March 30, 2012

Got Cucumbers? Organic Rye Vodka from Square One

square_one.jpg
I still remember the first time I tried cucumber juice. I was pleasantly surprised at how refreshing it was. Now I can have that same flavor in my organic spirits!

Square One Cucumber Vodka is made from 100% organic rye!

Square One Cucumber is a deliciously aromatic spirit with the delicate and fresh taste of cucumber.

We crafted Square One Cucumber by combining the essence of organic cucumber with our original certified organic American rye vodka. To keep cucumber's fresh aroma, we applied the same skills used to capture the aromatics of flowers and plants in natural fragrances.

This spirit gives a contemporary spin to familiar cocktails like the Tom Collins or Gimlet and is a natural choice for refreshing new cocktails. For a cool, light yet effortless indulgence, try Square One Cucumber with tonic and a twist of lime.


I checked out some of the cocktail recipes and am excited to try the "Cool Collins" tonight!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 29, 2012

Kids Love 'Em: Superfood Blueberry Hemp Power Snacks by Navitas Naturals

nativas_blueberry_hemp.jpg
Kids love to snack. Adults do too! Making snacks healthy is easy, especially with Navitas Naturals. Gluten and dairy-free, containing no refined sugar, and packed with superfoods, no guilt involved in this snacking!

We have tried Navitas Naturals Cacoa Goji Superfood Power Snack. Now we got to try Navitas Naturals - Hemp Superfood Power Snack Blueberry:

Navitas Naturals is adding Blueberry Hemp to their award-winning line of organic Navitas Power Snacks. Blueberry Hemp Navitas Power Snacks provide a diversity of the most nutrient-dense organic superfoods and organic seeds, fruits and nuts. These bite-sized cubes have a healthy whole food appearance, delicious flavor and rich chewy texture. Navitas Power Snacks do not contain refined sugar, preservatives and artificial colors and flavors. In addition to being certified organic they are also certified gluten-free, and are GMO-free and dairy-free...

Why Hemp? Nutrition experts recommend hemp seed because it's an easily digested complete protein source. It is also one of the richest vegetable sources of the Omega 3 & 6 essential fats, and in an ideal ratio to support human health. Hemp seed is also a plentiful source of fiber, vitamins and minerals such as magnesium, iron, zinc, and potassium.

Blueberries are famous for their delicious fruit flavor and abundance of phytonutrients, which many scientists believe provide powerful antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties that may protect against heart disease, colon cancer and other ailments. In addition to the organic hemp powder and dried blueberries, Blueberry Hemp Power Snacks are made with other leading organic functional food stars such as chia, maca, lucuma, camu camu and maqui, as well as other wholesome raw foods such as date paste, sesame seeds, cashews and sunflower seeds.


I recently brought these snacks into a 5th/6th grade science class I teach. We were looking for elements on labels, and of course we had to snack. The children loved these, and they weren't all from families that eat health food. I felt good about giving the kids some nourishment from wholesome, "sustainably-cultivated ingredients."


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 27, 2012

The Autism Puzzle: Environmental Toxins and Rising Autism Rates

autism_puzzle.gif
One of the greatest health concerns of modern times is the rising rates of autism. This spectrum disorder varies in severity greatly and is as individual as each person is unique.

Scientists and doctors have been somewhat puzzled as to why autism is much more prevalent in modernity. Theories, such as vaccinations, have been refuted and proven countless times. 

I am not a doctor, but the explanation that makes the most sense to me is the interplay between environmental toxins, including those possibly in vaccines, and our genetic make up. I believe epigenetics is at the root of rising autism rates.

The Autism Puzzle: Connecting the Dots Between Environmental Toxins and Rising Autism Rates by Brita Belli explores the how common toxins we are exposed to ever day combine with 'genetic susceptibilities" to cause the 57% increase in autism since 2002.

Journalist Brita Belli brings us into the lives of three families with autistic children, each with different ideas about autism, as she explores the possible causes. She interprets for readers compelling evidence that environmental toxins--including common exposures from chemicals mounting in our everyday lives--may be sparking this disorder in vulnerable children. Belli calls for an end to the use of hazardous materials--like toxic flame retardants used in electronics and furniture, which have been banned elsewhere--insisting that we cannot afford to experiment with our children. The Autism Puzzle puts a human face on the families caught in between the debates, and offers a refreshingly balanced perspective.

This book is easy to read, and it should be of interest to everyone, not just those affected by autism and their friends and families. We should all be concerned about how common toxins, such as BPA and flame retardants, are altering our genes.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 26, 2012

GMO-Free, No HFCS, Gluten-Free, Corn-Free, Soy-Free 24/7 Meal Replacement Made with Rice Bran Superfood

nancea.jpg
With 120 antioxidants, NanaCea's 24-7 Meal Replacement by Patty McPeak featuring Stabilized Rice Bran is low calorie (110) and features whole food nutrition.

24/7™ Meal Replacement for Life is the most nutrient-dense delicious meal replacement drink featuring stabilized rice bran with its 120 antioxidants and phytonutrients.

Diets low in saturated fat and cholesterol, which include two servings of foods that provide a daily total of at least 800mg of phytosterols in two meals, may reduce the risk of heart disease. Two servings of NanaCea 24/7™ provide 800 mg of phytosterols (400mg of phytosterols per serving).

It has high quality hypoallergenic protein, fiber, and phytonutrients. 24/7™ is rich in biotin, thiamin, niacin, vitamin B6, vitamin C, pantothenic acid, folic acid, vitamin D3, magnesium, manganese, selenium, potassium, phosphorous, gamma oryzanol, phytosterols and many other phytonutrients. Along with its 9 grams of hypoallergenic protein per serving, it contains tocotrienols, tocopherols and gamma oryzanol. It is easily digestible, very bio-absorbable and provides instant energy.


Although this product is chemical-free, soy-free, GMO-free, HFCS-free, gluten-free, corn-free, it is not made with organically-grown ingredients.

I've never been one for meal replacement shakes. When trying to maintain healthy weight, I simply drink lots of water and herbal tea and exercise at least an hour a day. Seaweed is also a really good low calorie snack.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 23, 2012

Niagara Conservation Showerheads: Exceptional Shower Experience While Conserving Water

sava_shower.jpg
Who doesn't like to take a long, hot shower after a hard day? Although showering uses far less water than bathing, many older shower heads do not conserve water. You don't have to give up that wonderful shower experience in the name of water conservation.

Niagara conservation makes "ultra high efficiency" shower heads. We were sent two showerheads:
Niagara SAVA Water Saving 1.5 GPM Rainfall Showerhead

Niagara's Sava Spa Showerhead offers the look of luxury and performance with the benefits of saving. The Sava showerhead features an oversized 4.4 inch diameter sprayhead for wide coverage, and a patented pressure compensator that ensures a consistent flow, regardless of water pressure, and delivers an exceptional shower experience while conserving water. Featuring solid, durable brass construction and a corrosion resistant high-impact ABS thermoplastic body, the Sava showerhead meets all standards set by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). The Sava showerhead is available in a white or chrome finish and every model includes an easy-to-use 360 degree swivel head that comes standard with a 10 year warranty.

Bi-Max Showerhead 1.0/1.5 GPM
Conservation with a Twist! Bi-Max is a unique, two-flow rate showerhead, allowing you to match your flow rate to you task and save more while you shower.
• Two pressure compensated flow rate options: 1.0 and 1.5 gallon per minute (3.8 and 5.7 liter per minute)

• Niagara's patented non-removable pressure compensator provides a constant output of water regardless of pressure.

• Easy grip turn-dial for selecting flow rate

• Even, needle spray with a large spray diameter

• Compact, modern design

• Corrosion resistant high-impact ABS thermoplastic body

• Large POM swivel adjustment, virtually lead free

• 10-year warranty

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 22, 2012

Made in France: EcoCert and Organic Melvita Extraordinary Water

melvita.jpg
One of the best parts of writing this blog is discovering truly natural, organic beauty products. I can't believe I have never heard of Melvita. They've been making organic beauty products since 1983.

We were sent Melvita's new ORANGE BLOSSOM EXTRAORDINARY WATER:

THINK: An extraordinary new level of restorative, beauty boosting moisturizers.

WHAT THEY ARE: Moisturizing floral waters infused with unique formulas and delicate scents. Distinguished by its philosophy of paying homage to the natural world, beauty and skincare brand Melvita's expert formulations harness the power of active ingredients in their purest forms. Always the innovators, the experts at Melvita, France's number one organic certified beauty brand, have expanded on the success of their classic floral waters. Introducing the Extraordinary Waters, a range of multi-tasking moisturizers based on a sophisticated new formula that contains hyaluronic acid and delivers advanced skincare benefits and a lingering, slightly perfumed aroma. The unique gel texture of these waters features a blend of soy-based hyaluronic acid and organic glycerine that delivers superlative moisturizing results and leaves skin delicately scented. These floral-enhanced Extraordinary Waters, which provide an extra moisturizing boost when applied prior to your daily face cream or by themselves throughout the day, soften and soothe skin, while offering tailored treatments that firm, intensely hydrate and brighten.

Melvita products are EcoCert. I trust EcoCert. This European body began in 1991.
Since the outset, Ecocert has been an independent company that has remained faithful to its convictions.

Consistent with its commitment to organic farming, Ecocert has opted to put its technical expertise to use in supporting the environment, developing its own specifications for the inspection and certification of products, systems and services. By defining strict requirements that meet consumer expectations, Ecocert Group encourages economic stakeholders to adopt responsible practices.


I am so pleased to have discovered Melvita!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 21, 2012

All Natura, Sulfate Free Monkey Balm with Organic Sea Buckthorn Oils

monkey_balm.jpg
It must be sea buckthorn oil week at Really Natural! On Monday, we reviewed Sibu beauty products made with sea buckthorn. Today, we review a product designed for children with this amazing oil.

Balmers Monkey Balm is designed for "baby soft skin for your monkeys".

Monkey Balm is a 100% homemade, all-natural remedy for eczema and extremely dry skin and is formulated specifically for children and infants. This formula includes all-natural ingredients and features the amazing healing power of the sea buckthorn berry. Sea Buckthorn (seed and fruit) oil is time-tested and clinically proven to soothe irritation and heal dry, cracked, even abrasive skin resulting from eczema, rosacea, dry climates, seasonal changes, sunburn, rashes, and even minor burns and wounds. Sea buckthorn has been used for centuries in Asia and Europe to heal skin problems and is considered a Holy Fruit by ancient and modern Tibetans. Its been recommended by doctors (even Dr Oz) as the best natural cure for acne. Monkey Balm incorporates these oils from the sea buckthorn berry with other soothing botanicals like cocoa butter, and Vitamin E to create a truly remarkable product in an easy-to-use use 2.0 oz lotion-bar, kind of like a super-sized lip balm for your whole body.

I do like the bar applicator, as my son has sensory issues and does not like lotions. He does not mind stick applicators for sunscreen, and this is very similar. I also trust this product as 100% natural. It's great for grown-ups too!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 20, 2012

Eating Light: 400 Calories or Less

eating_light.jpg
Eating Light: 400 Calories or Less is a bookazine filled with 118 recipes by the editors of Good Housekeeping, Redbook, and Country Living.

Eating Light 400 Calories or Less provides 52 tips - one for every week of the year - that will help you make healthy choices in the months to come. With advice on ordering skinny meals at restaurants, choosing beverages wisely, and blasting belly fat (try green tea, healthy fats, and purple foods!), Eating Light has you covered. Plus, a slim-down plan indicates how many calories you should consume at each meal, so you'll drop extra pounds safely and confidently.

Winter recipes like Low-Fat Lasagna (pg. 33) and Chicken Pot Pie (pg. 42) satisfy cravings for comfort food, while spring ideas like Basil Orange Chicken (48) and Grilled Swordfish Kabobs with Parsley-Olive Salsa (pg. 57) make use of seasonal herbs. Summer is grilling season, so you'll want to whip up Bacon-Wrapped Scallops (pg. 69) and Grilled Flank Steak with Corn Relish (pg. 80). Finally, transition to autumn with Fusilli with Veal, Squash & Sage (pg. 106) and Cranberry Turkey Cutlets (pg. 99).

As you can tell from the above description, this bookazine is not so good for vegetarians, and the presence of veal is just inhumane. Recipes can be adapted to be meat-free.

I can't wait to try the Tomato Tarte Tatin once we have fresh plum tomatoes again in the garden. The Cheesy Stuffed Eggplant also looks really good. We are always looking for ways to use up eggplant at harvest time.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 19, 2012

100% Natural Sea Buckthorn Beauty Products by Sibu

sibu.jpg
Have you ever heard of sea buckhorn? This Himalayan berry is known as the "beauty berry" and contains antioxidants and essential fatty acids, including Omega-7. Sibu Beauty features sea buckthorn in their 100% natural beauty products.

We were sent the following Sibu products to try:
Sea Buckthorn Seed Oil

Sea buckthorn seed oil has long been used as a topical treatment to aid in the relief of skin conditions such as eczema, acne, rosacea, burns, and wounds and as a traditional beauty treatment to preserve youthful skin tone and texture. it is a secret remedy to fight wrinkles and age spots so you may (or may not) want to share it with your friends.

Sibu Cleanse & Detox Sea Bar Facial Soap
Awaken your skin in the morning or wash away a day of stress and pollutants with pure, simple, clean and powerful sibu beauty sea buckthorn facial soap. lathers thick and rinses with ease to cleanse, detox and moisturize, and repair the skin while creating a protective barrier against uv rays and cell damaging free radicals.

These products are amazingly affordable for containing such a trendy and effective ingredient as sea buckthorn. The sea buckthorn in these products is fair trade sourced from Tibet.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 17, 2012

Wembe Cleansing and Face Soap: Cruelty-Free and Vegan

wembesoap.jpg
Made in Paraguay, Wembe soaps are high quality capturing "Amazonian soul". We have tried Wembe products before and loved them. This time we were sent the following products to try:
CLEAN FACE MAKE UP REMOVER

Be gentle to your face. Remove dirt, pollution and oils with this cleanser. Formulated for dry and sensitive skin, it can also be used as a moisturizing facial mask. Our Clean Face contains Olive oil and cocoa butter to remove makeup and deeply clean your pores in the most natural way. Apply the cleanser on your damp skin in light circular motion, then wash it off with fresh water. Your skin is fresh and radiant ! Enjoy this new sensation...

MANGO CLEANSING SOAP BLEND
This blend is perfect for dry and unbalanced skin.
One of the most exotic fruits of the tropical forest, Mangoes conquer imagination with their sweet perfume. Highly moisturizing, it's rich in vitamins A, C and E to deeply nurture the skin and promote good health. This blend is slightly defoliant due to the fibers in the soap. It energizes while unclogging pores. Good for Face Hand & Body.

ASSAI BERRY DETOX SOAP
Assai or Acai is the fruit of a palm that grows in the Amazon rainforest. It is widely known for its antioxidant properties, so we designed this blend for mature and damaged skins. We combined here Assai with Mango, another powerful antioxidant fruit, to make them work in synergy. Found also in this blend is Jojoba Oil which helps maintain the skin's elasticity and works in perfect harmony with the other two to rejuvenate the body and soul.

The mango is my favorite!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy