January 30, 2012

National Geographic Books: Visions of Earth

visons_of_Earth.jpg
We love National Geographic books! Visions of Earth: Beauty, Majesty, Wonder (National Geographic) upholds the same standards of excellent photography you've come to expect from Nat. Geo.:

Visions of Earth raises a curtain on the wonders of the world and thrills us with nature's opulence and humanity's splendor. Each image alone exposes a nugget of our planet's magnificence; the totality of the collection goes beyond our imagination. Turning the pages, viewers are struck by the richness of life on Earth. One photograph is more awe-inspiring than the next--chosen by veteran National Geographic magazine photo editors to present what is visually incredible. The photographs are drawn from the popular "Visions of Earth" feature in the magazine, (rated Number 1 by readers), from our own storied Image Collection, and from renowned photographers throughout the world, many never-before published.

Enthralling images fill the book in a gallery of stunning landscapes, fascinating people, amazing animals, and unexpected glimpses of the usual and unusual. Puffins' beaks signal breeding time in Norway and a speckled emperor moth in South Africa diverts predators with an illusion. An elephant takes a morning dip in India's Andaman Sea while Siamese crocodiles race in Thailand and surfers in Australia relish a perfect day. Monks in Bhutan run to dinner and a little girl in red stands out among white-robed women in an Indonesian mosque. Spanish youth decked in colorful, oversize papier-mâché heads celebrate a festival in Catalonia and a flower of flame blooms from a man's kerosene-filled mouth in a Sikh celebration in India.


At first, I wondered why people were included in the photographs, as the title to me implies visions of the environment, but people are part of the environment. We live on Earth and have the greater impact on the planet more than any other species.

As mentioned with previous reviews of National Geographic books, it does not appear this book is made with FSC paper or recycled content; however, the National Geographic Society's mission does include conservation and their Green Guide is a great resource.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 27, 2012

Repurpose Insulated Compostable Coffee Cups Made with Ingeo

homePic1.png
Ingeo is making its way into many products these days. From baby wipes to compostable cups, ingeo is replacing petroleum-based materials.

Repurpose Compostables offers a great solution to styrofoam and other disposable coffee cups:


The insulated technology keeps hot beverages warmer for longer, and prevents heat from escaping the cup, protecting the user and creating a more comfortable feel with only one product. The revolutionary new insulated cup requires no sleeve, uses 65% less CO2 than a traditional cup to produce, and can be composted in 90 days. The insulated cup uses FSC-Certified paper, the highest standard for sustainable forestry. Traditional insulated cups are made by adding additional layers of paper; however, the Repurpose insulated cup does the same with our patented insulation material on a single wall cup. This high quality food service product finally offers the greenest possible alternative to Styrofoam and non-compostable insulated cups.

Of course, using a reusable coffee cup is the greenest solution for your hot beverages. My favorite one is the Klean Kanteen Coffee Set Wide Mouth Insulated Bottle.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 26, 2012

Scotties Facial Tissues: "We Plant 3 Trees for Every 1 We Use"

Screen shot 2012-01-26 at 8.01.01 AM.png
I always am wary when I see mainstream corporations make green claims, but at the same time I commend their efforts. Greenwashing is a marketing trend, and the cynic in me tends to support smaller companies that have always been green, like Seventh Generation, especially when it comes to paper products. Considering Kleenex logged old growth forests to make facial tissues, Scotties is combating this negative action with their own plan to plant three trees for every one they use making their facial tissues.

WHAT MAKES SCOTTIES LIKE NO OTHER?

  • Scotties combines a unique brand promise to plant 3 trees for every 1 used with the long-standing history of its parent company, J.D. Irving, Limited.
  •  Scotties communicates on every box its commitment to plant 3 trees for every 1 used in making its softest ever tissues and uses 3rd party auditing to ensure compliance
  • Scotties Softest Ever tissues are chain of custody certified through the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI). To learn more visit www.sfiprogram.org.
  • Scotties is the only major U.S. facial tissue to be linked with the Responsible Forest Project (RFP).
  • Scotties has partnered with American Forests to create SCOTTIES RELEAF U.S.A. and TREES ROCK in an effort to promote our urban tree planting initiatives in the United States.
  • J.D. Irving has planted over 800 million trees in the last 50 years.

Of course, the greenest way to deal with that runny nose is to use washable Reusable Organic Cotton Handkerchiefs.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 25, 2012

StepAhead: Sustainable Carpet Cushioning Made From Nike Grind Shoe Scrap

Screen shot 2012-01-25 at 12.40.01 PM.png
Carpet cushioning is one of those things you don't see, but you sure do feel. It only makes sense that it be made from recycled content, and what better content to use than athletic shoes!

StepAhead Carpet Cushion is made with Nike Grind.

* The process of transforming Nike Grind scrap into the StepAhead products helps keeps 67,000 tons of air pollutants from being released - saving more than 675 million gallons of water. * There is the equivalent of three shoes in every square foot of StepAhead and approximately four million pounds of Nike Grind will be used each year to produce StepAhead. * Not only is this material better for the environment, it's better for your carpet - each 30-square-yard roll is supported by a lifetime warranty.
We were sent a small sample of this product, and it has a nice, springy texture. It is available at the Home Depot.

 

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 24, 2012

Pong Smartphone and iPad Cases Protect Against Electromagnetic Radiation

Pong1.jpgWe all have heard about how radiation from cell phones and tablets is dangerous, especially for children. Healthy Child Healthy World writes:


Despite studies like the one published last week inElectromagnetic Biology and Medicine, which found kids' brains absorb twice as much cell phone radiation as adults, the FCC continues to insist that "currently no scientific evidence establishes a causal link between wireless device use and cancer or other illnesses," according to the websiteFair Warning...

Of course we're going to lag, when the cell phone industry fights any awareness tooth and nail. According to CBC News, after the city of San Francisco passed a requirement last week for cell phone retailers to warn customers about limiting their exposure to radiation, the trade group representing cell phone companies filed a lawsuit in federal court, citing the new law violates the companies' First Amendment Rights of freedom of speech.

Pong cases help protect you from radiation! We were sent the following two products:

Your cell phone emits a powerful form of microwave energy called electromagnetic radiation (EMR). Since the long term health effects of exposure to microwave EMR are unknown, most consumers desire to avoid unnecessary exposure.

Yet consumers also want a powerful cell phone with maximum signal strength reflected by the number of "bars" on their phones. Did you know that the signal stregnth of your phone is related to the magnitude or intensity of the EMR which it produces and receives? - The lower the signal strength, the greater the intensity of EMR emitted by your phone. Pong devices are uniquely designed to solve this dilemma for consumers.

Pong not only protects you from unnecessary exposure to EMR, but also optimizes your cell phone's signal strength.


These are very sturdy cases that fit well, and I feel better letting my children use our smart devices knowing that there is some radiation protection from Pong.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 23, 2012

Organic SoyGo Soy Creamer Packets: Vegan, Travel-Size, Non-GMO

soygo.jpg
If you are a vegan coffee drinker, it can be hard when traveling to find soy creamer.
SoyGo Soy Creamer comes in handy packets you can throw in your purse or bag.

For soy lovers on the go! It's hard being on the road or simply out-and-about when you want that cup of coffee or tea and a vegan creamer isn't available. Well, this is no longer the case! This new travel-sized creamer from SoyGo, made with the finest Organic Gold 1000 soy powder, is delicious and creamy, and contains no GMOs, lactose, or artificial ingredients. Each packet also contains one gram of fiber and one gram of protein. You're sure to love it as much as we do. Just grab a packet and hit the road!

Ingredients: Non-GMO soy powder, sugar, color added (natural mineral titanium dioxide), inulin, xanthan gum, vegan natural flavors (inc French vanilla), dipotassium phosphate, salt.


I'm a soy latte drinker. Soy powder won't cut it in espresso, but I can see how coffee drinkers would like this product.

Dipotassium phosphate is a food additive that is also found in fertilizer. WebMd states:

Regular long-term use can upset the balance of phosphates and other chemicals in the body and should be monitored by a healthcare professional to avoid serious side effects. Phosphate salts can irritate the digestive tract and cause stomach upset, diarrhea, constipation, and other problems.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 21, 2012

Joulebody Detoxifying Bars: A Whole Meal; A Whole Cleanse

joulebody1.jpg
Need to detox? The truth is, we all do. Joulebody makes it easy with their detoxifying bars.

Joulebody Detoxifying Bar - Brownie
Joulebody Detoxifying Blondie - Ginger
Joulebody Detoxifying Bar-Cacao Mint

We set out to provide our clients with a convenient, nourishing cleanse program that is portable and not just juices. That is why we worked for three years to make a bar that was both delicious and nutritious offering detoxifying ingredients.


BENEFITS

All bars offer ingredients that have been scientifically studied to help heal our main digestive organs. By adding our very own JOULECLEANSE Mix, your body receives valuable nutrients from ingredients that are plant based, gluten, wheat, nut, and dairy free.


These bars are not organic, but they are all natural. Considering the expensive ingredients they contain, they are realistically priced at $4.50.

The detox ingredients in these bars are cayenne, dandelion, tumeric, and fennel. Each bar contains:


  • 8-9 grams of plant-based protein

  • 7-9 grams of fiber

  • 4 grams of omega 3 and omega 6

I don't know if I can be satisfied eating just a bar for a meal, but these are definitely healthy snacks!

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 19, 2012

Zarbees All Natural Childrens Cough Syrup

zarbees.jpg Honey is very soothing on sore or scratchy throats. Zarbees Childrens Cough Syrup is designed for children over 12 months because of the honey factor.

As a pediatrician and a father, Dr. Zak Zarbock found it frustrating when he wasn't able to offer any relief for his young patients with a cough. So, he set out to create a safe, effective and natural remedy that he could feel good about recommending. Dr. Zarbock's research led him to the amazing benefits of honey with its natural cough suppressing and immune boosting power.
 Made with a unique blend of antioxidant-rich dark honeys, and fortified with Vitamin C and Zinc, ZarBee's Cough Syrup is a proven and safe solution to naturally soothe your child's cough.

Why Honey?
Honey has been used as a safe remedy for ages. With its special blend of antioxidant-rich dark honeys (buckwheat & wildflower), Vitamin C and other unique all-natural ingredients, ZarBee's Cough Syrup is an effective remedy to calm coughs and take the sting out of sore throats.

Our All-Natural Formula is:
Gluten, dye & preservative-free
Safe and natural - contains no drugs or alcohol

My daughter tried this cough syrup and said it was good but a little bit bitter. She said it worked immediately and soothed her scratchy throat. My son tried it and did not like it.

It pleases me to see a pediatrician developing and recommending honey-based products for sore throats.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 18, 2012

De Odor Works: Medical Grade Stainless Steel Natural Deodorant Alternative

de-odor-works.jpg
Body order is caused by bacteria. We use many products to try and eliminate it, especially under our arms, and many natural products require frequent applications to be somewhat effective.

De Odor Works - Natural Deodorant Alternative uses medical grade stainless steel activated under running water to eliminate body odor.

Although perspiration by itself is odorless, micro-organisms that cause odor thrive in the damp or moist environments created by sweat. The underarms, groin and feet are particular problem areas for these types of organisms. Odor causing bacteria are not easily removed from the skin. Regular washing with soap and water does not eliminate this bacteria and commercial deodorant products only mask the odor. But using De Odor Works on problem areas for just 30 seconds in the shower actually removes body odor and it keeps it from coming back: all day, every day. De Odor Works has a US patent pending.

It can be used on any part of your body, not just the underarms!

The company also makes WaterWorks Natural Vaginal Cleansing System out of stainless steel for feminine hygiene without harsh chemicals.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 17, 2012

Globalization of Water: Sharing the Planet's Freshwater Resources

Globalization_of_water.jpg
We cannot survive without fresh, clean water, yet our global economy impacts far off places in ways we don't often imagine. Our cheap goods made abroad require water for manufacturing. Do we ever think about what this is doing to local ecosystems and communities?

Globalization of Water: Sharing the Planet's Freshwater Resources by Arjen Y. Hoekstra and Ashok K. Chapagain thoroughly explores the issues surrounding globalization and water.

Globalization of Water is a first-of-its-kind review of the critical relationship between globalization and sustainable water management. It explores the impact of international trade on local water depletion and pollution and identifies "water dependent" nations.

  • Examines the critical link between water management and international trade, considering how local water depletion and pollution are often closely tied to the structure of the global economy

  • Offers a consumer-based indicator of each nation's water use: the water footprint

  • Questions whether trade can enhance global water use efficiency, or whether it simply shifts the environmental burden to a distant location

  • Highlights the hidden link between national consumption and the use of water resources across the globe, identifying the threats facing 'water dependent' countries worldwide

  • Provides a state-of-the-art review and in-depth data source for a new field of knowledge


Parts of this book are very scientific with formulas and such that do not make for casual reading; however, much of the text is understandable to the lay person.

I like how the authors do not take a stance against or pro-globalization. Instead, they focus their energy on "the establishment of proper arrangements at the global level where national arrangements are not sufficient". We cannot stop globalization in its tracks, but we can work towards sustainable water management in conjunction with it.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy