March 15, 2012

Fight Allergies Naturally: Herbally Enhanced Nasal Cleansing Spray

dr_neuzil.jpg
I am personally not a fan of nasal sprays, but for some people, they can offer relief from  dryness and swelling due to allergies and/or the environment.

Dr. Neuzil's Irrigator Herbal Nasal Spray Herbal uses the power of essential oils to offer relief from dryness.

Dr. Neuzil's Irrigator is an herbal enhanced, saline based formula that cleanses the nasal passages of dust, pollen, pet dander and other irritants that cause discomfort. Its essential oils, which include eucalyptol, pine, menthol, wintergreen and cinnamon, moisturize sinuses while leaving the user feeling refreshed...

Developed by a Central Florida allergy and sinus medical practitioner, Dr. Neuzil's Irrigator nasal cleansing spray provides fast and easy-to-use relief for sinus irritation caused by various factors. An alternative to common nasal therapies such as a neti pot or simple saline rinse, the herbal enhanced spray is pleasant to use and not as messy as other sinus solutions.

I could have really used this product during a recent trip skiing in Colorado. The cold, dry air, high altitude, and a cold made my sinuses and nasal passages unbearable at times.

I do use aromatherapy to help with nasal issues, either with a few drops of Organic Eucalyptus Essential Oil and Organic Lavender Oil in a bowl of steaming water or an Aromatherapy Room Diffuser.


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 14, 2012

Vegan Svelte Sustained Energy Protein Drinks: Certified Organic with 16g of Protein

Screen shot 2012-03-10 at 7.41.08 AM.png
CalNaturale svelte Sustained Energy Protein Drinks come in four flavors:


  • Chocolate

  • French vanilla

  • Cappuccino

  • Spiced Chai

Unfortunately, I waited too long to review my samples, and they expired; however, they do look good and have excellent reviews on Amazon.

CalNaturale Svelte provides you with the lasting nutrition and sustained energy you need for your active and busy day. Each rich, creamy flavor is created with 16g of organic protein from fresh organic soymilk, along with organic complex carbohydrates for sustained energy. Svelte is tested to be low-glycemic and has only 9 grams of sugar per full bottle. It's also a good source of fiber and is dairy-free and gluten-free. Here's to you.

Each drink contains 16 grams of protein, 32 percent of your daily fiber, and 260 calories. At 15.9 ounces per container, it does appear one of these would really fill you up!

These drinks are soy-based, so if you are avoiding soy, they are not for you.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 13, 2012

100% Organic, Truly Natural, Sport Salve Prevents Chaffing and Blisters

Screen shot 2012-03-10 at 7.29.37 AM.png
It is such a breath of fresh air to read an ingredient list you understand! 100% organic and natural, and a zero hazard score from the Environmental Working Group...WOOT!

Naturity FrictionFree Sports Balm is truly natural!

"We do not know of any other performance balm on the market for athletes that is comprised of 100% certified organic ingredients, 100% natural, and rated zero toxicity," said Anysia Kiel, Naturity's managing member. FrictionFree™creates a chemical-free defensive skin barrier that helps eliminate chafe and blisters. It's also non-staining, waterproof, wetsuit, and chamois-safe. "This athlete-tested balm is a necessity for runners, triathletes, and cyclists. We're sure it will meet the needs of competitive athletes," said Kiel.

The Naturity website was not functional when I wrote this review, so I hope the company is still in business. I sure hope they are, as really natural companies are rare in this day of "natural" and "organic" marketing.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 12, 2012

How to Find if a Product's Natural Claims are True: No "Harsh" Chemicals?

Screen shot 2012-03-10 at 6.24.30 AM.png
I have become a little more vigilant after reading last week's report on products, including green ones, with hidden toxic chemicals in their ingredients. I try to read labels diligently when writing product reviews, but frankly, it is hard to stay on top of all claims of natural and chemical-free.

Le Baby Detangler makes such claims that I find suspicious.

  • Le Baby Detangler gently detangles hair spray on wet or dry
  • Hypoallergenic
  • No harsh chemicals
  • No parabens
  • No sulfates
  • Not tested on animals
  • Fragrance-free
  • Natural scented botanicals
  • Does not irritate skin with it's easy on the hair ingredients
Thankfully, they do disclose ingredients:
Ingredients: water (aqua), citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) flower essential water, polyquaternium-7, glycerin, polysorbate 20, aloe, barbadensis leaf, polyquaternium-10, 1,2-hexanediol, sodium benzoate, tocopheryl acetate, citrus medica limonum (lemon) peel oil, peg-8 dimethicone, disodium edta, potassium sorbate, caprylyl glycol
Whenever I can't read an ingredient that includes numbers and dashes, etc., I suspect chemical compounds.
 

Skin Deep, the Environmental Working Groups cosmetic database, is my go to resource for looking up products. If the products, such as the LeBaby one, has not been reviewed, I look at some of the ingredients.

For example, I don't know what peg-8 dimethicone is, and it doesn't sound good. EWG gave it a hazard score between three and six.

About PEG-8 DIMETHICONE: PEG-8 Dimethicone is a polyethylene glycol derivative of Dimethicone (q.v.) containing anaverage of 8 moles of ethylene oxide.
USE RESTRICTIONS
type of concern
Violation of industry recommendations - Restricted in cosmetics; use, concentration, or manufacturing restrictions - Not safe for use on injured or damaged skin

Those hazard scores are not terrible, but it is still a chemical.

Nowhere on the LeBaby label does it warn not to use on "injured or damaged skin". In fact, it says, "for babies, kids and everyone with sensitive skin".

We have previously reviewed LeBaby's Chemical-Free, Fragrance-Free Hair Gel for Babies and Kids raising similar ingredient concerns and claims of chemical-free.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 9, 2012

Made in China or Made in the USA? Point6 Kid's Merino Wool Hiking Socks

point6.jpg
Long ago, I realized my kids deserved quality socks during the winter months and for outdoor activities. Cheap socks don't last and lose their shape.  Good socks last and can be paced down to younger siblings.

Point6 makes nice socks for kids and adults

THE HIKING TECH MEDIUM CREW SOCK offers extra cushioning on the instep and around the leg to protect against pressure points from heavier footwear. The cozy wool cushioning next to the skin insulates the foot from hot spots and blisters. Kids who enjoy day-long hikes, climbing tall trees, and playing til the sun goes down would be wise to choose this sock.
66% merino wool, 31% nylon, 3% spandex.

There's no question these sock are of high quality, but what confuses me is where are they made?

Point6 is out of Steamboat Springs, Colorado, and their website says the socks are made in the USA. The sticker on the actual socks say made in China.  Which is it?

Point6 is a member of 1% for the Planet.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 8, 2012

Made in the USA from Recycled Plastic Bottles iPhone Cases by TRTL BOT

minimalist.jpg
If you are lucky enough to own an Apple iPhone 4, TRTL BOT makes great cases that are made from recycled plastic bottles.


TRTL BOT "The Minimalist 4" Card Clip Case for iPhone 4 (Black) (Fits AT&T iPhone):

Product Features

  • Holds 1 to 3 ID/Credit Cards

  • Contains plastic from recycled bottles

  • Protects iPhone from damage

  • Made in USA


TRTL BOT "The TRTL STAND 4" Stand Case for iPhone 4 (Black) (Fits AT&T iPhone)
Product Features

  • Props up your iPhone in three different ways; portrait, landscape, tripod

  • Contains plastic from recycled bottles

  • Protects iPhone from damage

  • Made in USA

These cases are made in the USA, and the company is a member of 1% for the Planet. No greenwashing here! At least you can offset some of the environmental damage done by Apple by choosing and eco-friendly case for your iPhone.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 7, 2012

Iglu: A Young Adult Fiction Book on Climate Change

iglu.jpg
What happens when the rising sea envelopes Native Alaskan land and millions have relocated to the Last Frontier due to global warming? This is the setting of a fictional book written by Jacob Sackin for young adults.

Iglu is the story of native Inupiaq people who are mislabeled as terrorists for fighting for cultural survival.

But when the Iñupiaq people rise up to fight for the survival of their culture, the private army Skyhawk is brought in to subdue the growing insurgency and the Iñupiaq rebels are labeled as terrorists. Separated from her family in the aftermath of the ensuing battle, fourteen-year-old April Ipalook desperately searches for a place of refuge amidst the war zone of northern Alaska.

IGLU has a strong young female protagonist and will appeal to readers who enjoy science fiction and action stories.

I have not read the book cover to cover, and I will update this post after I have read the book in entirety.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 6, 2012

More Glass Water Bottles

glass_bottles.jpgAquasana Glass Water Bottles come from the trusted makers of home water filter system.

The very best way to keep water pure and fresh is to bottle your own in glass containers!

Better taste, better quality; a great way to entice yourself to drink more water!

The importance of drinking more water.

Why you should always store water in glass.

I agree that glass is the best for drinking water.  It leaves behind no taste or odor, while ensuring no leaching of harmful plastic chemicals.  

These are the most inexpensive glass water bottles I have seen: six bottles for $19.99. They do not have a silicone protective sleeve, like Lifefactory or Takeya glass water bottles, and the larger size does make the bottle really tall and more likely to top over.  They do make an Aquasana AquaKoozy to protect your glass bottle, but we were not sent one.  

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 5, 2012

Aquasana Shower Water Filter: It's like Showering in Natural Springwater!

aquasana.jpg
Many people filter their drinking water, but they forget about the shower. Our skin absorbs toxic chemicals into our bodies just as readily as if we ingested them orally, so filtering shower water is a really good idea.

Aquasana AQ-4100 Deluxe Shower Water Filter System with Adjustable Showerhead is easy to install and removes chlorine, VOCs, and SOCs. "It's like showering in natural springwater!", which is what I do anyways.

Aquasana ® AQ-4100 Deluxe Shower Water Filter System with Adjustable Showerhead Aquasana AQ-4100 Shower Filter was voted "Product of the Year" by Cosmetology Today Magazine! This unique 2-Stage shower water filter is US Patented, has a high filtering capacity and is easy to install. No tools necessary, although pliers may be helpful. The granular copper/zinc and coconut shell carbon replaceable water filter effectively removes 99% of Chlorine, reduces VOC`s, heavy metals and other chemicals, as well as enhancing pH. Stage 1 removes chlorine and enhances pH balance with a natural copper/ zinc mineral media called KDF-55D. The second water filtration stage uses a carbonized coconut shell media for the removal of synthetic chemicals and VOCs that vaporize and can be inhaled or absorbed through the skin potentially causing adverse health and cosmetic effects. Without the harsh influences of chlorine you'll notice significant cosmetic benefits. Also by removing chlorine and other chemicals found in tap water, you eliminate health risks related to inhalation and skin absorption of these chemicals... now known to be a significant source of exposure to harmful VOCs (volatile organic chemicals). Your shower water will feel better, and be better for you. The Aquasana Shower Water Filter provides minimal pressure loss and no change in showerhead height. It`s like showering in natural spring water! The easily replaceable water filter lasts 10,000 gallons, about 6 months, and installs simply.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 2, 2012

Healthy Home: Formaldehyde-free, Soy-Based Adhesive Hardwood Plywood Flooring by PureBond

purebond_4a.jpg
Home improvement can be very toxic! New carpeting and plywood contain a host of chemicals that can make you feel sick and create very poor indoor air quality in your home.

Columbia Forest Products has a line of plywood flooring and prints that is formaldehyde free called Pure Bond:


  • Non-Toxic Technology.

  • Soy-Based Adhesive.

  • Cost-Competitive.

  • North American Made.

  • And only from Columbia Forest Products.
The original cost-competitive decorative hardwood plywood without the formaldehyde. PureBond® is Columbia Forest Products' exclusive formaldehyde-free innovation for hardwood plywood manufacturing.

Replacing traditional urea formaldehyde (UF) hardwood plywood construction with non-toxic, soy-based PureBond enables Columbia to eliminate any added formaldehyde from standard veneer-core and non-UF composite hardwood plywood core panels. That's great news for our employees, our customers and the air we all breathe.


There are so many choices when it comes to Pure Bond. Any shade or kind of hardwood is available to make beautiful cabinets and furniture. Upon request, it can be made with Forest Stewardship Council™ (FSC) Certified materials. This is a great option, but it should be standard, in my opinion, for all Pure Bond products.

Columbia Forest Products also makes really cute PlyPrints from their PureBond using the graphics of Alexander Girard (1907 - 1993).


Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy