December 15, 2011

Really Natural Skin Care: We LOVE EO!

Screen shot 2011-12-11 at 9.20.30 AM.png
EO is my go to brand for skin care, and I have converted many a family member to switch to the company's hand soap. Paraben free, polysorbate free, disodium EDTA free, sodium laureth/lauryl sulfate free, and post consumer resin bottle, I feel safe using these products on my children's skin. In fact, it was my son's allergy to SLS that caused me to discover EO.

We were sent the following EO products to try:
EO Liquid Hand Soap French Lavender


  • Made with unique combinations of pure essential oils and nourishing herbal blends to effectively cleanse without drying your hands.

  • Our Coconut Cleansing Complex creates the gentlest, most effective and richly foaming soaps available. We do not use irritating sodium lauryl or laureth sulfates

  • Our Organic Herbal Blend is soothing and healing

  • Naturally antiseptic

  • Calming & Relaxing


EO Body Lotion Grapefruit & Mint
Nourishing and moisturizing with pure essential oils, mango seed butter and Vitamins A and E. Our Grapefruit Essential Oil is cold pressed from the skin of the fruit to preserve the refreshing, citrusy aroma. We blend it with Peppermint Essential Oil to stimulate the senses and promote mental clarity. From the tropical orchards of Florida to the lush Willamette Valley in Oregon, we source the highest quality ingredients from the regions where they thrive naturally. Pure Grapefruit Essential Oil has a sweet and uplifting aroma. Peppermint Essential Oil is revitalizing and refreshing. Our Organic Herbal Blend is formulated to soothe and heal dry, irritated skin. Nourishing Mango Seed Butter replenishes the skin's moisture and provides a protective barrier from external elements. Antioxidants Vitamin A and E aid in tissue repair and improve skin elasticity. Absorbs quickly for softer, silkier skin. Use as an all-over body treatment to nourish your skin and awaken your senses. Breath. Believe. Receive. Made in the USA.

EO Everyone Soap
A natural plant based soap made with pure essential oils, gentle and fragrant, a perfect shower, bath and shampoo for the whole family.

I like the new Everyone soap, in that it is so versatile.  A three-in-one (bath, body, hair) product safe for the littlest to the oldest in your family. Plus, it comes in three great flavors: lavender + aloe, coconut + lemon, and citrus + mint.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 14, 2011

National Geographic Books Make Great Gifts: The Big Idea

big_idea.jpg
National Geographic books are always well done, and of course, the imagery is spectacular. The Big Idea: How Breakthroughs of the Past Shape the Future is set up in a timeline to show the progression of "Big Ideas" through time and beyond.
The Big Ideas are:


  • Information & Communication

  • Health & Medicine

  • Physics & the Cosmos

  • Chemistry & Materials

  • Biology & Environment

  • Transportation & Space Exploration


From the Pythagorean theorem to DNA's double helix, from the discovery of microscopic life-forms to the theory of relativity--the big ideas of science and technology shape an era's worldview. Open this book, grasp the newest ideas from thought leaders of today, then spring off from them to move back through the past, one big idea at a time. Meet the people who gave birth to these ideas--and those who fought against them. Meet the MIT electrical engineer currently developing a way to turn on the lights cordlessly, then move back through Nikola Tesla's visionary concept of the wireless transfer of energy, Thomas Edison's groundbreaking work in developing a nationwide electrical grid, Ben Franklin's experiments to capture electricity, all the way back to ancient Greece, where Thales of Miletus described static electricity as a property of naturally occurring amber.

As with other National Geographic books we have reviewed, there is nothing eco-friendly about this book other than the work National Geographic does as a society. I would really like to see the company move towards using recycled materials in their books. 


Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 13, 2011

Really Natural Beauty Secrets: John Masters Organic Lavender and Avocado Intensive Conditioner

john_masters.jpg
Shhhhh! I'm giving away natural beauty secrets!

I love John Masters Organics Hair products. I first got hooked with John Masters Organic Lavender and Avocado Intensive Conditioner. This rich conditioner is just what my long hair needs. My hair can be dry on the ends but oily on top, and it just drinks up John's conditioner.

Lavender and avocado oil are combined with over 10 certified-organic plant extracts and oils to bring intense moisture and vitality to dry hair. Hair is left shiny, soft and luxurious. Wonderful, light lavender scent. Safe for color-treated hair. 7 fl oz.

Made with 12 certified-organic ingredients

• lavender oil- slows hair loss; treats eczema and dermatitis on the scalp
• avocado oil - moisturizes and conditions the hair
• soy protein - strengthens hair follicles; makes hair look thicker and fuller, improves shine
• white tea - detoxifies hair and scalp
• arnica - hydrates scalp; stimulates hair growth

John's products rank from two to four on the Environmental Working Group's Skin Deep cosmetic database. Not only are these products safe and effective, I would rather support businesses like John Masters over major corporations like Aveda any day!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 12, 2011

Natural Laundry Care: Roux Maison Stain Remover

roux_maison.jpg
This holiday season, there is sure to be a little too much cheer that needs cleaning up. Roux Maison Stain Remover has got your spills covered naturally.

Stains happen to the best of us and Roux Maison Stain Remover is the perfect product to treat them. It effectively treats and removes many different types of common and not-so-common stains that are both organic and inorganic. Roux Maison Stain Remover is specifically designed to work in conjunction with all of our detergents.

For best results: Apply directly to the stain as soon as possible and allow it to soak into the affected area for 15-20 minutes. Test on an inside seam if unsure whether appropriate for certain fabrics. Not recommended for wool, silk or many delicates. Follow with the appropriate Roux Maison detergent and launder as usual. If stain persists, repeat process prior to heat drying.


  • Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS) Free

  • Sodium Lauryl Ether Sulfate (SLES) Free

  • Formaldehyde Free

  • Pthalate Free

  • 1,4 Dioxane Free

  • Paraben Free

  • Phosphate Free

  • Readily Biodegradable

  • Optical Brightener Free

  • Neutral pH

  • Not A Marine Pollutant

  • No Harmful Chemical Residue

  • No Animal Testing

  • Vegan

  • No Genetically Modified (GMO) Ingredients

  • Safe for Sensitive Skin

  • Ingredients Classified as Non-Hazardous

  • Safe for Septic Tanks


Made in the USA, this is a great solution to more toxic stain removers.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 9, 2011

Gifts for Women: Ford's Warriors in Pink

WIP1115.jpg
Breast Cancer Awareness Month is behind us, but for those suffering from the loss or the disease, every month is a constant reminder. Ford has donated $3,063,453.00 so far through their Warriors in Pink program. We were sent the following items from the Warriors in Pink store:

Power of Pink Hoodie

This contemporary waffle-weave zip-up hoodie in a bright pink adds color to any closet. Great as a gift or a little treat for yourself.

100% of net proceeds ($24.10 each) goes to Susan G. Komen for the Cure®.


Sweet Dreams PJ Pants
Catch your ZZZZs Warrior-style and count symbols not sheep. Cotton and cuddly, these pajama pants have a drawstring waist for extra comfort.

100% of net proceeds ($11.50 each) goes to Susan G. Komen for the Cure®.


Warrior Power T-Shirt
Bold color matches the determination of the Warrior. This resilient 100% cotton tee is satin garment washed for a supersoft feel.

100% of net proceeds ($11.56 each) goes to Susan G. Komen for the Cure®.


Warrior Sun Hat
There are two sides to every hat - or at least there should be. Have twice the fun with this reversible sun hat. Perfect for UV protection during your favorite outdoor activities. Hand wash cold, reshape to air dry.

100% of net proceeds ($15.05 each) goes to Susan G. Komen for the Cure®.


2011 Warrior Tie
Get down to the business of helping to find a cure with the 2011 Warriors in Pink® necktie. Whether worn for business or leisure, this tie will let everyone know where your heart is.

100% of net proceeds ($16.75 each) goes to Susan G. Komen for the Cure®.


I really like how Ford discloses exactly how much is donated to the cause for each item; however, I am concerned that Susan G. Komen has been accused of pinkwashing.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 8, 2011

Gifts for the Allergic or Diabetic Child: Even Princess and the Peanut & Even Superheroes Get Diabetes


Children's literature is a developmentally appropriate and fun way to educate about illness. Whether sharing with classmates and friends or individual children, we were sent two books that can help youngsters understand their potentially life-threatening health conditions.

 
The Princess and the Peanut by Sue Ganz-Schmitt is a very well done.  This delightful story is loosely based on the Princess and the Pea, only the pea is a peanut. Referring to several other fairy tales, this book not only informs but entertains children.

Every queen knows that in order to find out if a princess is REAL, one must send the "alleged" princess to bed on a magnificent pile of mattresses, slip in a pea, and see how she sleeps. But when the royal kitchen is fresh out peas, the queen tries a peanut instead. The princess turns out to be as real as her food allergies.

This vibrant and humorous tale inspires, and educates children with allergies, as well as those who live in, and around food sensitive kingdoms. Includes a food allergy guide for adults, and kid-friendly allergy definitions.

Even Superheroes Get Diabetes is also by Ganz-Schmitt. It is not as well done as the princess book, but that may just be my preference for fairy tales over comic books. I did learn a lot about diabetes from the book.

Even Superheroes Get Diabetes focuses on the gift within the illness. It is the story of a boy named Kelvin who loves Superheroes. His childhood days are spent in imaginative play--saving the day. One day, his fantasies are marred by the reality of getting diabetes...the incessant finger pricks, shots, and the constant doctor's appointments. When a mysterious doctor uncovers that Kelvin has superpowers, the story reveals itself as the genesis of a new kind of superhero. Kelvin is monikered 'Super K' and uses his superpowers to help other kids with diabetes. The discovery of Super K's superpowers is akin to the discovery of one's inner strength in the face of adversity--in the face of illness. The comic book style illustrations by Micah Chambers-Goldberg beautifully connect children and parents to the world of diabetes. The book includes a kid friendly diagram that explains type 1 diabetes, and definitions that discuss both type 1 and type 2 diabetes.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 7, 2011

Really Natural Books: Thugs, Drugs and the War on Bugs: How the Natural Healthcare Revolution Will Lead Us Past Greed, Ego, and Scary Germs (Why Were Sick)

thugs_drugs_war_on_bugs.jpg
It's pretty much a common consensus that our health care industry needs to be overhauled. The fact that we even call it an industry alone should be signal. 


Dr. Brad Case in his book Really Natural Books: Thugs, Drugs and the War on Bugs: How the Natural Healthcare Revolution Will Lead Us Past Greed, Ego, and Scary Germs (Why Were Sick) writes a compelling argument that corporate money is causing medical treatment to be the number one killer in the United States. Corporate greed wants us to be sick.

Thugs, Drugs and the War on Bugs, How the Natural Healthcare Revolution Will Lead Us Past Greed, Ego, and Scary Germs, by Dr. Brad Case is a scathing expose on America's "Sick Care" industry. This well-referenced tome covers topics such as: the history of allopathic medicine and its continued reliance on dogma over science, despite considering themselves "scientific medicine"; the American Medical Association's longstanding and ongoing war on the competition: natural healthcare providers; the drugging and brainwashing of America; the FDA/Big Pharma collusion and other conflicts of interest affecting healthcare; the huge issue of "iatrogenesis" or doctor-caused illness and death; the fallacy of Louis Pasteur's germ theory, which is slowly being replaced by a "new" germ theory that's sure to surprise and will completely change how you look at germs; the overuse of antibiotics and how this practice has led to the development of antibiotic resistant "superbugs" (like MRSA) and yeast overgrowth; parasites: how to detect them and how to get rid of them; the controversy surrounding vaccines and whether or not they are responsible for autism; what to do if you decide you don't want your child vaccinated; the media-generated fear around the outbreaks and "epidemics" of bird flu, swine flu, and seasonal flu, and what you can do to protect yourself; and it challenges the entire HIV=AIDS theory. It also gives an entirely new theory on what viruses really are. But Thugs... is not all doom and gloom. Case describes what's wrong with our healthcare system in an engaging and even humorous way and then gives us common sense approaches to either work within the system or avoid it altogether. What's more, he references Western medicine's own journals, Big Pharma's internal memos, and other credible sources, many of which were acquired through the freedom of information act, to back each of his amazing claims. An outstanding book for doctors and patients alike.

Wow!

The section on vaccines and autism is very interesting and sure to cause renewed controversy. The "20 Steps to Perfect Health Checklist" makes perfect sense. The reality of this book is a hard pill to swallow, sort of like the reality of global warming; however, information is the first step to change and empowerment.  This book is rather radical, and of course medicine does save lives, my son's for example; however, Dr. Case makes some very valid points in his book. 

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Really Natural Beauty: Aubrey Organics!

aubreyrosamosqueta.jpg Aubrey Organics has a full line of skin and hair care products. Made with quality, natural ingredients, I have always loved Aubrey. We were sent the following products to try: Aubrey Organics Rosa Mosqueta & English Lavender Facial Toner
Ingredients: Aubrey's Herbal Base (Deionized Water, Natural Grain Alcohol, Witch Hazel [Natural Herbal Extract], Vegetable Glycerin the Following Whole Herbals: Organic German Camomile Flowers, Organic Calendula Flowers, Organic Lavender Flowers, Organic Peppermint Leaf, Coltsfoot Leaf and Organic Nettle Leaf Extracts of Roman Camomile, Linden, Sage, Clematis, Coneflower, St. John's Wort, Watercress, Burdock Root, Lemon, Ivy, Soapwort, Meadowsweet, Bladderwrack, Horsetail, Blue Mallow, Pellitory Root, Cucumber, Elder Flower and Arnica Aubrey's Preservative [Citrus Seed Extract, Vitamins A, C and E], Organic Lemon Peel Oil), Organic Aloe Vera, Organic Rosa Mosqueta Rose Hip Seed Oil and Rose Oil.
Aubrey Organics Lip Balm - Vanilla & Honey
Ingredients Cera alba (beeswax)*, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil*, virgin olea europaea (olive) oil*, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil*, natural flavor, cannabis sativa (hemp) seed oil*, rosa rubiginosa (Rosa Mosqueta) seed oil*, tocopherol (vitamin E).* = Organic
Aubrey Organics Crème de la shave Raspberry Honey
INGREDIENTS INCl: Aqua, alcohol denat. (38b, lavender*), myristyl alcohol (coconut fatty alcohol), hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, sodium palmate (palm soap), sodium cocoate (coconut soap), prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond) oil, glycerin, rubus idaeus (raspberry) fruit extract, panthenol (vitamin B-5), aloe barbadensis leaf*, carmine, fragrance**. *Organic **Natural isolate blend sourced from essential oils
Aubrey Organics Rosa Mosqueta Hip Seed Oil
Extracted from a rose that grows high in Chile's Andes Mountains, a little of this rich oil goes a long way to nourish and revitalize dull, dry skin and scalp and rehydrate damaged hair.
Aubrey's mission proves they are a company you can trust:
Our mission is to provide all-natural, safe and effective personal care and lifestyle products to the consumer. We offer a true and authentic alternative to many of the mass produced synthetic products on the market today. We craft only the highest quality all-natural products without compromise as to ingredients, packaging or cost. We believe in education and transparency. A customer is best able to make an educated and correct purchasing decision only when armed with true and valued information. Part of our core purpose is to provide that information as best as we can.
I especially like the rose hip oil.

 Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 5, 2011

Natural Laundry Care: Vaska Spotoff Advanced Botanicals Spot Remover

img_spotoff.jpg
I know plenty of green living folks who have resorted to toxic products when it comes to stain removal. Thankfully, you don't have to anymore.

Vaska Spotoff is a color safe, biodegradable, non-toxic stain remover.

Spotoff is an all-natural stain remover for spills and stains on clothing, rugs, and upholstery. Spotoff uses potent botanical cleaning agents to remove wine, dirt, and other tough stains without harming textiles.

Safe on colors, whites, and all natural and synthetic washable fabrics, Spotoff contains no dyes or fragrances that can irritate sensitive skin and harm the environment.


I tried Spotoff on a shirt I paid way too much for at Anthropologie that had a cooking oil stain. It had been through the dryer already, so I knew it was a hard one to remove. I followed the directions and left Spotoff on the stain for ten minutes before washing.

Disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 2, 2011

Holiday Travel: Gluten-Free, Vegan, All-Natural Ready-to-Eat Meals by gopicnic

gopicnic1.jpg
If you are planning any holiday travel, whether by plane, train, or automobile, gopicnic makes it easy to eat well, both naturally and gluten-free. These ready-to-eat meals are all about convenience.  They range in calories from about 400 to 500 calories, at least for the samples were sent.

gopicnic hummus + crackers:

A balanced meal featuring Wild Garden Hummus Dip, Crunchmaster Multi-Seed Crackers, Seapoint Farms Dry Roasted Edamame, Sweet Perry Orchards Baja Blend Fruit & Nut Mix and an Endangered Species Dark Chocolate Square. All-Natural, Gluten-Free, Vegan, Kosher. 400 calories, 12g fiber, 25g protein. The food in GoPicnic meals contains no trans fats, no high fructose corn syrup, no added MSG, and no artificial colors or flavors. Each item inside is individually packaged with full allergen and manufacturing warnings. No refrigeration, heating, or preparation required. Just open and enjoy.

gopicnic sunbutter + crackers:
A balanced meal featuring Sunbutter Sunflowerseed Spread, Crunchmaster Multi-Grain Crackers, Enjoy Life Seed & Fruit Trail Mix, Niagara Naturals Tropical Fruit Bites and an Enjoy Life Double Chocolate Cookie. All-Natural, Gluten-Free, Vegan, and Free of 7 Common Allergens including wheat, dairy, fish, shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts, and egg. Also made without sulfites and casein. Contains no soy ingredients, but SunButter is made on equipment that also processes soy (a shared roaster that is cleaned thoroughly between processing products). 490 calories, 9g fiber, 12g protein. The food in GoPicnic meals contains no trans fats, no high fructose corn syrup, no added MSG, and no artificial colors or flavors. Each item inside is individually packaged with full allergen and manufacturing warnings. No refrigeration, heating, or preparation required. Just open and enjoy!

I recognize the convenience of these products, but the problem with snack size packaging is it not very eco-friendly. Fortunately, the outer packaging that contains the snacks is made from 100% recycled fiber content (35% post-consumer material). I appreciate these products are natural, but they would be even better if organic.


Disclosure:  The products described above were sent to us as free samples.  Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given.  No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews.  The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy