June 13, 2012

StaphAseptic: Not All Natural, But Prevents Skin Infections with Tea Tree and Thyme Oil without Antibiotics

staphaseptic.jpg
As we spend more time outside during the warmer months, inevitably we need more first aid. Many Americans routinely apply triple antibiotic cream to wounds unnecessarily, and antibiotic resistance is a very real problem caused by such overuse.

StaphAseptic First Aid Bactericide Gel is an alternative to triple antibiotic cream that uses tea tree and white thyme oil. The rest of the ingredients are not very natural.

Antibiotic free. Kills staph. Apply to minor cuts, scrapes and burns. Helps prevent skin infections from bacteria such as MRSA, staph, strep & other germs. Contains Lidocain for pain relief. Child resistant tube. Recommended by athletic trainers. Staph prevention program: Everyone is talking about staph: you can do something about it. Treat & cover wounds. Don't share personal items (like towels). Shower after physical activity. Properly clean gear & equipment. Keep hands clean. Consult your physician for all active wounds. Help protect yourself from skin infections. StaphAseptic helps prevent staph infections when used as a part of a complete staph prevention program. Antibiotic free. Maximum strength antiseptic. Non-irritating. Soothing wound care.

This product was actually investigated by the FDA for making MSRA killing claims. It was considered misbranded, and a new package has been developed. Actually, I am not sure this product is even still available, as its website is no longer active. It is still available through Amazon.

Sometimes there is a need for strong wound care, but most often natural methods are just as effective. Goldenseal sprinkled on wounds is very powerful at healing and preventing infection in my experience.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 12, 2012

Clean Start: 100 Recipes Using Farm Fresh Ingredients

clean_start.jpg
If you are looking for new, fresh recipes to try, Terry Walters cookbook Clean Start: Inspiring You to Eat Clean and Live Well with 100 New Clean Food Recipes is an excellent source whether you are just beginning your journey towards better eating or if you are already there.

Terry Walters' first book, CLEAN FOOD, caused a sensation and fueled a nationwide movement about nourishment and clean food that's been embraced all the way to the White House. Cooks, foodies, and anyone in search of a healthy and sustainable approach to eating and living well embraced her philosophy: eat minimally processed foods for maximum nutrition. CLEAN FOOD taught us the benefits of eating locally grown, seasonal, and fresh. And now, CLEAN START makes it even easier for everyone-from the kitchen novice to the seasoned chef-to eat clean. CLEAN START features 100 exciting new recipes for the foods we all need more of, featuring Terry's signature quick, easy, and delicious preparations. CLEAN START inspires you to take the next step...no matter where you're starting.

I haven't tried any of the recipes yet, but these are a few that I can't wait to make:

  • Polenta Pizza

  • Asparagus with Miso Lemon Dressing and Marcona Almonds

  • New Year's Soup

  • Blueberry Tart

All of the ingredients are whole foods! The photographs are mouth-watering and beautiful! Mmmm, I'm hungry.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 10, 2012

Natural Weight Loss and Detox: Healthy Fasting Tea

healthy_fasting.jpg
I recently discovered a lovely blend of tea that is not only delicious, but it helps you maintain proper weight and curb cravings.

Yogi Healthy Fasting Herbal Tea Supplement

Ingredients
Organic Fennel Seed, Organic Licorice Root, Organic Barley Malt, Organic Cinnamon Bark, Organic Red Clover, Organic Alfalfa Leaf, Organic Gotu Kola, Organic English Hawthorn Berry, Garcinia Combogia Fruit Extract, Organic Cardamom Seed, Organic Ginger Root, Organic Clove Bud, Organic Burdock Root, Organic Dandelion Root, Yellow Dock Root, Natural Passion Fruit Flavor, Natural Plum Flavor, Organic Black Pepper, Natural Cinnamon Oil, Natural Cardamom Oil, Natural Ginger Oil.

Detoxification plays an important role in dieting, so look to our healthy fasting tea as part of your weight loss plan. Our flavorful blend of traditional herbs helps detoxify the body and supports stamina and digestion as you diet. A blend of organic red clover with burdock and dandelion supports the liver in eliminating toxins. Licorice supports overall stamina, and Garcinia cambogia supports the body's ability to stay lean. Finally, fennel and cinnamon bark improve circulation and aids digestion. Enjoy healthy fasting as a tasty addition to your weight loss program!


I love this tea!!! It is wonderful to drink between meals! It tastes great and truly helps you fast or reduce your calorie intake.  It is an essential part of any healthy diet plan.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 8, 2012

All Natural, Refreshing Izze Sparkling Lemon Juice Beverage

izze.jpg
It's summer time, which means it's time for refreshing beverages! In celebration of their tenth anniversary, Izze is releasing a limited edition flavor.
Izze Sparkling Lemon Soda

"IZZE was founded on the belief that pure, simple ingredients provide the ultimate refreshment and ten years later we continue to stay true to that mission," said Joe Culella, director of marketing, IZZE Sparkling Juice. "Lemon was one of the original flavors when IZZE first came to market in 2002, and we couldn't think of a better way to celebrate our ten years than to bring back a flavor our community loves."
I don't know why they would ever take this flavor away if it was so popular.
 

Each bottle contains 130 calories and is made from 70% juice. Each bottle equates to two full servings of fruit based on USDA guidelines. Unfortunately, it is not organic.

I think it would be quite lovely in a cocktail. 

 I prefer simple water for summertime refreshment.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 7, 2012

New Sunscreen Rules: Aubrey Natural vs. Jason Naturals SPF 30

Screen shot 2012-06-02 at 8.11.12 AM.png
Last year, the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) attempted to tackle the problem of inaccurate sunscreen labeling. Unfortunately, the FDA has kowtowed to the beauty industry and delayed the new rules for sunscreen labels until December 2012. 

Consumers need to be aware and cautious when selecting suncare products, as there is some evidence that some sunscreen ingredients may actually cause cancer.

We have been sent two SPF 30 sunscreens by "natural" companies to try. Both say they offer UVA and UVB protection.

Aubrey Organics Natural Sun SPF 30 Active Lifestyles Sunscreen

Ideal for swimmers, hikers and outdoor enthusiasts, this hardworking sport formula goes on smoothly with nourishing kukui and macadamia nut oils and other plant-based skin hydrators.You'll love its exotic natural scent, inspired by the tropics.

Jason Mineral Natural Sunblock SPF 30

This fragrance free, physical sunscreen is ideal to protect sensitive skin from sun damage. A blend of Chamomile and Marigold (Calendula) Extracts helps calm and soothe skin. Safe for use on babies six months and older as well as adults with sensitive skin.

Both products are about the same price ($11-$12). Both contain Zinc oxide and Titanium Dioxide, which they need in order to claim UVA protection.

The Environmental Working Group (EWG) has done extensive research on sunscreens.
Both the Aubrey and Jason sunscreens have low hazard scores of 2 out of 10. Both have excellent sunscreen stability.

These products are very similar, but Aubrey is a brand I trust more than Jason. I have used the Aubrey sunscreen extensively on backpacking trips. It held up to sweat and water well. I have not tested the Jason sunblock as thoroughly.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 6, 2012

Goody Ouchless Hair Ties: Great for Hair, Made in China

goody_ouchless1.jpg
We have been sent two Goody Ouchless products:
Goody Ouchless My Skinny Jeans Elastics:

Product Features

  • Goody ouchless elastic is America's No.1 elastic

  • Ouchless elastics are made with the new inches smart stretch core inches which is 40% stronger and doesn't loose it's shape

  • Great for pulling your hair up any time of day

  • 4mm no-metal my skinny jeans elastics, great for medium to thick hair

  • 24 Piece count

Goody "Icing on the Cake" Ouchless Gentle Headbands

Sometimes I am sent products that have nothing to do with "Really Natural". I clearly state to publicists and companies the ethos of this blog.  I feel obligated to review every product sent, thus I can hopefully exposed products that are not environmentally-friendly.  

I do like these metal-free hair ties. I use them all the time.

It is quite ironic that these products are promoted as "America's No.1 elastic" since they are made in China. Goody's response:

WHY AREN'T YOUR PRODUCTS MADE IN THE USA?
Like many other companies, Goody has had to compete in the highly competitive retail marketplace by being focused on the cost to develop and manufacture our products. Which means Goody continually investigates opportunities to manufacture our products in countries, including the US, which will allow Goody to manufacture highly quality products at a great value to our customers and consumers.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 5, 2012

No Parabens or Phthalates: Jason Calming Lavender "Pure Natural" Hand & Body Lotion

Jason_lavender.jpgAs mentioned in a previous review, I am always suspect of Jason Natural Cosmetic products, as they typically are not all natural.

We were sent JasonCalming Lavender Pure Natural Hand & Body Lotion. I do love the smell!

This botanically rich, non-greasy daily lotion naturally delivers deep, long-lasting hydration. Our natural blend of Vitamin C & E and Kukui Nut Oil wraps skin in relieving comfort while calming Lavender soothes your senses. With use, skin is touchably soft, balanced and relaxed.

Once again, a Jason's product receive a moderate score from the Environmental Working Group. This lotion received a hazard score of six out ten.  I like my products to have much lower scores.

Ironically, it is the fragrance that I like that received the highest marks for toxicity. Also, the polysorbate-60 could be contaminated with the carcinogen 1,4-Dioxane.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 4, 2012

Don't Let the Bed Bugs Bite with All Natural Euroclean


I say it to my kids, my parents said it to me when sending children off to bed, "Sleep tight, don't let the bed bugs bite."

Infestations of bed bugs is on the rise, even in high end hotels. I can't help but feel a little paranoid. One solution for a restful nights sleep while traveling is All Natural Eucoclean 3-in-1 Bed Bug Defense System.

In Australia, the Eucalyptus tree is the primary source of food for Koalas. Research has found that unlike most animals, the Koala's Eucalyptus diet ensures that they do not have to worry about fleas, lice or other parasites!

Eucalyptus Essential Oil is so effective, potent, and versatile; it is no surprise that it's the most important ingredient in our 3-in-1 solution for your entire household.

All Natural EucoClean 3-in-1 harnesses the power of all-natural, pure Eucalyptus Essential Oil to effectively eliminate bugs, knock out tough grease and grime, AND freshen and purify your air conditioning system! You can't do THAT with your everyday bug spray!


This product not only can be used for bed bug prevention, but it is also a cleaner and and air purifier.

I find the bright green color of this product a bit suspect.  Also, the above commercial is very annoying. 

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 31, 2012

Jason Natural Cosmetics Kids Only!: NOT All Natural, NOT "Extra Gentle"

jason_kids_only.jpg
We've reviewed Jasons Natural Cosmetics before, and I always approach the brand with some trepidation after developing a scalp condition from Jason shampoo. I cannot say for sure the product was the cause, but I have avoided it ever since. That being said, I try to approach any review with an open mind.

We were sent three products from Jason's Kids Only! line. As always, I refer to the Environmental Working Group's (EWG) hazard scores for safety. All of these products are free of:


  • Paraben

  • Sulfate

  • Wheat and Gluten

  • Phthalate

  • Fluoride

  • Glycol

  • Mineral Oil

  • Lanolin

  • Petrolatum Free


Jason Natural Cosmetics - Kids Only Orange Toothpaste
EWG hazard score: 2 out of 10
This product is not all natural, as advertised. It contains the synthetic surfactant Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate .

Jason Kids Only Extra Gentle Duo Set Shampoo & Conditioner
EWG hazard score: 5 out of 10
The biggest concern is the fragrance used in these products, which has a hazard score of eight. It is somewhat ironic that a product marketed as "extra gentle" would have such a moderate score. Plus, these products contain the know carcinogen 1,4-Dioxane.

I used to use Jason products because they are the most affordable, but since I have done research, I feel they mislead consumers with marketing terms like "pure", "natural", and "organic".

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 29, 2012

Lance Armstrong Endorsed Honey Stinger: New Flavor Chocolate Waffle

chocolate_waffle.jpg
Cookies don't have to be junk food. In fact, they can be energy food when made from wholesome, organic ingredients.

Honey Stinger Organic Chocolate Waffles are endorsed by Lance Armstrong. From training and racing in Europe, Lance states, "One of my favorite things to eat on the bike is the 'stroopwafel' found in northern Europe."

I love them too!

If you've ridden the roads of Belgium, Honey Stinger's Organic Stinger Waffles might remind you of the waffles you'd have inevitably snacked on. But aside from the waffle pattern and round shape, the differences are perhaps greater than the similarities. Honey Stinger's Waffles are created just for endurance athletes, not merely as a tasty morning snack. And that they're packaged in single serving units makes them easy to carry in your jersey pocket for that moment when you'd like to eat something with a bit of texture. The Stinger Waffles are simultaneously toasty and chewy as you eat them. And unlike bizarre lab-born products, the natural ingredients in the Waffles chew easily and go down quick -- almost too quick. Because they taste so good, you'd like for them to last a bit longer. Like their other energy foods, the Honey Stinger Waffles rely on honey, nature's energy food, for a majority of the carbohydrate load. The honey is easily digested because it's made of a just-right 1:1 blend of fructose and glucose. It acts quickly to give you a burst of energy and is easy on the stomach. With the waffle, you'll also get carbs from organic wheat and soy flour along with organic cane sugar and rice syrup.
I may not be a cyclist, but I do think these "cookies" would be great for long trails.
 

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy