January 16, 2012

Hydros Filtering Water Bottle Funds Sustainable Global Water Projects

hydros.jpg
Filtering tap water is the best alternative to bottled water. Using a water bottle with a built in filter ensures that anywhere you go, you can have clean drinking water from the tap.

Hydros Bottle - Filtering Water Bottle with a Social Mission not only provides a plastic, bpa-free water bottle with a filter for your thirst quenching pleasure, but part of the proceeds are used to fund sustainable global water projects.

Offering a convenient and cost-effective alternative to bottled water, Hydros Bottles can save consumers $400 per filter and help reduce the 60 million plastic bottles that find their way into landfills every single day. Each Hydros Bottle purchase makes it possible for Operation Hydros to build sustainable water infrastructure to aid the nearly one billion people worldwide who do not have access to clean, drinkable water. Every bottle sold provides clean water to one person in need for one whole year.
I would prefer a glass water bottle with a filter, but I haven't been able to find one.

 

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 13, 2012

The Amazing Mat Uses Same NASA Anti-bacterial Adhesive to Capture Dirt and Germs

Shoes transmit disease causing bacteria to enter our homes. Taking shoes off at the door is a good idea, but there still may be dirt and germs crossing the threshold. The Amazing Mat has a solution:

The Amazing Mat is not an ordinary rubber, fabric or grass door mat. It is constructed of separate layers of specially designed clear "sticky" sheets that collect dirt and germs when stepped on. When the top one gets dirty, simply peel it off (along with the dirt) and expose a new sheet. The mat is safe and easy to walk on for adults, children and pets.

The Amazing Mat is being marketed as "eco-friendly" because the throw away sheets can be recycled, as can the mat; however, anything product that has single use design, such as the tear away sheets, cannot be truly green. Personally, I think it would be hard to find a recycling center willing to accept the plastic sheets, and my country home would require constant removal of the sheets. The 30 sheets it comes with wouldn't last long.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

ArrowContinue reading: "The Amazing Mat Uses Same NASA Anti-bacterial Adhesive to Capture Dirt and Germs"

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 11, 2012

Really Natural Books: Rhythm of the Family

rhythm_of_family.jpg
The Rhythm of Family: Discovering a Sense of Wonder through the Seasons by Amanda Blake Soule and Stepehen Soule is a well-organized book that provides month-by-month, quality projects for the family. From recipes to crafts, each month's seasonal activities are beautifully photographed and described.

Many of us with busy families yearn for a slower and simpler life with our kids--one that is connected to the seasons and the natural rhythm of the year, one that has our children spending more time out of doors rather than in, one that balances out some of the busyness of our lives--the computers, the televisions, the cell phones--with a deeper connection to the Earth and an appreciation for and understanding of the natural world. The Rhythm of Family is a guide to living such a life for any family.

Following the course of a year through the passing of the seasons, this book explores the ways we can create deep family connections and meaningful memories through living in tune with the cycles of nature. From stomping around in mud boots in the spring to gathering around the woodstove in winter, our activities naturally change from season to season--from the rhythms of the seasons comes the rhythms in our homes, our hearts, our families, and our every day. Paying attention to these changes slows us down, inspires new types of creative play and exploration, instills a sense of family togetherness, and deepens an awareness of nature and self that can make our lives, days, family, and earth grow stronger.

The Rhythm of Family explores what we learn and can gain as parents and families by encouraging and experiencing creativity and nature exploration with our children, the seasons can provide us with a rhythm that brings us close to the earth, and closer to our children.


I really, really, really like this book and am inspired to try many of the activities with my family. For example for this month of January, the Soules suggest we make creamy potato soup, knit winter weather cowls, make frozen sun catchers, and plant herb seeds. Typically when I review books like this one, I find a handful of projects I would like to do; however with this book, I want to make them all with my children.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 10, 2012

Zhip: Hands Free Stand for Your iPhone

zhip.jpg
Other than coming in a "recyclable" package, there is nothing eco-friendly about this product that I can discern, yet it was sent to us, so I will review it.

The ZHIP Stand with 3 Feet of Retractable Zip Cord for iPhone, iPod and All Other Smartphones makes your gadget hands-free when needing to be mounted. Whether just propping your smartphone on a desk by using the kickstand or hanging off the back of a car seat for movie viewing, this polycarbonate holder fits iPhones, iPods, and other smartphones.

Product Features

  • On the plane, in the car, at the gym, in the kitchen, on the stroller... ANYWHERE!

  • Expands to fit iPhone, iPod touch, Droids and ALL OTHER SMARTPHONES

  • 100% MONEY-BACK GUARANTEE! Made of 100% super strong Polycarbonate.

  • Folds up to fit into any small pocket... be entertained anywhere. Have fun!


I could see this being useful in the kitchen, as I often look up recipes on the Epicurious app.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 9, 2012

Seamless, Soft Clothing for All Children

soft_clothing.jpg

We've all experienced the annoying, scratchy tag on our clothes that begs to be cut off. This is minor compared to what some children experience. As published in the American Journal of Occupational Therapy, Tomcheck and Dunn write:

Overresponsivity to tactile input also has been reported in the literature (Baranek, Foster, & Berkson, 1997; Cesaroni & Garber, 1991; Grandin, 1995). In firsthand accounts, touch has been described as an intense feeling that can be overwhelming and confusing (Cesaroni & Garber, 1991). Grandin (1995) noted that certain clothing textures could make her extremely anxious, distracted, and fidgety. Children with higher levels of tactile hypersensitivity in one study also were more likely to display inflexible behaviors, repetitive verbalizations, visual stereotypies, and abnormal focused attention (Baranek et al., 1997).
Soft Clothing for All Children has a solution for those that suffer from sensory issues, as well as typical children who just want soft clothing.
 

We were sent the the Soft Sensory Tee:

Perfect for children with tactile sensitivity, this is a reinvention of the classic T shirt. Now with special adaptations for comfort and style--for extra sensitive dressers. Made with 100% Soft cotton, constructed with flat seaming (for a seamless feel), a flat, wide fit bound collar (to prevent pulling at the collar), printed label and care info (tagless), and a classic t-shirt silhouette. Not too boxy, not too tight. Tested with children with sensory sensitivity. Colored with natural and enzyme washed for an extra soft finish. (UNISEX)

The only way this shirt would be better is if it was made from organically grown cotton. I am also not sure why it requires gentle cycle laundering.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 6, 2012

Really Natural Beauty: Jason's Nourishing Apricot Pure Natural Deodorant Stick

jason_apricot.jpg
Apricot is my favorite scent for deodorant! It may seem like an odd scent to put under your arms, but it is gentle enough and sweet enough that it works.

Jason Apricot Deodorant Stick is affordable and does not contain aluminum, which has been suspected of causing breast cancer.


Long-Lasting Protection. Especially Gentle Formula. Natural Ingredients

This natural deodorant is gentle, safe and delivers long-lasting protection. JASON Apricot Deodorant Stick is formulated without Aluminum Chlorohydrate. Formulated with Apricot Oil, Vitamin E, Shea Butter and Certified Organic Corn Starch, this deodorant delivers soothing freshness.

No Propylene Glycol. No Mineral Oil. No Animal By- Products. No Animal Testing. No Synthetic Fragrance.


Ingredients: Cyclomethicone,Corn Starch Octyl Palmitate, Sodium Bicarbonate, stearyl Alcohol, Tribehenin, Candelilla Wax, Shea Butter, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Sunflower Oil, Zinc Ricinoleate, Soyethyl Morpholinium Ethosulfate, Silica, Apricot Oil,Vitamin E,Alpha-Bisabolol,Essential oil blend.Certified Organic.


The Environmental Working Group has given this product a hazard score of four.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 5, 2012

Australian Gold Face Guard SPF 50 Stick: Water Resistant and Oil Free

australian_gold.jpg
My son will only use a sunscreen stick, and for winter sports, such as skiing, tossing a sunscreen stick in your pocket is much easier than a whole bottle.

Australian Gold Australian Gold Face Guard SPF 50 Plus provides lasting protection and won't sting your eyes, yet the company has received relatively high hazard scores from the Environmental Working Group (EWG). Although this specific product has not been evaluated by EWG, other Australian Gold products range from five to eight in their hazard scores.

There are other sunscreens that may be safer to use.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 4, 2012

Natural Health Magazine: Feel Good >> Look Good >> Do Good

natural_health.jpg
I admit I am much of a magazine reader, but the periodical bite size information in Natural Health could change that, at least for an issue or two. From strength training to natural beauty, this magazine makes it easy for natural health to be mainstream.

This magazine serves as a practical guide to good health. Each issue includes information on naturally-oriented food and nutrition, alternative health practices, exercise and self-care. Natural Health focuses on the mind/body connection, illustrated exercise, preventative medicine, healthy cuisines, creating a healthy lifestyle in the home and office and consumer guides to natural products.

I don't think this magazine is for the hard core green, health conscious individual, but it offers good sound advice for those beginning their journey towards natural health.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 3, 2012

100% Natural Planet Dog Eats: Tartar Control and Yumminess in Every Treat

Chicken-PotPie-Treats_sm.png
We love Planet Dog toys, but the truth is, my dogs prefer treats to toys any day! Planet Dog Eats is a line of treats that are wheat, corn, and soy free. They come in two flavors:


  1. Planet Dog eats - Chicken & Pumpkin Pot Pie

  2. Planet Dog eats - P B & J


New bakery, new flavors, same yum. Made by our new baking partner, Polka Dog Bakery...100% natural and helps to supports digestion. Wheat, corn and soy free. No wheat gluten.

My dog gave these treats a four paws up! They are small in size, but he didn't seem to mind. In fact, he followed me whining for more.

The only way these treats could be better is if they were made from organically grown ingredients.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 30, 2011

Really Natural Eating: Wildly Affordable Organic

wildly_affordable_organic.jpg
Wildly Affordable Organic: Eat Fabulous Food, Get Healthy, and Save the Planet--All on $5 a Day or Less by Linda Watson debunks all myths that healthy and organic eating is expensive compared to processed food. With 100 recipes and sample menus, Linda shows you simple, cheap, and delicious it can be.

Linda Watson, the founder of CookforGood.com, created her wildly affordable cooking plans after being inspired by a national challenge to eat on a food-stamp budget. She credits her background in project management helping her to not just survive but thrive on just a dollar a meal per person...

If you've wanted to eat like it matters but felt you couldn't afford it, Wildly Affordable Organic is for you. It's easy to think that "organic" is a code word for "expensive," but it doesn't have to be. With these ingenious cooking plans and healthy, satisfying recipes, Linda Watson reveals the incredible secret of how you can eat well every day--from blueberry pancakes for breakfast to peach pie for dessert--averaging less than two dollars a meal.

Get ready for wild savings! You'll discover how to:

• Ease your family into a greener lifestyle with the 20-minute starter plan

• Go organic on just $5 a day--or go thrifty and spend even less

• Take advantage of your freezer and freeze your costs

• Find the best deals at your local farmers' market or grocery store

• Cook easy, scrumptious, seasonal dishes from scratch


I like how Linda arranges her menus based on seasons, as it only makes sense that seasonal food will be cheaper than out of season food that has been shipped from different climates. It is also fresher and better for your health and the planet.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy