November 30, 2011

Really Natural Beauty Gifts: Naturopathica Vitamin C Revitalizing Complex and Vitamin K Brightening Eye Serum

vitamin_c_revitalizing_complex.jpg
Are you looking for the perfect stocking stuff for the natural beauty in your life? Naturopathica is sure to please from a company you can trust:

Our approach to healthy skin care begins by eliminating harmful synthetics or skin irritants such as parabens, glycols or sulfates, and then adding clinically proven ingredients like antioxidants and peptides that provide real benefits to the skin.

We were sent two products to try out:

These are high quality, natural beauty products! These powerful, effective natural ingredients leave your skin feeling fresh and young. Made in the USA, these cruelty-free beauty products are sure to please any woman on your list!

Disclosure:  The products described above were sent to us as free samples.  Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given.  No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews.  The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 29, 2011

Green Stocking Stuffer Giveaway and Review: ITO EN Gifts for Tea Lovers


Do you know any tea lovers? ITO EN has many great gifts and stocking stuffers for those that adore tea. I love both coffee and tea and thoroughly enjoyed the ITO EN products we tried:

Ito En Teas' Tea Lemongrass Green Unsweetened Tea:



  • All-natural brew of premium loose Japanese green tea leaves and aromatic lemongrass--relax and rejuvenate with this refined and refreshing creation

  • Unsweetened tea with no calories, 45 mg of caffeine per 16.9 fl oz, more than 100% RDA of vitamin C, high in tea antioxidants

  • Drink for yourself to taste the distinction of a beverage alternative that is healthy and designed for an active lifestyle

  • ITO EN's knowledge, expertise, and experience help them in making an extraordinary ready-to-drink tea

Ito En Teas' Tea Mango Oolong Tea:


  • Has the full taste of oolong tea paired with the bright taste of mango--enjoy the pure refreshment of this invigorating blend

  • Naturally sweetened with a touch of cane sugar-- only 40 calories per serving, all-natural tea with no colors, powders, or concentrates

  • Good source of natural catechin tea antioxidants

  • Drink for yourself to taste the distinction of a beverage alternative that designed for an active lifestyle

  • ITO EN's knowledge, expertise, and experience help them in making an extraordinary ready-to-drink tea



Ito En Teas' Genmai Green Tea:
In a marriage of two classic Japanese flavors, roasted rice adds a mellow nuance to the bright notes of whole leaf and freshly ground green tea (Matcha).

Teas' Tea Polyfabric™ Reusable Tote Bag:


  • Reusable Tote Bag contains recycled content.

  • Material: Polyfabric™ is lightweight, durable, and environmentally-friendly.

Catechin Pens (made from recycled green tea leaves):
ITO EN has developed a wide array of methods for recycling used tea leaves and incorporating recycled tea leaves into a range of products and materials. Not only does recycling conserve resources but the antibacterial and deodorizing properties of catechins retained in the tea leaves can be utilized in products made from recycled tea leaves, thereby adding greater value.

We will be giving away one Teas' Tea Matcha Can to one lucky winner!


Matcha, or powdered green tea, is traditionally used for the tea ceremony. An ideal matcha for every day, our signature Teas' Tea Matcha welcomes with a crisply defined taste that finishes its flavor cycle with a measure of astringency. Used for "Ousu (usucha)" - Light matcha.

GIVEAWAY REQUIREMENTS

RULES


  • This contest is open to US residence only.  No P.O.Boxes.

  • You have until 8:00 A.M. EST December 21st, 2011 to enter.


GIVEAWAY

MANDATORY ENTRY

Visit https://www.itoen.com

In your comment on ITO EN's Facebook page mention what product you would like and why, as well as which blog you read about this giveaway with a @tag back to this Really Natural's Facebook page.

EXTRA ENTRIES

+ Follow on Twitter ITO EN

+ Like http://www.facebook.com/Itoen on Facebook

+ Share this giveaway on your Facebook wall tagging ITO EN's FB page

(doing this correctly, your post will show on our FB page wall)

+ Comment on another ITO EN wall post.

+ Tweet this giveaway making sure to mention @ITO_EN

We also have a wonderful holiday coupon for our readers!


Disclosure:  The products described above were sent to us as free samples.  Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given.  No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews.  The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

This giveaway is running in conjunction with Eco Child's Play. Only one winner will be selected from both blogs.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 28, 2011

Green Gift Giveaway and Product Review: Fair Trade, Handloomed, Naturally Dyed SLOWCOLOR Linen Scarves


As a weaver and fiber artist, I am fascinated by SLOWCOLOR. The video above not only explains the company's "trend toward more conscious gifting", but the natural, handmade processes of the weavers, spinners, and dyers inspire me. I would love to go and visit SLOWCOLOR's artisans! That would be my dream vacation!

We were sent a beautiful Boulder Scarf to review.



  • The scarf that goes anywhere. A treasured companion on your life's adventures: casual, elegant, for work, and for play. Men like this scarf as much as women.

  • Gauze Weave

  • 100% premium linen handloomed with pride and passion in India

  • Hand Made: As this is a hand made product, slight size and color variation only show the human touch of a soul and heart at work

  • Size: 24"x72"



I love my Boulder Scarf. It is the perfect size for how I like to wear my scarves, and the hand dyed linen is rich and beautiful. I can't help but think of the hands involved in making this product.  Handloomed, natural plant based hand dyed, fair trade...a perfect gift for the eco-conscious!

Good News! We have one SLOWCOLOR Boulder Scarf to giveaway to a lucky reader!

GIVEAWAY REQUIREMENTS

RULES


  • This contest is open to US residence only.  No P.O.Boxes.

  • You have until 8:00 A.M. EST December 21st, 2011 to enter.


GIVEAWAY

  • One winner will receive 1 Boulder Scarf of their choice (inventory availability dependent)

  • Value $85.00 (incl. shipping)



MANDATORY ENTRY

EXTRA ENTRIES
+ Follow on Twitter www.Twitter.com/beSLOWCOLOR
+ Like www.facebook.com/SLOWCOLOR on Facebook
+ Share this giveaway on your Facebook wall tagging SLOWCOLOR's FB page (doing this correctly, your post will show on our FB page wall)
+ Comment on another SLOWCOLOR wall post.
+ Tweet this giveaway making sure to mention @beSLOWCOLOR
Disclosure:  The products described above were sent to us as free samples.  Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given.  No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews.  The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

This giveaway is running in conjunction with Eco Child's Play. Only one winner will be selected from both blogs.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 25, 2011

Green Gifts for Mom Giveaway: Krimson Klover Eco-Friendly Fine Merino Wool Clothing

Screen shot 2011-11-23 at 9.06.41 AM.png
We are super excited about Krimson Klover!  Not only are these "knits with a twist" fashionable, the company takes their "commitment to environmental and social responsibility very seriously by using yarns from sources that respect their animals, employees and Mother Earth".

We were sent a luxurious Mrs. Rose sweater to try.  This washable merino wool is super soft and comfortable. There is no itch at all giving you the freedom to wear whatever (or nothing at all) underneath it.  The knitting is of high quality, and I love how the buttons do not go all the way to the bottom of the sweater giving it a more fashionable design.  The bold design works beautifully giving the sweater an overall chic, graphic aesthetic.  The Mrs. Rose would make a perfect gift for Mom!

Good news!  We have a beautiful Krimson Klover Poppy Hat and Scarf to giveaway to one lucky winner!  The Pippy Hat and Scarf are made with the same incredible "luxurious washable" merino wool as the Mrs. Rose sweater, plus the hat is lined with fleece for extra warmth.

PippyHat.jpg

Krimson Klover Pippy Hat and Scarf Set GIVEAWAY!

RULES


  • This contest is open to US residence only.  No P.O.Boxes.

  • You have until 8:00 A.M. EST December 21st, 2011 to enter.


GIVEAWAY

  • One winner will receive one Pippy Hat and Scarf set of their choice (inventory availability dependent)

  • Value $28.00 and $65


Mandatory Entry

  1. Visit Krimson Klover's catalog

  2. Leave a comment on Krimson Klovers's Facebook page mentioning what your favorite product is and why, as well as an @tag back to Really Natural's Facebook page about the giveaway.


PippyScarves.jpg EXTRA ENTRIES

  • Follow on Twitter Krimson Klover

  • Like Krimson Klover on Facebook

  • Share this giveaway on your Facebook wall tagging Krimson Klovers's FB page (doing this correctly, your post will show on our FB page wall)

  • Comment on another Krimson Klover wall post on FB.

  • Tweet this giveaway making sure to mention @krimsonklover


Disclosure:  The products described above were sent to us as free samples.  Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given.  No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews.  The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

This giveaway is running in conjunction with Eco Child's Play. Only one winner will be selected.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 23, 2011

Aroma Naturals: Holiday Candles Made From 100% Pure Plant Scents and Natural Vegetable Waxes

aroma_naturals.jpg
People love to give scented candles as gifts, especially to hosts and hostess. I always view such gifts with trepidation, as I don't trust the candles synthetic, chemical fragrances. A natural alternative exists, thanks to Aroma Naturals:

While most other candle companies are still adding synthetic fragrances to their candles and claiming to be natural, Aroma Naturals® candles are made from 100% pure plant aromas and natural vegetable waxes (VegePure®) that are as good for the environment as they are for you. The pure plant aromas and essential oils are harvested at their peak to ensure freshness. Aroma Naturals® uses environmentally kind, lead-free wicks, and soy and vegetable waxes that burn clean and true.

Aroma Naturals® candles are presented by aroma: each scent evokes a particular mood based on the essential oil combination used. Essential oils are the very heart of every flower, fruit, herb, resin, tree and spice on earth. Highly concentrated and extraordinarily fragrant, they are extracted from the cells of the plants through a process known as steam distillation.

Essential oils register scent in the limbic system-the part of the brain where memories are stored, emotions are processed and moods are stimulated. The fragrances of certain essential oils can automatically encourage relaxation, energy or a calming and comforting effect. Best of all, essential oils have antiseptic, antiviral and antibacterial qualities that make them as good for our bodies as they are for our spirits.

"We believe in total transparency - no artificial ingredients and no sneaky marketing jargon to make our candles seem more natural than they really are," says Jeffrey Light, President of Aroma Naturals®. "Each candle is hand-crafted in small batches and we are so proud of the purity of our product that I invite anyone interested in learning more to come make a candle with me at our factory in Irvine!"


We were sent the following holiday scents to try:

I love these products!  They smell beautiful and would make a very nice gift.  The aromas will give your home the holiday spirit!

 

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 22, 2011

Gifts for the Eco-Minded Artist: Faber-Castell Self-Sustainable Forest Project in Brazil

faber-castell.jpg
Faber-Castell has long been known for high quality art supplies, 250 years to be exact. To celebrate the company's long history, the company has shown its commitment to the environment:

Today Faber-Castell is not only CO2-neutral but also absorbs more carbon dioxide than it produces, thanks to their reforestation project in Brazil.

Faber-Castell is a family run business for 8 generations and has factories throughout the world. Famous for inventing the #2 pencil, and the company currently produces 2 billion pencils every year. The present CEO, Count Anton von Faber-Castell is truly dedicated to the cause of "going green" and did so decades BEFORE it was a trend. In the 1980's they began a forest project in Brazil for both ecology and economic stability.

As the world's leading manufacturer of wood-cased pencils, Faber-Castell has always spared a thought for the future of wood as a raw material. In Brazil, the company uses fast-growing softwood from its managed forests, planted on former barren savannah, and maintains its own tree nurseries. Seedlings are continually planted out to replace each row of trees felled: a sustainable ecological cycle.

Faber-Castell's self-sustainable forest project in Brazil makes the company unique in that:
· The company is 3 times Carbon neutral (erases their carbon footprint) by re-growing trees everyday
· It is the first manufacturer in the industry to make water-based varnish (safer for factory workers and consumers; no waste bi-product)
· Their forest project offers 30% of the land as a refuge for endangered species in Brazil - over 280 species live on this land

Surprisingly, some pencils are actually made from clearcut forests. Faber-Castell gives you eco peace of mind while you give to your artist friends.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 21, 2011

Super Healthy Snacks: Navitas Naturals Cacoa Goji Superfood Power Snack

snack-cacao-goji.jpg
Looking for a super healthy, superfood, super yummy snack? Navitas Naturals is full of "bite-sized goodness". Navitas is the Latin word for energy.  Raw, gluten-free, vegan, organic, high in vitamin C, the Cacoa Goji

Superfood Power Snack is great!
Grab a bite of energy and celebrate, because while your taste buds are singing, your body's feeling even healthier. These delicious snacks are made from the most nutrient-dense plants found in nature, packed with functional food stars like cacao, maca, chia, and camu-camu. At Navitas, our tradition is to globally source the most nutritious, wholesome, and sustainably-cultivated ingredients we can find. Now, we've combined these premium organic superfoods into flavorful grab-and-go snacks, making it easier than ever to enjoy their vibrant benefits.

At only 15 calories a piece, these are low calorie snacks. No guilt, only goodness!

Enter coupon code "navitas15" for 15% off.  

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 18, 2011

Gifts for the Healthy Cook: Superfood Cuisine Cookbook

superfood_cuisine.jpg
Superfoods are called superfoods because they are super for your brain! Adding a few of these ingredients to your pantry and learning to cook with them will create interest in your diet and health in your body.

Superfood Cuisine: Cooking with Nature's Most Amazing Foods by Julie Morris would make a great gift for any cooks in your life!


Superfood Cuisine is not your ordinary cookbook. But then again, superfoods are not your ordinary ingredients. From omega-rich chia seeds and nut-like sacha inchi, to antioxidant powerhouses like blueberries and exotic maqui berry (the #1 antioxidant fruit yet discovered!), to true energy foods like maca powder and cacao, and even everyday sprouts and leafy greens ... these are the most nutrient-dense foods on earth. Touted today by leading nutritionists and health gurus including Dr. Oz, these foods have been celebrated by ancient civilizations for thousands of years for their remarkable powers to heal and energize, promote radiant health, and enable high performance.

Now, discover their unique health benefits and exciting new flavors through learning how to use them in delicious dishes -- from breakfasts to entrees to desserts -- with this definitive guide to cooking with superfoods.

Beautiful photographs accompany the information and recipes in this fabulous cookbook. The Incan Patties look amazing!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 17, 2011

Really Natural Beauty: Bee All Natural Organic Hand and Foot Salve Plus Lip Balms

Screen shot 2011-11-16 at 10.03.49 AM.png
Applying organic ingredients to our skin and lips is just as important to our health as ingesting organic foods. Bee All Natural uses food grade, organic ingredients:

Bee All Natural was founded in 2009 when I couldn't find the quality skincare products I was searching for. Tired of buying "natural" products that were petroleum based and filled with perfumes, I set-out to develop my own skincare that would be safe for every member of my family.

The daughter of an organic dairy farmer (www.thomasorganiccreamery.com) I already believed in the connection between diet and health. I wanted the products I chose for my family's skincare to reflect the same quality and goodness as those that I chose for their nutrition.

Working independently, I researched, tested and developed each of my products from start to completion. The ingredients are certified organic and are all "food grade" quality. I make each product from scratch and never use pre-made bases. Packaging each batch myself, I even design and print my own labels and carry each order to the post office or retail location!

I am proud of Bee All Natural and stand behind my products 100%. I won't sell a product that I don't use and believe in myself. If I can't make a product great, I just won't make it.

We were sent the Organic Intense Hand & Foot Salve (peppermint) and every variety of lip balm to try out.

My daughter loves the chocolate lip balm!  The salve really works on my winter hands and feet!

I like supporting small companies, and I trust Bee All Natural to be all they say.  There's nothing in these products hidden or a cause for concern.  

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 16, 2011

National Geographic Books: An Uncommon History of Common Courtesy

uncommon_history.jpg
As a race, we value manners. Culturally-specific, young children are taught early on to be polite, say please and thank you, keep your elbows off the dinner table, etc. Ever wonder why or where these common manner come from?

An Uncommon History of Common Courtesy: How Manners Shaped the World is an interesting book.

With engaging and artfully presented text, including sidebars on media mavens throughout history, social gaffes, and archaic manners, this book is as entertaining as it is informative. Readers delve into cultural similarities and differences through lively passages, colorful photography, and sidebars on unique history. Topics include Courtesies and Greetings, Communication and Correspondence, Dining and Entertaining, Hierarchies and Protocol, Hospitality and Occasions, Amusements and Institutions, Boundaries and Cultural Differences, New Technology and Old Manners. Whether you are planning a trip abroad or just want a fascinating, browsable read, find out what is universal and what is merely a product of one's culture.
As with other National Geographic books we have reviewed, there is nothing eco-friendly about this book other than the work National Geographic does as a society. I would really like to see the company move towards using recycled materials in their books.

 

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy