
Product Details
MrGreen Dog Deodorizer is an all-natural odor eliminator not a perfume. MrGreen works by attacking the odors at the source using proven organic technology for a safe and long lasting effect.

  • Eliminates dog odors
  • All natural, non-toxic, bio-degradable, EcoLogo Certified
  • Safe for use directly on dogs
  • Long lasting lemongrass scent
  • Ingredients: Vitamins, amino acids, organic compounds, minerals, and water
I will update on the claim of long lasting, but so far so good. A spritz of doggy deodorizer is much more convenient than giving your dog a bath. My dogs don't much enjoy the spritz; I don't much enjoy their smell.  They did not try to lick it off.  Plus, dogs should only be bathed once a month or else they can develop skin conditions. I wish I had time to wash my dogs one a month! MrGreen's will keep my dogs smelling a little fresher during the long stretches of time between baths.  

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 18, 2012

Bravo Cookbook: No Sugar, Oil or Salt Vegan Recipes

bravo.jpg
Are you trying to limit or eliminate SOS ingredients from your diet: salt, sugar, or oil? Bravo!: Health Promoting Meals from the TrueNorth Health Kitchen by Ramses Bravo is filled with vegan recipes.

The growing popularity of a vegan lifestyle is exemplified in the profusion of superb recipes comprising "Bravo! Health Promoting Meals from the TrueNorth Health Kitchen. A 160-page compendium of health-promoting and thoroughly 'kitchen cook friendly' recipes from the TrueNorth Health Center in Santa Rosa, California, ably compiled by executive chef Ramses Bravo, the dishes range from Coconut-Vanilla Granola; to Chayote-Apple Slaw; to Toasted Barley and Tomato Stew; to Peach-Blueberry Crisp. Enhanced with informed and informative opening chapters on 'Getting Started' and 'The Basics', Bravo will prove to be an exceptionally popular addition to personal, family, and community library Vegetarian & Vegan cookbook collections. --The Midwest Book Review - July 2012

There are some mouth watering photographs throughout the book, such as the mango banana pie. The photos are not placed right next to the text of the recipes, which I find annoying. The recipes are not hard, and I love that they avoid the SOS ingredients!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 15, 2012

Healthy Snacking: Real Foods Organic Corn Thins

corn_thins.jpg
I recently returned from a backpacking trip with my daughter. Her favorite snack on the trip was Real Foods Organic Corn Thins.

Original Corn Thins contain the great taste of golden sun-ripened corn, and are made simply by popping grains of maize under high temperature. Prepared with a great recipe for maximum crunch and flavour, they taste sensational on their own or with any number of delicious toppings. With more dietary fibre per gram than wholemeal bread, Original Corn Thins really are good for you.

97% fat free
Made with all natural ingredients
Free from artificial colours and preservatives
Gluten free
GMO free
Contain 10% dietary fibre


We love to eat Corn Thins plain, but they are also really good with toppings, such as avocado. They are a great alternative to rice cakes and are much tastier.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 14, 2012

Climate Cover-Up: The Crusade to Deny Global Warming

climate_cover.jpg
Yesterday was the hottest day I have ever seen recorded on our thermometer in the shade of the apple tree. The summer of 2012 has been filled with record breaking temperatures.

As people try to stay cool and healthy in the heat, there are still those staunch believers that climate change is not real. I sort of equate this with believing in the Easter Bunny or Santa Claus. Why have so many Americans been convinced the global warming is fake?

Climate Cover-Up: The Crusade to Deny Global Warming by James Hoggan should be mandatory reading for all deniers.

Talk of global warming is nearly inescapable these days -- but there are some who believe the concept of climate change is an elaborate hoax. Despite the input of the world's leading climate scientists, the urgings of politicians, and the outcry of many grassroots activists, many Americans continue to ignore the warning signs of severe climate shifts. How did this happen? Climate Cover-up seeks to answer this question, describing the pollsters and public faces who have crafted careful language to refute the findings of environmental scientists. Exploring the PR techniques, phony "think tanks," and funding used to pervert scientific fact, this book serves as a wake-up call to those who still wish to deny the inconvenient truth.
This is the kind of book that gets me riled up. David Suzuki describes the books as, "Climate Cover-Up documents one of the most disgusting stories ever hidden about corporate disinformation. What you'll discover in this book amounts to proof of an intergenerational crime."
 

If you can get the deniers you know to read this book, I am sure their minds will be changed. I can only handle little bits of it at a time and must use the information for empowerment rather than depression.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 10, 2012

Navitas Naturals Power Foods for the Modern Lifestyle

Screen shot 2012-08-10 at 7.29.19 AM.png
I am a big fan of Navitas Naturals! They combine organic superfoods in convenient snacks. The Superfood Blueberry Hemp Power Snacks by Navitas Naturals are delicious, but be careful, you can eat a lot of them in one sitting, especially while driving! 

 We have just tried the Navitas Naturals Trail Mix, 3 Berry-Cacao Nib-Cashew:

Navitas Naturals organic three berry, cacao nibs, and raw cashews trail mix powder is a special trail mix, which contains high-energy cacao, healthy raw cashews, antioxidant-rich goji berries, sweet well-rounded mulberries, and vitamin-packed golden berries. Ancient nomads were the first to discover the benefits of trail mix--potent wild foods that are portable, full of energy, and do not require cooking. Today, Navitas Naturals extends this tradition by using only the most powerful superfoods available to create the ultimate organic raw trail mix. Excellent by the handful, or tossed into recipes for an easy gourmet boost, Navitas Naturals trail powder is a delicious way to fuel your lifestyle. All ingredients in this simple and healthy mix are raw, kosher, gluten-free, vegan, and 100% organic.

Navitas Naturals has never let me down!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 8, 2012

25 DIY Toys and Games Projects: Make: technology on your time

Toys_and_games.jpg
One way of living a greener life is to make things rather than rely on Chinese factories. Making toys and games with your family not only allows you to upcycle materials, it also teaches important science lessons.

Make: Technology on Your Time Volume 28 has over 25 projects. I especially like the section on "Toys From Trash".

MAKE Volume 28 hits makers' passion for play head-on with a 28-page special section devoted to Toys and Games, including a toy "pop-pop" steamboat made from a mint tin, an R/C helicopter eye-in-the-sky, and a classic video game console. You'll also build a gravity-powered catapult, a plush toy that interacts with objects around it, and a machine that blows giant soap bubbles. Play time is a hallmark of more intelligent species -- so go have some fun!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 4, 2012

"No Nasty Chemicals" Baby Products from New Zealand's Eco Store

ecostore.baby.jpg
They say never judge a book by its cover, but some product packaging just makes you feel good and imparts instant trust. Eco Store baby products not only have aesthetic labeling, these are quality, natural products you can trust on your little ones. They contain "no nasty chemicals".

We were sent the following products to try:


  • SLEEPYTIME BATH: "Our baby sleepy time bath is a plant-based infusion with Lavender and Geranium oils to soothe and relax your baby."

  • BABY MOISTURISER: "Our plant-based baby moisturiser contains nourishing cocoa and shea nut butters in an olive, jojoba and coconut oil base to gently nourish and protect your baby's delicate skin. Use daily to moisturise, soften and condition the skin, protecting it from dryness and potential irritation."

  • BABY SOAP: "Our baby soap is enriched with creamy goat's milk, lavender essential oil, wheatgerm and is rich in vitamin E."

  • BABY NAPPY BALM: "Our nappy balm is rich in antioxidants, is non greasy and non staining and helps create a protective barrier uniquely aligned to the skin's natural chemistry. Use for nappy rash, cradle cap and other sensitive skin conditions."

We were also sent baby massage oil, but I could not find it on their website, so it may no longer be available.

All of these plant-based baby care items are GE-free, made in New Zealand, and not tested on animals. The company receives very low hazard scores from the Environmental Working Group of zero to one!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 2, 2012

UM! Brands Nano-Suction Peel and Stick Hooks and Dry Erase

hook_um.jpg
No one wants to put holes in their walls, whether they rent or own their home. Um! Brands solves this problem with "nano-suction technology" that "allows users to peel and stick these small pads onto surfaces over and over again".

We were sent two samples from Um! Brands:


The PR company that contacted me to review UM! Brands found this on their website:
"The creative minds at UM! Brands work hard daily to design practical, aesthetic and environmentally-friendly housewares that make your life easier with our revolutionary material."

I could not find any specific information on these environmentally-friendly claims.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

UPDATE:  These products only work on smooth surfaces.  If your walls are textured, they will fall off.  We have successfully used them on the side of the refrigerator and a bookshelf. Even though our painted walls are smooth, they fall off.  

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 31, 2012

Naturally Decaffeinated Organic Liquid Green Tea: Make Hot or Cold

serenitea_du.png
I had never heard of liquid tea before receiving our samples from Sereni Green Tea, Organic. What I like about this tea is how easy it is to make a glass of iced tea on a hot day without having to first brew it with hot water.

SereniTea is organically grown free from pesticides in the pristine Wuyi Rock Mountains of China, the Natural Reserve area where the flavor of tea is dramatically affected by climate, soil conditions and the care used in its processing.The Wuyi Mountains is in Fujian province of China. Mt. Wu-Yi is one of the most popular mountains in the Wuyi mountain region which in total covers an area of approximately 70 square kilometers. This pristine area has the perfect climate for tea cultivation and is known to produce some of the most pristine organic tea due to height of the farms in the region.

In addition to the unsweetened green tea, we were sent a sample of Organic Green Tea - Sweetened Lemon Decaf. Unfortunately, it uses sucralose as a sweetener in order to maintain zero calories. Sucralose is an artificial, chemical sweetener.

It really angers me when companies place artificial ingredients in their organic products. Most consumers see the USDA organic label and assume the products are all natural.

Another concern is the use of spring water from China. I am sure it is filtered, but I don't like to drink water from around the globe. Of course, how else would you make a liquid tea but with water.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy