February 29, 2012

Perfect for Homeschool, Homework, or the Classroom: Kleenslate Dry Erase Paddles and Markers

kleenslate.jpg
As an educator, I like using dry erase boards. They save on paper, and children think it is fun to hold up their answers.

KLEENSLATE CONCEPTS LLC. PADDLES KWIK CHEK II CLASSROOM KIT 12/SET makes it easy to incorporate this fun technique into your home or classroom.

Teachers and trainers find this award winning two-sided dry erase paddle "engaging, easy to clean and store, and great for active learning". It's lightweight and perfect in size for both young students and adults. Packaged with markers and erasers for "out of the box" convenience and comes in its own storage box. - The Kwik Chek™ II is an award-winning All-in-One hand-held white board and dry erase marker / eraser combination. - EZ pen storage-Right in the handle! - Clean up stubborn marks with water, few drops of dish soap and a soft cloth - Support a wide variety of interactive and fun learning applications and - receive quick and effective assessments - Saves paper - No grading - Affordable - Reusable

Each Kwik Chek™ Classroom Set comes in its own storage box complete with 12 hand-held white boards, 12 Low Odor/Non Toxic KleenSlate dry-erase markers with KleenSlate attachable Erasers.

I like how some of these patterns have grids and some have lines. This is helpful for math and writing.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 27, 2012

Grow the Healthiest Vegetables this Year!

Screen shot 2012-02-25 at 8.21.49 AM.png

It almost time to plant seeds. Homegrown vegetables and fruits are more nutritious than those found in the grocery store.

Burpees new BOOST line of seeds and plants are designed to pack in flavor and nutrition.

To your health. Our experts have selected six of our most nutritious and delicious vegetables--for a harvest of health-giving flavor. Burpee's BOOST collection includes six vegetables, each "best-in-class" for taste and nutritional oomph.
  • Tomato 'Solar Power Hybrid'
  • Pepper 'Sweet Heat Hybrid'
  • Tomato 'Power Pops Hybrid'
  • Lettuce 'Healing Hands Salad Mix'
  • Tomato 'Cherry Punch Hybrid'
  • Cucumber 'Gold Standard Hybrid'
I haven't sprouted these seeds yet, so I don't know how well they grow. In general, I try to buy seeds that are organic and collected closer to home to be better climatized for my garden. Burpee seeds come from Pennsylvania.
 

Most of these seeds are hybrids, which means you won't be able to collect your own seeds from the plants for next year's garden.

I do like how the collection contains 20 seeds of each variety, as a normal seed packet contains too many seeds for one season of personal gardening, and germination rates decline as seeds age.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 24, 2012

Natural Energy From Essential Oils

boom_boom.jpg
Need energy? Boom.Boom gives you "energy you inhale". Just shake, then inhale the essential oils. Each inhaler lasts two weeks after opening.

Product Features

  • Energy inhaler works fast

  • Blast of intense refreshment

  • Boosts energy & improves focus

  • All-natural & non-addictive

We were sent the following flavors of Boom.Boom to try:

I don't know how I feel about using an energy inhaler, as I am pretty particular about scents. It is a convenient little package to keep in your purse or pocket, but I prefer Emergen-C when I need a little pick me up.

This product is made in China.
 

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Religion and Climate Change: The Space Between Church and Not-Church

space_Between.jpg
People are passionate about their spiritual beliefs, and people are passionate about climate change (naysayers and believers alike). Often, these two topics collide, as Biblical beliefs in human dominion over the Earth are used to justify the rampant destruction of the planet. It doesn't have to be so, and many churches are actually embracing the connectedness between solving climate change and spirituality.

The Space Between Church and Not-Church: A Sacramental Vision for the Healing of Our Planet by Caroline S. Fairless explores just how we can "awaken our hearts to the needs of our imperiled planet":

Healing our planet is a relational and spirit-centered process, requiring humans to reclaim our appropriate place among the earth community, intrinsic to the integrity of the whole. This book invites readers to release the human-centered biblical justifications of dominion and rule for the sake of a natural web morality, insisting on the sacramental nature of all life. The process awakens our hearts to the needs of our imperiled planet and calls us to servant action from our place within the biotic community.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 22, 2012

Gluten and Corn Free Chips by Beanfields

beanfields.jpg
If you are allergic to gluten and/or corn but still desire a sturdy chip that goes with salsa, Beanfields unique bean and rice chips are made just for you.

One taste and you will rejoice knowing you have found a delicious alternative to the empty calorie snacks that fill the snack aisle. Beanfields Snacks are farmed and made in the USA. They are gluten-free, cholesterol-free, trans fat-free, preservative-free and free of every one of the FDA's eight most common ingredients that trigger food allergies.

Beanfields is a family owned company and values shape everything we do. We use
"kinder prosperity" to express our commitment to help update food and business practices.

A percentage of our profits are committed to profit-sharing with employees and stakeholders, and contributed to non-profit efforts to help farmers grow healthier, more sustainable crops.


From crops grown in the USA from non-GMO sources, these unique chips are a complete source of protein. We tried out the following flavors:

These chips would be better if they were made from organically grown ingredients.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 21, 2012

Use Natural Enzymes to Remove Stains and Odors from Kids 'N' Pets

41pE55SBxzL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
We have a new puppy, and you know what that means! Cleaning up pet accidents can be a pain, and the smell can be difficult to remove from carpeting and fabric.

KIDS N PETS Stain & Odor Remover uses natural enzymes to work on an huge array of stains and odors. From skunk odors to red wine, this is the only stain and odor remover you will need.

Product Features
  • Guaranteed to completely eliminate urine odors with no cover up scents or perfumes
  • Discourages pet re-soiling by permanently eliminating urine stains and urine odors
  • Can be safely used on any water-safe surface such as carpets, upholstery, mattresses, clothing, auto upholstery and more
  • Safe, non-toxic and biodegradable formula can be safely used around children and pets
  • Exclusively recommended and endorsed by Animal Planet Pet Video in their series "Training Your Adopted Dog" and "Training Your Cat"
I really do need an effective stain remover for my children's laundry. I hate it when their new clothes start to look dirty just because they like to play outside.

 
Diaper blowouts, cat pee, puke, muddy dog paw prints, bird poop, and messy eating rituals... KIDS 'N' PETS Stain and Odor Remover can remove all these. With non-toxic ingredients (yep, ingestion just causes a little gas) this is one eco-cleaning product that really works. It eliminates the toughest everyday stains and odors completely (did we mention cat pee?) with no masking scents.

This product really does have so many purposes, and it is very affordable. It is made in the USA. It does contain Ordenone, which is "natural".  I am not familiar with this ingredient.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 20, 2012

15 Minutes of Exercise is All it Takes to Find the Fountain of Youth

Fountain of Youth Exercises.jpg
Do you have 15 minutes to spare each day in exchange for clarity, energy, health, and youth? Fountain of Youth Exercises: For Vitality, Radiance, Joy & Fulfillment in Fifteen Minutes by Noami Sophia Call provides simple instructions with step by step photographs of a routines that will help you achieve and maintain health and radiance as you age.

Drawing upon the ancient wisdom of Tibetan monks, yoga practitioners, and indigenous people, this manual for youthful living is an informative guide for inspiring those approaching, or in the second half of life to feel and look great. A combination of do-in--an ancient technique of self-massage that strengthens the chi and circulation and warms the body from the inside out--yoga poses, and breathing exercises, this program offers a simple approach that can be done in the comfort of the home. An immediate understanding of how to breathe will help practitioners live in a more conscious and efficient way, and the poses will build confidence for a healthier, longer life. A well-researched study, that also embodies the importance of nutrition and our lifestyle, this is an invaluable tool for nourishing our inner and outer radiance.

The photographs feature older men and women, and some even show modifications using chairs. These exercises are perfect for anyone of any age. 

 
Call is also the author of Yoga in Bed.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 17, 2012

Healthy Skin and Hair: John Masters Organic 100% Argan Oil

John_masters_argan.jpg
After discovering the great benefits of using Tamanu oil, I decided to try another beauty "miracle oil".

I currently use John Masters Organics 100% Argan Oil on my damp, towel dried hair after showing. The oil gives my hair shine and softness. I also use it on my scalp when seborrhiec dermatitis flares up.

John Masters 100% Argan Oil is beneficial for both hair and skin - this oil helps to retain moisture, improve elasticity and soften hair and skin, while also adding instant sparkle and shine. It's excellent for taming frizzy hair and mending split ends, and when applied to skin it helps reduce the appearance of wrinkles, fine lines and blemishes.

Argan oil comes from the Argan tree that is native to Morocco. According to Wikipedia, "All argan sold today is produced by a women's cooperative that shares the profits among the local women of the Berber tribe."

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 16, 2012

Gaiam and Discovery Channel Partner for the Amazing Earth Collection DVD

Amazing_EARth.jpg
We live on an amazing planet! Thankfully, photographers can capture habitats most of us will never see in person. The Amazing Earth Collection is a collection of four programs.

Mysterious, fragile and remarkable - this is your Amazing Earth. The Amazing Earth Collection is a spectacular journey - a collection of four episodes that will take you places no one has seen, and offer experiences that can only be imagined. See the violent upheavals of the Earth's geography - travel from the highest peaks to the red-hot center of the planet. Crawl into spectacular caves - including terrain on which no human has ever tread. Face the extremes the future could hold - from a vanishing rainforest to the eye of a hurricane. Meet the visionaries -- pioneers who work to shape a better future and make saving the planet a viable, even profitable venture.

I find the ads for the Military Channel in the beginning very annoying, but it is worth the wait for the incredible cinematography.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 15, 2012

Uniquely Shaped Lip Balm by Elle Naturals

elle_mango_butter_lime.jpg
One thing that has never changed, as far as I know, is the shape of lip balm. Manufactured in Austin, Texas, Elle Naturals has changed all that! Not only is the shape unique, so are some of the flavors:

Our lip balms are crafted from some of nature's purest ingredients known for their moisturizing and healing properties. We currently manufacture 9 different varieties;

  • Acai Butter with Raspberry
  • Coffee Butter-Vanilla Latte
  • Coffee Butter-French Vanilla
  • Green Tea Butter-Lemon
  • Green Tea Butter-Peppermint
  • Mango Butter-Coconut
  • Mango Butter-Lime
  • Shea Butter-Grapefruit
  • Shea Butter-Natural
They do use palm oil, which does concern me as the Rainforest Action Network states it is "an ingredient that causes the destruction of irreplaceable rainforests and threatens the survival of humankind's closest relative, orangutans."

 Many of these flavors are so yummy, they make me want to lick my lips, which we all know leads to more dry lips. I prefer lip balms that don't smell like food.

The texture and consistency of these lip balms is very nice, as it does stay in place and last to hydrate dry winter lips.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy