May 28, 2012

Zoo-Wallogy Wall POPS! Oh no! They are Toxic Vinyl!

ozzie.jpg
Decorating your child's room can be a fun adventure, but it also can be toxic. One of the biggest clues for me on toxicity is odor. Wall-Pops is made of very stinky vinyl, sure to give me a headache.

We were sent two Wall POPS! to try from the Zoo-Wallogy collection: Ozzie and Fundango Tree

Step into the wild with ZooWallogy by Wall Pops. ZooWallogy is all about ginormous animals in bright colors and oh so funky vintage retro prints. Even better ZooWallogy is so easy to use. Just peel and stick and you're on your way to creating an amazing safari adventure or a fabulous farm scene in minutes for just about any room in the home.

These vinyl stickers outgas so much! I would never use them in my home, let alone my child's room!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 27, 2012

Project FIG Weekender: Premium Natural Skincare for Intimate Grooming

project_fig.jpg
Project Fig grew out of its founders desire to find a safe, effective intimate grooming solution. We were sent their weekender package of travel size products:

The complete skincare system in travel sizes. Includes:

These products may sound like they are designed for you face (except the shave gel), but they are all for intimate grooming. One of the cofounders explains:
It is the goal of myself and everyone at Project FIG to take the intimate grooming conversation out of the back waxing rooms, and intimate personal care products off bottom shelves. We are shining a light on education, great results and healthy skin for the most important area of your body. And we make you an active participate in our mission, by donating a portion of every sale towards global women's health organizations.

No parabens, perfumes or dyes...these products are designed to be safe and effective.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 24, 2012

NatureMagix: Natural All Purpose Cleaner Made fro Yucca


The cleaners we use in our home not only contribute to indoor air pollution and toxic exposure through our skin, they are also very harmful to the environment during production and disposal. Thus, going with an all natural cleaner is just as important as eating organic food for you health (and the planet's).

NatureMagix is a cleaning product made from the Yucca plant. This product even claims to continue cleaning after you have used it on a surface:

When applied to a surface, NatureMagiX employs state-of-the-art wetting and rinsing agents designed to leave little to no film behind. However, unlike other top-of-the-line cleaners, NatureMagiX will leave behind microbes that will use residual film as a food source. The result is a super clean surface that continues to "self-clean" long after your work is finished. You will notice the difference immediately, by the squeaky-clean touch of your surfaces, by the absence of normal cleaning product chemical fumes and perfumes, and by the residual fresh, clean, neutral smell of the air.

This process is called bio-remediation. It literally blasts the blobs of oily goo into their individual molecules, so the enzymes can naturally consume, process and eliminate them. That's why it's not just good for you and your surroundings; it's good for the environment as well!


I could not find any full disclosure of NatureMagix ingredients, which is always concerning to me. I am not saying that the company's claim of all natural is false, I just have no way of verifying it.

I also get annoyed when product names use misspelled words.

My So Called Green Life did some interesting experiments and comparison with NatureMagix and found that vinegar and water was a more effective cleaner.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 23, 2012

Bookazine: 123 Classic Comfort Food Recipes for your Slow Cooker

comfortfood.jpg
I love my slow cooker, but I tend to make one thing in it only: split pea soup.
Easy & Delish Comfort Food (123 Classic Recipes Your Family Will Love) is bookazine full of classic and new recipes advertised on the cover with "fabulous slow cooker meals".  I was disappointed there was only one "chapter", and these recipes call for a dutch oven not a slow cooker.  Despite my disappointment, there are many delicious looking recipes beautifully photographed.

The issue highlights hearty dishes, savory soups, decadent desserts, and tasty brunch ideas, including healthy, low-calorie options. Divided in categories such as Roasting Favorites, Speedy Skillets, and Casserole Classics, this special collection from Delish.com features recipes developed and tested by the editors of Country Living, Good Housekeeping, and REDBOOK. Delicious dessert ideas such as Classic S'mores, Candy-Coated Caramel Apples and Pumpkin Pie with Maple Whipped Cream, are guaranteed to complete readers' holiday menus.
The toasted barley pilaf looks really good (minus the chicken for this vegetarian), and I can't wait to make Whoopie Pies! Actually, all of the desserts look fabulous!

 

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 22, 2012

Colonix Advanced Internal Cleansing Program by Dr. Natura

colonix.jpg
Two good friends of mine are in their fourth week of an Ejuva Intestinal Cleansing Program. It is timely that I opened a cheaper cleansing program by Dr. Natura called Colonix. This 30-day program is an "advanced internal cleansing program".

For more than a decade, the flagship product of DrNatura, the Colonix® Advanced Internal Cleansing Program, has been one of the most popular colon cleanse systems to detoxify the body.* It includes: Colonix Intestinal Cleanser, a cleansing fiber supplement; Paranil capsules with liver detoxifying herbs; and KleriTea soothing herbal tea.*
Powered by more than 40 herbs, Colonix Program thoroughly cleanses the colon and liver to detoxify the body of accumulated build-up.*

  • Promotes regularity & digestive health*

  • Helps relieve poor digestion, including gas, bloating & occasional constipation*

  • Supports a healthy liver*

  • Detoxifies the body in 3 easy steps*

  • Made of all natural & vegetarian ingredients

Unlike the Ejuva cleanse, this cleanse does not limit your eating, so I am not sure if it is effective.  Dr. Natura does recommend:
Essential
  • Water: drink plenty of good, clean water each day
  • Vegetables: minimum of 5 servings daily
  • Fruits: minimum of 2 servings daily
  • Grains/Starches: 4-8 servings daily (choosing whole grains over refined)
  • Legumes: 1-3 servings daily (i.e., beans, peas, lentils, peanuts, etc.)
  • Healthy Fats: 3-9 servings daily (i.e., monounsaturated, polyunsaturated, omega-3s)
  • Herbs/Spices/Seasonings: Experiment daily to benefit from the natural health promoting qualities of herbs

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 21, 2012

Organic, Hemp Milk Chocolate!!!!!

hemp_chocolate_1.jpg
I love organic chocolate! I live for organic chocolate!

We were sent a bar of Canalade Hemp White Milk Chocolate to try. Beyond the beautiful aesthetics of the packaging, this German made chocolate is delicious!

Deliciously creamy with the sweet crunch of shelled hempseeds, Canalade Hemp Milk Chocolate from Hanf-Natur tastes great and is actually good for you, providing essential nutrients and satisfying your sweet tooth. The high-quality chocolate is mixed with shelled, roasted hemp seeds, adding vitamins B and E and amino acids, as well as calcium and fibre.

Hemp seeds are really good for you, and they add a nice little crunch to the bar.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 19, 2012

Made in Italy: Hemp Lavender Soap by Bottega della Canapa

hemp-soap-lavender-1.jpg
You can find hemp in just about any product these days. Why not soap?

We were sent Hemp Lavender Soap by Bottega della Canapa to try:

Leave your skin feeling delightfully soft and nourished with Lavender Hemp Soap. Creating a thick and foamy lather, this glycerine soap gives leaves your skin fresh and lively, relieving the stress and strain of modern life.

Bottega della Canapa is an Italian company that produces high quality natural cosmetics, enriched with the virtues of one of nature's most precious gifts. Hemp oil and extract. For beauty and well being of face and body there is only one choice.

Their line of vegetable hemp oil soap is expertly crafted using fine traditional methods that have been passed down through generations. This trusted method ensures that none of the active principles of the vegetable oils are lost in the soap making process, ensuring the finished article is pure and natural.


This soap is vegan with no animal fat. It smells lovely and makes me want to visit Italy!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Gluten-Free, Organic, GMO-Free Wings of Nature Bars

espresso-coffee-bar-pkg.jpg
Sometimes it takes me awhile to get a product review complete.  Unfortunately in this case, these products have expired. Thus, I have not tasted these gluten-free, organic, gmo-free, cold-pressed bars by Wings of Nature, but they look really, really good.

We were sent three varieties:
Wings of Nature Espresso Coffee Bars:

Ingredients
Sun Dried Raisins*, Brazil Nuts*, Cocoa Mass, Sunflower Seeds*, Agave Syrup*, Crisp Brown Rice*, Walnuts*, Brown Rice Syrup*, Roasted Coffee Beans*, Espresso Flavor*. *Certified organic

Wings of Nature Almond Raisin Bars:
Ingredients
Sesame Seeds*, Raisins*, Agave Syrup*, Sunflower Seeds*, Almonds*, Rice Syrup*, Crisp Brown Rice*, Pumpkin Seeds*. *Certified organic

Wings Of Nature, Bar Cranberry Crunch

When I visit the company's website, I could not find these bars listed under products. Amazon also says the are no longer available. That's too bad if they are no longer made, as they look delicious. There are a lot of organic nut, seed, and fruit bars on the market, so I wouldn't be surprised if they didn't make it.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 18, 2012

It's Poison Oak/Ivy Season: Tecnu Outdoor Skin Cleanser

tecnu.jpg
Spring is in full force! With warmer temperatures brings more outdoor adventuring just as the poison oak is busting out its oily leaves in its prime.

I am highly susceptible to getting poison oak. I joke that I can just look at the plant and break out in an itchy, oozy rash. When I know i have been heavily exposed, I turn to Poison Oak And Ivy Treatment Tecnu:

Remove irritants from your skin that could turn into itchy problems. Use Tecnu® Original Outdoor Skin Cleanser after you have been outdoors to remove the rash causing oil, urushiol (oo-roo-she-all) from poison ivy, oak and sumac.

Unfortunately, this product does receive a hazard score of five out of ten from the Environmental Working Group. Of particular concern is the ingredient Propylene Glycol. The Good Human writes:

What is propylene glycol? It is is a chemical found in personal care products that acts as a penetration enhancer that keeps products from melting in heat and/or freezing when it is cold...
But why should you avoid propylene glycol?

For starters it alters the structure of the skin by allowing chemicals to penetrate deep beneath it while increasing their ability to reach the blood stream. Sounds lovely, right? So even if propylene glycol was good for you, it's main job is to help any other chemicals you come in contact with reach your bloodstream.


I also don't know anything about the ingredient Octylphenoxy-Polyethoxyethanol.

Although Tecnu is not all natural, and there are wonderful natural treatments for poison oak, I do like to keep Tecnu around for extreme exposures.  

There are also many great all natural Poison Oak Soaps.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 17, 2012

Bring Your Own Bag!!! Envirosax Chic Designs

envirosax.jpg
I love Envirosax. When I reach into my basket of shopping bags, I always choose the Envirosax first. These bags wash nicely, and they are super compact for tossing in a purse or bag. In fact, I thank Envirosax for ensuring I never take a single use bag from any store, not just the grocery store.

We were sent a Envirosax Bag from the After Dark Series:

After Dark rises up as moonlit, edgy silhouettes of the night. This modern and artistic range features hand-painted illustrations with bold creativity and hints of nature. Lightweight polyester, portable, waterproof, and weighing just 1.4oz each, these groovy bags have been tested and are totally safe to carry food. With reinforced seams, each surprisingly large bag can hold a weight the equivalent of two supermarket plastic bags.

I really love the designs of the After Dark series.  They make a fashion and environmental statement!

Although I know Organic Recycled Cotton Bags are better for the planet than polyester, I still love my Envirosax!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy