May 16, 2012

Zero Peroxide: Whiten Your Teeth Naturally with Whitening Lightning

zero_white_whitening_pen__72726_zoom.jpg
As I age, I notice the effects of coffee and red wine on my teeth. At one point, I tried Crest Whitestrips, even though I knew they were not all natural. Unfortunately, they hurt my teeth.

I recently discovered a natural tooth whitener that does not use peroxide. The Zero White Whitening Lightning Pen uses all natural botanical ingredients.

ZERO White contains no harmful peroxide and will not cause sensitivity. It is specially formulated in our lab and made from all natural ingredients. Finally, a whitening product for teeth left sensitive by other products that actually tastes great too. Restore your teeth, crowns, veneers and caps to a natural white the pain free way with ZERO White.

With a money back guarantee, this product promises to lighten your teeth seven to ten shades in 14 days.  It's kind of expensive, but it is made in the USA.  I found it on sale at Pure Citizen for half price. 

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 15, 2012

Neuva Cocina Makes Latin Cuisine Easy

nueva_cocina_rice_mix.jpg
Sometimes spice, soup, and rice mixes make our life easy, but you have to watch out for nasty ingredients like MSG. Neuvo Cocino focuses their efforts on Latin cuisine.

We were sent the following samples to try:
Nueva Cocina Rice Mix for Seafood

Directions
Recipe Necessities: Seafood (3/4 lb) (You may use one type of seafood [for example, shrimp, or scallops] or, try a combination of your liking. If using fish select a firm variety, such as sword fish, and cut into 1- inch pieces then lightly brown in olive oil and set aside until remaining seafood is added). White Cooking Wine (1/2 cup). Olive Oil (2 tablespoons). Water (2 cups). 1. In a large saucepan, combine water, wine, olive oil and the two Nueva Cocina pouches. 2. Bring to boil on High heat. Cover and boil for 1 minute. Reduce heat to Low and cook, covered for 10 minutes. 3. Add the Seafood and cook, covered, on Low heat about 15 minutes more or until seafood is done and rice is tender. Stir once halfway through cooking. If rice is still not tender and water has evaporated, add 1/4 cup of water. Rice should be saucy not dry. Stir and serve.

Nueva Cocina also makes instant soup mixes. We were sent:
Nueva Cocina Sweet Corn Soup with Green Chiles:

Ingredients
Dried Sweet Corn and Corn Powder [Corn, Maltodextrin, Corn Starch, Soy Lecithin}, Whey, Dehydrated Onion, Corn Starch, Yellow Corn Flour, Dextrose, Nonfat Milk, Salt, Sweet Cream Solids, Sunflower Oil, Sugar, Milk, Dehydrated Butter (Cream, Nonfat Milk, Salt, Annatto), Dehydrated Garlic, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Dehydrated Green Bell Pepper, Natural Flavor, Spice, Dehydrated Jalapeno Pepper, Annatto.

This product does not claim to be MSG-free, as autolyzed yeast extract is hidden MSG.


Nueva Cocina Beef Seasoning, Picadillo

Ingredients
Dehydrated Onions, Freeze Dried Raisins, Sugar, Salt, Dehydrated Red Bell Peppers, Dehydrated Garlic, Dehydrated Green Bell Peppers, Freeze Dried Sliced Green Olives, Spices, Garlic Powder, Apple Cider Vinegar Powder (Maltodextrin, Modified Food Starch, Vinegar Solids).

I don't eat fish, and the rice mix contains anchovies, so I didn't try it. The taco seasoning can be used with tofu or beans and is gluten-free. I am not one to like soup mixes. They just don't compare to the real deal.

I wish these products were organic. They are made in Miami.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 10, 2012

Made in Vermont: Organic Joy Tonic by Urban Moonshine

urban_moonshine_joy.jpg
One of the easiest and most convenient ways to get the benefits of herbs is through tonics and bitters. Urban Moonshine handcrafts this historical practice of herbal supplementation organically in Vermont. We were sent a new blend to try:

Urban Moonshine Joy Tonic

Our Certified Organic Joy Tonic is a carefully formulated blend of aromatic herbs and flowers that help to support you through life's transitions (big and small) with grace and ease. We know stress is inevitable, and rather than trying to stimulate our way through it, or sedate our way out of it, we do best when we relax, focus, and engage the stressor. Our Joy Tonic adjusts the level of tension in our nervous systems, internal organs, and blood vessels. Its volatile components can reawaken us when we feel sad, uninspired or withdrawn and relax us when we feel stressed, anxious, frazzled, and overwhelmed. Feedback between body and mind moves towards synchrony and we feel peaceful. From this place we make better decisions and become more inspired and creative. Stress becomes a tool for positive change rather than a source of anxiety.

This product uses the power of organic motherwort, organic linden, organic rose, organic lemon balm, organic lemongrass, and organic mugwort. It is very convenient to keep in your purse or backpack for a little spritz when needed.

Who doesn't need a little more joy in their life?


disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 9, 2012

Live Healthy: Probiotics for Dummies and Probulin

probiotics_for_dummies.jpg
I teach science to sixth graders, and recently we were learning about the digestive system. The topic of bacteria came up, and these sixth graders all had the notion that bacteria was bad. I quickly corrected this falsity. Our bodies depend on beneficial bacteria.

Probiotics For Dummies by Dr. Shekhar K. Challa, a board certified gastroenterologist, explores the topic of in depth. From allergies to probiotic recipes, this book answers all your questions about improving the health of your digestive tract.

Probiotics are beneficial, live microorganisms (in most cases, bacteria) that are similar to those found naturally in the human intestine. Also known as "friendly" or "good" bacteria, probiotics are the cornerstone of any successful health program because they restore a healthy balance between friendly and bad bacteria in the intestinal tract, a balance that is critical for the health of the entire body. Probiotics are associated with treating everything from IBS to certain forms of cancer, allergies, eczema, and even the effects of aging.

Probiotics For Dummies reveals how taking the right probiotics--in the form of food and supplements-- as part of a total health program benefits one's overall health, as well as improving specific conditions. This hands-on, essential guide features 20 probiotic recipes and gives you a step-by-step plan for infusing probiotics into your diet to improve the health of the GI tract, alleviate allergies and asthma, restore reproductive and urinary tracts, bolster the immune system against disease, enhance weight loss, and more.

We were also sent samples of Probulin Probiotic, which is mentioned in the book. It is a "gourmet" probiotic, combining beneficial bacteria with inulin, "a plant-produced high density dietary fiber that helps your digestive system".

I am always suspect of probiotics that are not kept in the refrigerator. I don't know why, but I was told by my health care practitioner to only purchase refrigerated probiotics.  Probulin is not refrigerated.  

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 8, 2012

Really Natural Books: Fashion & Sustainability Design for Change

Screen shot 2012-05-05 at 8.59.30 AM.png
I love clothes, but the environmental impact of our closets is astounding. I have pledge to limit myself to purchasing used clothing or new items from sustainable designers.  I only occasionally am led astray.

Fashion and Sustainability: Design for Change by Kate Fletcher and Lynda Grosse explores "how sustainability has the potential to transform both the fashion system and the innovators who work within it".

The book is organized in three parts. The first part is concerned with transforming fashion products across the garment's lifecycle and includes innovation in materials, manufacture, distribution, use, and re-use. The second part looks at ideas that are transforming the fashion system at root into something more sustainable, including new business models that reduce material output. The third section is concerned with transforming the role of fashion designers and looks to examples where the designer changes from a stylist or shaper of things into a communicator, activist or facilitator.

There is so much we can learn from this book with ideas such as optimizing the lifetime of garments, designing with wrinkles in mind, minimum waste when cutting and sewing, and multi-functional garments.

If you are looking for used designer clothes, you don't need to spend hours in thrift stores looking for a needle in haystack. Ebay is a great place to look and sell your used fashion. Just search your favorite designers, and you will be surprised at what deals and delights you find.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 7, 2012

100% Recyclable Natural Rubber VOS Sandals: Health Care and Free Sandals for Those in Need

sandal_description.jpg
Are you looking for a new pair of natural sandals that also gives back to communities in which they originate? Can you really change the world with your flips?

VOS Natural Rubber Sandals:

Our FLIPS are made with a natural rubber cultivated from the Hevea Brasiliensis tree. This makes our FLIPS 100% recyclable and eco-friendly.

Partnering with Soles4Souls we have made the commitment to give one pair of new sandals away to someone in need for every pair we sell.

Partnering with the Gremial de Huleros and AgroSalud we assist and support over 500 rubber plantation workers and their families in the following areas:
HEALTH CARE
Maintaining a good nutritional status in children under 5 years old
Vaccinations to children under 7 (polio, tetanus, measles, pertussis, diphtheria)
Biannual de-worming campaigns
Essential medicines

EDUCATION
Family orientation lectures to raise the quality of life for women and children
Weekly promotion of oral hygiene to prevent tooth decay and plaque
Accident prevention in the workplace

LIVING CONDITIONS
Providing potable drinking water
Building latrines
Providing garbage disposal systems


The pair we were sent were too large for my feet so I can't really comment on their comfort or usage, but I do like the naturalness of the materials and VOS' commitment to giving back.

These are not your traditional flip design.  We were sent a pink pair, which is not my favorite color. I think they would be much more aesthetically pleasing in black.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 4, 2012

BPA-Free bobble Filter Plastic Water Bottle

bobble.jpg
With increased awareness of the negativity involved with drinking bottled water both for the planet and our personal health, there has been a plethora of reusable water bottles on the market. Some use filters, some are BPA-free plastic, some are stainless steel, some are glass...my preference is glass for health.

We were recently sent a bobble BPA Free Water Bottle to try. I first saw bobble water bottles in Italy. They were very popular with the Americans.  This ergonomically designed bottle uses a small carbon filter to make your tap water safer. 

If you could eliminate 300 single-serve plastic water bottles with one sustainable, great-looking, portable and affordable alternative, wouldn't you use it? One small lifestyle change can make a huge impact and bobble can be this small change. By using a bobble, you not only reduce bottle consumption, you help protect and preserve the environment, all while getting good, clean drinking water.

The bobble bottle's body is pretty soft plastic, and the package comes with a warning not to squeeze it too hard or it could crease.

It is easy to get replacement filters for bobble, and thankfully, this water bottle is made in the USA.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 3, 2012

NOT Natural Beaver Brand Unique Condiments: Wasabi, Hickory Bacon, and Chinese Mustard

Screen shot 2012-05-03 at 6.42.19 AM.png
Oh, I was so excited when I opened the box and saw these delicious looking uniquely-flavored condiments, but then disappointment set in when I read their ingredient list. 

High fructose corn syrup, Yellow No. 5, Blue No. 1, etc. do not belong in our bodies!

Inglehoffer Wasabi Horseradish

Ingredients
Grated Horseradish and Wasabi Roots, Water, White Distilled Vinegar, Soybean Oil, Mustard Seed, Sugar, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Eggs, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Salt, Modified Corn Starch, Xanthan and Cellulose Gums, Lemon Juice, Sodium Metabisulfite and Sodium Benzoate (Preservatives), Citric Acid, Spices, Garlic Paprika, Calcium Disodium Edta (Retains Product Freshness), Caramel Color, Turmeric, Yellow No. 5, Licorice Root, Blue No. 1, Ginger.

Beaver Chinese Mustard Extra Hot
Water, Vinegar White Distilled, Mustard Flour, Sugar, Salt, Garlic, Grape(s) Concentrate Natural, Flavor(s) Natural & Artificial, Soybean(s) Oil, Mustard Bran, Citric Acid, Spice(s), Xanthan Gum, Calcium Disodium EDTA To Retain Freshness

As Food Facts explains:
This product is high in sodium.
This product contains controversial ingredients

Beaver Hickory Bacon Mustard: Bacon is so popular these days, and it is actually listed on the ingredients, not just bacon flavor. This mustard has won awards.

I have not tried any of these products. As a vegetarian who eats only natural food, I could not try them but gave them away.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 2, 2012

All Natural Cotton Yoga Mats by Bendala

Screen shot 2012-04-28 at 10.15.15 AM.png
I practice yoga everyday. My body and soul needs it.

Unfortunately, most yoga mats are made with synthetic materials, some even contain PVC. The smell of a new yoga mat off gassing is gross and worrisome.

I do have a jute and rubber mat I practice on regularly. It smells more like rope than rubber, yet there is still that feeling I am not practicing on the most natural mat possible.

The practice of yoga is millennia old. Fancy mats were not part of this original practice, nor does it have to be now. Simple fibers, simple mats help us connect to the sacredness of this ancient practice.

Bendala makes all natural, cotton yoga mats:

Bendala's hand-woven cotton yoga mats provide an all-natural, toxin free, beautiful and sweat absorbent surface for your practice. Through Bendala also discover other great products to compliment your yoga practice on and off your mat. Bendala Gives Back. With each mat purchase, we donate to create yoga for kids!

I love my Bendala mat! It is so beautiful!

On it's own, it does rumple a little and slide around if used on a wooden floor. It is recommended to use it on top of a typical sticky mat, which I haven't tried yet. I wanted to leave the whole thing behind.

It was so much more pleasurable to have my face against the Bendala mat!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

April 30, 2012

Gluten-Free Aged Parmesan Crisps: Great on Salads, Great as a Snack

AgedParmV6Big.jpg
Are you looking for a unique snack that is gluten-free? Kitchen Table Bakers Aged Parmesan Crisps are made from nothing but aged parmesan cheese.

Kitchen Table Bakers special blend of pure aged cheeses lends itself to a complex yet uniquely subtle flavor that goes well by itself, with a "Caesar" Salad, a bowl of soup, a glass of wine or with any of your favorite gourmet dips or toppings.

I have had a similar product served to me at high end restaurants before and loved them!  They are so unique and flavorful!

The sample we were sent does have a lot of packaging to protect the crisps with not much product inside, although it says there are six servings in side (three crisps is a serving). Surprisingly, they are low in calorie (about 25 calories a crisp). I do wish they were organic.

I think these Aged Parmesan Crisps are great alone, but I really like them on salad!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy