June 29, 2012

Natural Menopause Relief

estroven.jpg
Many women struggle when they go through the menopausal transition of life. Hot flashes, restless nights, and night sweats keep women from getting much needed rest. Pharmaceutical solutions come with many risks, thus natural solutions are best.

Estroven Nighttime is a special formula designed to help women rest:

Estroven's nighttime formula has been enhanced with clinically proven melatonin, a common ingredient found in many sleep aids and clinically proven soy isoflavones, among the most extensively studied alternatives to estrogen therapy. When taken as part of a nightly regimen, Estroven Nighttime helps you to have a restful night's sleep and wake up feeling refreshed*

I have not been able to test this product out to see if it is effective or not, and I am not a big fan of supplements in general. I would rather drink herbal tea, which I will research and do when that time of my life comes.

 

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 27, 2012

Anti-Aging Naturally: Marie Veronique Organics Rose + Neroli Body Oil

31AixxEWI0L._SL500_AA300_.jpg
Marie Veronique Organics is a brand I have come to love and trust for being both completely natural and lovely.

Science and nature have a good thing going. That's why we pay attention to both so diligently. We use scientific studies and direct research to better understand the aging process. Then, we turn to nature to find ingredients to minimize or counter those effects.

No toxins. Not ever. At MVO what we put in our products is as important as what we don't. You won't find toxins, petroleum-based products, nanoparticles, or anything else that's potentially harmful. We don't need those ingredients to make your skin look and feel younger.

Sustaining the planet. It's probably no surprise that our entire company is dedicated to sustainability. Wherever possible we use natural, organic and fair trade ingredients, packaged in 100% recyclable materials. And we source them as close to our Berkeley headquarters as possible to keep our footprint super small.

To make the planet a better place, we donate 10% of our profits to organizations dedicated to creating better opportunities for women and children in Third World countries


We were sent MVO Anti-Aging Body Oil, Rose + Neroli to try. This lovely blend is third step in the "replenish" regime.
Most people get a bit nervous when they hear the words oil and skin in the same sentence. But there's no reason to get nervous. In fact, waxes, not oils, are the major cause of skin congestion. Applying oils to the skin, without the interference of a wax barricade, gives your skin the essential fatty acids it needs. These fatty acids, called lipids, form an environmental protection barrier that prevents the elements from assaulting our skin, keeping all skin types healthy. Research indicates that a compromised lipid barrier may be at the root of skin problems such as eczema, acne and wrinkles. MVO oils maintain the integrity of the lipid barrier, preventing moisture loss and dehydration. At the same time they inhibit peroxidative and oxidative damage. The reason you should care about that is, in a word, wrinkles. Upon contact with light, lipids will undergo what is known as peroxidation. These peroxidized lipids lose their barrier ability and gaps occur in the lipid matrix, resulting in a loss of skin resilience and the formation of wrinkles.
Product Features

  • Combats aging with essential fatty acids and anti-oxidants from watermelon seed oil, vegetable squalene and apricot kernel oil.

  • Calms and balances with an elegant floral aroma from luxurious rose and neroli essential oils

  • Over 2 dozen roses are used to make one drop of rose absolute and there are 20 drops in every 4 oz bottle.

  • Protects and repairs the lipid barrier with essential fatty acids from avocado and jojoba oils.

  • Seals in moisture and leaves the skin supple, smooth and more refined.


As a person who has battled complexion problems, I am one that feared oils. Why would I want to put these on my already oily skin? The truth is that since I have started using organic tamanu oil, my skin has never looked better and has lost its oily qualities.

I don't really believe in fighting aging. I don't think we can. For me, it is more about keeping our skin in good health. MVO Anti-Aging Body Oil, Rose + Neroli is definitely a product that will become part of my daily beauty regime.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 26, 2012

Flying Daisies: Find Your Carefree

Screen shot 2012-06-23 at 8.20.13 AM.png
Sometimes it takes awhile for product reviews to be completed. Sometimes it takes so long, it appears an item is no longer available. This is one of those reviews.

We were sent two organic soaps from Flying Daisies:


  1. Calendula Pedals

  2. Southwest Gourmet

 When opening the box, the lovely smell of botanical oils was quite pleasing.

Even though these soaps are no longer available, Flying Daisies has many interesting products available to help you "Find Your Carefree".

We choose our own lifestyle. One that is not bound by any set path. We are playful and unique in our own way. We feel strength in our independence and creativity. We cherish our companions. We appreciate different approaches to life. Our imagination holds no boundaries. We seek to lead a simpler life, free from complexities. Like a field of daisies moving with the wind, we are alive, in motion, growing, and embracing the journey ahead.

The Boulder, Colorado, brand Flying Daisies was born out of the love for life. This love is the soul behind our products. It's a lifestyle that is carefree and adventurous. We strive to blend a way of life with this way of thinking. Our products embody this synergy, and hopefully inspire women to embrace their own
exploration of a free-spirited life.


disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 25, 2012

Memory Loss: Take Your Oxygen First

Take_oxygen.jpg
I think that one of the first signs of aging we notice in ourselves and our parents/grandparents is memory loss. Little fleeting moments when information escapes us. For some, this memory loss evolves into something more serious. Caring for such an individual can cause depression, anxiety, anger, physical exhaustion, etc.

Take Your Oxygen First: Protecting Your Health and Happiness While Caring for a Loved One with Memory Loss by Leeza Gibbons reminds caregivers to take care of themselves:

Designed for those giving care to individuals with Alzheimer's disease and other memory loss disorders, this informative and inspiring guide explores how to take care of oneself in order to meet the challenges of giving care to another. Heartfelt, candid accounts by television host Leeza Gibbons and the members of her family--who cared for Leeza's mother, Jean, for more than a decade after her Alzheimer's diagnosis--are combined with current medical, nutritional, psychological, and spiritual information and advice for caregivers. A comprehensive resources section and photo scrapbook of Leeza and her family are also included.

I can't imagine the difficulties caregivers face. I've seen how it has affected friends, and this book could help focus some of the energy back on taking care of yourself.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.
 

There isn't anything green about this book, but it was sent to use for review.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 22, 2012

Sustainable Fashion: Organic Cotton, Clay Dyed Clothing by Eco Creations

eco_creations.jpg
The first time I ever saw an Alabama Dirt Shirt was when my sister got one for my husband for a gift. I thought the red color was very cool, especially considering the shirt was made of organic cotton and naturally dyed from the earth.

Earth Creations, the sustainable clothing company behind the Alabama Dirt Shirts, also makes children's clothing.

A soft handprint with the Earth in the palm reminds us to Touch the Earth Gently. Printed using eco friendly inks on our soft 100% organic cotton clay-dyed toddler/youth tee that will fit any child like a glove.

Eco Creations makes sustainable clothing for the whole family made in the USA.  Great basics and fashion pieces makes this line "eco, pure and simple".

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 21, 2012

Uncle Dan's Report Card: Healthy Habits Build Strength and Character

Report-Card.jpg
The inspiration behind Uncle Dan's Report Card: From Toddlers to Teenagers, Helping Our Children Build Strength of Character with Healthy Habits and Values Every Day by Barbara C. and Bob Unell is very sweet.

When parent educator and author Barbara Unell discovered her Uncle Dan's fifth grade report card from 1914, she found an amazing 2-sided treasure. Yes, this was not your ordinary school report card. The left side listed the subjects taught at school...reading, writing, arithmetic, and the like.

But... the right side...ah yes! The "right side" was of equal importance!! It was the home report of the subjects that were expected to be taught at home-truthfulness and honesty, morning chores, evening chores, care of clothing, care of teeth, evenings at home, sleeping with the windows open, and a dozen more! Her grandparents noted the progress of her uncle in learning these right-side habits, just as the teacher marked the left side.


I love the partnership between home and school such a report card promotes: equal responsibility toward educating the whole child. One side is not blaming the other for not doing their job, like often happens in today's world. Parents blame faulty schools; teachers blame parenting.  Kids fail.

Uncle Dan's Report Card reminds us of the importance of these values in building strength and character.

Using lessons from the past and applying to modern times, the Unells offer great advice for parenting. Of particular interest to me was the selection on assigning household chores to kids, or the avoidance of doing so, in order to create harmony in the home. I fall into this trap, as it is easier to do it myself than be a nag, but I am not teaching my children responsibility, or more importantly accountability, as a result.

I love how sleeping with the windows open is included on the 1914 report card!  Fresh air is important for health!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.


Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 19, 2012

Clif Kid ZBar Baked Organic Whole Grains Energy Snack: Iced Oatmeal Cookie

Zbar_IOC_256x1151.png
Kids need snacks. Kids like sweets. Combining whole grains with 12 vitamins and minerals kids need into an energy bar is a great way to meet nutritional demands and sweet cravings.

Clif Kid ZBar comes in many flavors. We were sent the Iced Oatmeal Cookie to try:

Ingredients: Organic Rolled Oats, Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Organic Tapioca Syrup, Organic Cane Syrup, Organic Oat Flour, Organic Fig Paste, Organic Soy White Chocolate (Organic Dried Cane Syrup, Organic Cocoa Butter, Organic Soy Flour, Organic Soy Lecithin, Organic Vanilla Extract), Organic Soy Butter (Organic Roasted Soybeans, Organic Soybean Oil, Salt), Organic White Coating (Organic Dried Cane Syrup, Organic Cocoa Butter, Organic Soy Lecithin, Organic Vanilla Extract), Organic Oat Fiber, Organic Milled Flaxseed, Natural Flavors, Organic Sunflower Oil, Sea Salt, Baking Soda, Organic Cinnamon.

Lots of goodness in these 95% organic bars. Of course, there is no high fructose corn syrup, trans fats, or artificial anything. You can feel good about giving your kids (or yourself) these snacks.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 18, 2012

Sierra Magazine: "Explore, Enjoy, and Protect the Planet"

Sierra_Club_mag.jpg
I used to read the Sierra Club's magazine Sierra religiously, that is until I became jaded over this large environmental group founded by John Muir. The truth is, despite my own feelings about the group endorsing Clorox products, is publications like Sierra are full of great articles and photographs that reach many individuals that would not seek or access this environmental information otherwise.

This month's magazine features the following articles:

AT HOME IN A HOLE IN THE ROCK
From ancient cliff dwellers to cowboys to modern hikers, everyone craves a good cave.
MICHAEL ENGELHARD

THE LAST OF THE SOUTHWEST
A mountain biker discovers the veiled beauty of New Mexico's Otero Mesa.
PETER FRICK-WRIGHT

MONUMENTAL PLACES
Hey, Mr. President: Save these treasures!

TWO WHEELS, NOT FOUR
Gear for getting out of your gas-guzzler.
MICHAEL FRANK

PIRATES OF THE RAINFOREST
Hunting moss poachers in the Olympus Peninsula.
GREGG BLEAKNEY

FRACTURED LIVES
The detritus of Pennsylvania's natural gas boom.
EDWARD HUMES


Sierra is definitely a good read, but the Sierra Club is not without controversy. The "secret" donations of $26 million from the natural gas industry has left many people wondering about the group's ability to live up to its ethos.

I prefer to give my money to smaller, more localized environmental groups.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 15, 2012

Organic Aromatherapy Skin Care from Tropical Rainforest: Wembe Moisturizing Stick for Eyes and Lips

wembe_lip.jpg
We have positively reviewed Wembe soaps before and are very pleased to try another product from the Amazon rainforest.

WEMBE ORGANIC MOISTURIZING STICK:

Wembé's secret recipe provides an exquisite antioxidant action for deep moisturizing of delicate areas. The base of the formula is Rosehip oil, which is rich in antioxidants and vitamin A. Infused with our perfected formula, the firm, smooth moisturizing stick offers comfort to chapped lips and can also be used on any skin surface to alleviate dryness and sagging. It's perfect for your lips, eye contour and cheeks.

Wembe offers full disclosure of ingredients:
Vegetable essential oils, Cupassu butter (Theobroma grandiflorum), Rosehip oil, Beeswax

This product is everything you want in skin care: vegan, cruelty-free, gluten-free, organic, handmade, etc.

I really love the bamboo packaging! It makes the product seem of higher quality, which it is,  and something I will take care of rather than a plastic lip balm that inevitably gets tossed and lost.

Of course, this product is luxurious to your lips, and I can't wait to try it on my eyes before bed, as recommended.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 14, 2012

From Chocolate Souffle Guinness Stout: Make Your Own Natural Soaps

The-Natural-Soap-Chef-9781612430621.jpg
I have a couple of friends that make soap, and it is a cottage industry I have always wanted to try but don't really know where to begin.

The Natural Soap Chef: Making Luxurious Delights from Cucumber Melon and Almond Cookie to Chai Tea and Espresso Forte by Heidi Corley Barto is filled with delicious recipes to make your own luxe soap.

TRANSFORM YOUR SKIN WITH HOMEMADE SOAPS
Pamper yourself with natural moisturizing lather. Indulge your senses with aromatic fragrances. Beautify your bath with stunning soap that you've created. This book shows how to take wonderful ingredients and turn them into amazing soaps like:

• Rosemary Olive Oil Soap
• Pink Grapefruit Soap
• Lemon Verbena Soap
• Chocolate Soufflé Soap
• Chai Tea Soap
• Baby Rose Soap
• Guinness Stout Soap
• Espresso Forte Soap
• Cut Grass Soap
• Head-to-Toe Shampoo Bar
• Cucumber Melon Soap
• Pumpkin Spice Soap

Including easy step-by-step directions and helpful instructive photos, The Natural Soap Chef is chockfull of inventive recipes and techniques that will teach you basic cold process soap making. Make your own luxurious bars and unique soaps right in your own kitchen that will please even the most sensitive skin.


These soap recipes look good enough to eat, but of course you wouldn't want to. They do include Lye (Sodium Hydroxide), which is one of the reasons I have never gotten into soap making. I have used lye when making an indigo bath for natural dyeing; this caustic substance needs to be handled carefully. Lye is important in the process of saponification. There are ways to make soap without lye, but they are less common.

The pictures in this book are quite beautiful and inspirational. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. I think this book is just what I need to start my adventures in soap making.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy