March 4, 2013

The Neat Glass: The best way to experience whiskey!

Screen shot 2013-03-02 at 7.59.00 AM.png
Do you like to drink whiskey, but the alcohol sometimes gives you a little nose burn? The NEAT Whiskey Glass's unique shape enhances the experience of enjoying your favorite spirits.  Plus it makes you want to swirl like a sophisticated drinker!

Here's a game-changer in the way the heady aromas of fine spirits are enjoyed. Whether you or those on your gift list enjoy Whiskey, Rum, or Tequila, the NEAT glass will dramatically enhance the experience. "The Shape of Flavor" is more than a slogan for this scientifically designed glass. How does it work? The bowl shape enhances evaporation and swirling; the neck shape concentrates aromas, and the rim shape dissipates alcohol away from the nose. When nosing spirits, it's the harsh ethanol aromas that overpower the delicate, fragrant smells of the liquid - the patented shape of the NEAT glass reroutes the ethanol away from the nose, leaving only the sublime enjoyment the distillers had in mind in the first place. An extra bonus with the absence of "alcohol smell" is that many people find they do not need to add that pinch of water to their whiskey to enhance and soften the flavor. The NEAT glass is made in the United States of 100% lead-free Crystalyn(TM) .

What a simple, great idea! I am not a big whiskey, rum, or tequila drinker, so I can't really comment on how well this product does as it promises. I like my organic wine, but maybe with such a cool glass, I might diversify my beverage drinking.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 1, 2013

Chic and Versatile Ju-Ju-Be Earth Leather Be Fabulous Diaper Bag

Screen shot 2013-03-01 at 6.43.39 AM.png
Are you looking for a chic and versatile diaper bag this is also animal-friendly? The Ju-Ju-Be Be Fabulous Earth Leather Diaper Bag has every feature you want in a diaper bag. The "earth-friendly" leather give this bag more of the feel of a fashionable bag than a diaper bag, yet it has all the features you would want in a bag for carrying around the essentials for a little one.

- Front mommy pocket holds keys (stretch key fob) and sunglasses (cleans lenses too!) with plenty of room for more!
- Quick reach pocket for cell phone.
- 2 exterior insulated bottle pockets ... with Thinsulate by 3M. Keep it warm? Keep it cold? Sure!
- Unique main zipper closure system makes for easy access.
- Picture pocket to keep photos handy when bragging to friends.
- Detachable and adjustable messenger strap has removable memory foam shoulder pad & can be shortened to tote strap length.
- Optional shoulder straps ... so versatile!
- Inside organization includes 4 gusseted pockets, 3 zippered pockets & lots of wide open space!
- Back pocket works great for diapers and wipes organization.
- Structured bottom with luggage feet.
- AgION Antimicrobial Linings ... kills germs, mold, mildew, fungus, bacteria, and other bad stuff.
- Metal Hardware ... we don't trust any of the cheap plastic stuff.
- Light-Colored Linings ... you can actually see what's inside; it's not just a big black hole in there.
- Machine Washable ... air dry.
- Earth Leather ... an environmentally friendly alternative to animal leather. Luxurious, durable and machine washable!

I could not find any information on the Ju-Ju-Be website or the product tags about the earth leather. Most fake leathers are made of vinyl, which is not eco-friendly or good for your health, and this does not feel like vinyl. I would hope it is made from recycled plastic, but there is no information to support this hope. I also have concerns about anti-microbial linings.  I am not too thrilled about the Teflon fabric protector either. 

Although the features of this bag are really nice, it is extremely expensive at $225!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 28, 2013

Body Mind Therapies for the Bodyworker and other Health Professionals

body_mind_therapies.jpg
From yoga to the power of prayer, Body Mind Therapies for the Bodyworker and other Health Professionals by Kathy Gruver, PHD, LMT explores the connections between body and mind.

If you are a bodyworker or health professional interested in adding mind/body therapies to your practice and your life, this is your book. Learn about the stress response, placebo effect and fundamentals of mind/body communication. You will understand the specific ways these methods can enhance the healing of your clients and learn multitudes of modalities you can add to help more people, increase your income and experience the new paradigm of the mind/body connection.

Gruver "boils down to basics" many techniques that are current, like Emotional Freedom Technique and Rebirthing. Even though this book is designed for body workers, there is a lot you can learn about therapies involved in body mind connections.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 27, 2013

Reduce Cell Phone Radiation with the Bodywell Chip

Screen shot 2013-02-26 at 7.57.12 AM.png

It's inevitable. We spend a lot of time on our cell phones. Although these gadgets may make our lives easier, there is concern about the radiation they give off affecting our health.

BodyWell Chip Scientifically Proven to Reduce Negative Effects from Exposure to Cellphone Radiation is especially important to have on your phone if your child uses it. It is a simple chip that adheres to the back of your phone.

THE BODYWELL CHIP IS DESIGNED FOR CELLPHONE USERS OF ALL AGES AND USAGE STYLES: All-Natural: Bodywell is imprinted with all-natural frequencies that counter cell phone radiation. Durable: The Bodywell chip sticks directly to your phone and is designed to last the lifespan of your mobile phone. MobileTek: The Bodywell chip is powered by the proprietary MobileTek technology, which is scientifically proven to reduce exposure to cellphone radiation. Intelligent: Whether your cellphone has full signal or is using max power to find one, your Bodywell chip will provide the appropriate frequency to reduce radiation absorption. The Bodywell chip is scientifically-proven to reduce our constant exposure to cellphone radiation. With the little black chip in place, a blend of frequencies is created that counters cellphone SAR radiation without affecting cell service. This is similar to the effect of noise-canceling headphones, which greatly reduce noise with a form of counter-noise, rendering the disruptive sound neutral.

The Bodywell Chip reduces 77% of radiation.  This is a great, simple idea to offer you protection while still allowing you to enjoy your smartphone. 

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 22, 2013

Sprout Organic Baby Food

Screen shot 2013-02-18 at 8.52.08 AM.png
It's always best to make baby's own food at home, and it is not that hard. There are times when convenience is needed, and thankfully there are many organic options available.

We were sent many samples of Sprout Organic Baby Food to try:


Sprout Organic baby food comes in all different stages from infant to toddler. The ingredient list is simple and understandable on each package. I did not taste this baby food, as I want to be able to give it to a family in need. My only criticism is the packaging, although BPA-free, is difficult to recycle. You can send them in for free to Terracycle though for upcycling. 

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 19, 2013

Really Natural Cookbooks: Modern Flavors of Arabia

Screen shot 2013-02-17 at 9.06.32 AM.png
Modern Flavors of Arabia: Recipes and Memories from My Middle Eastern Kitchen by Suzanne Husseini is a beautiful cookbook!

Modern Flavors of Arabia takes you on a culinary journey to the Middle East to explore a food culture that spans centuries. Each of the recipes will surprise and delight you and bring new colors, aromas and flavors to your table. Join Suzanne as she pays tribute to her mother's cooking and enjoy her refreshingly new take on the traditional--pilafs fragrant with herbs and spices, crepes speckled with pistachios and sweetened with rose syrup, scones enhanced with dates, orange and cardamom. Discover the secrets of perfect falafel, shawarma, and homemade labneh, and try other classic dishes such as kibbeh and fattouche. Recipes are arranged by Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Dessert and a whole chapter is dedicated to mezze. Suzanne's stories and ideas on how to serve each dish accompany the beautifully illustrated and easy-to-follow recipes.

Let Suzanne's refined Arabian cuisine inspire you. Fill your kitchen with the warm, exotic scents of the Middle East, and surprise yourself with how easy it is to create these mouthwatering delicacies at home.
It is not a vegetarian cookbook, but there are some recipes for veggies like me.

The photographs are beautiful and inspiring! I really want to make the Spiced Ricotta-Stuffed Dates and the Baked Baklawa Cheesecake. Can you tell I have a sweet tooth?

There are plenty of other recipes to round out a meal like Braised Stuffed Cabbage in Lemon Garlic Sauce and Grilled Eggplant with Pomegranate Dressing.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 18, 2013

Really Natural Self-Help: The Power of Personal Accountability

Screen shot 2013-02-17 at 8.37.21 AM.png
As I mentioned before, I review all packages we receive. Sometimes they may not apply directly to this blog's ethos. I think Self-Help books fall into this category, but they may help you achieve your green living goals.

I don't so much like the title of Making Yourself Indispensable: The Power of Personal Accountability by Mark Samuel, but I like the idea of personal accountability.

Imagine waking up with enthusiasm every workday. Imagine being certain that you are highly valued by your boss and coworkers. Imagine feeling secure and in control because, even if jobs are being eliminated, you're too valuable to let go. In other words, imagine being indispensable

Sound too good to be true? Not according to Mark Samuel, who has helped thousands of people around the world get on the path to personal achievement and fulfillment. He shows why the key to becoming indispensable is to embrace accountability rather than run from it, in everything you do at work and in your personal life.

You'll see how Samuel's Personal Accountability Model really worked for people such as:
· Lynn, who transformed herself from the worst teacher at her school to one of the most respected.
· Dan, an office assistant of ten years who finally figured out how to jumpstart his career.
· Mary, a super visor who had continually been skipped over for promotion, until she finally decided to stop "playing it small."
· Jerry, a plant manager who got stuck in a "victim loop" when his division began to underperform. Only when he stopped blaming others could he find the energy and ideas to help his plant overcome its challenges.

Becoming indispensable doesn't require a fancy degree, a senior management title, or a huge income. It's a mind-set available to anyone, as you'll learn from these and other inspiring true stories. You'll also discover Samuel's proven strategies for letting go of victimhood, figuring out what's really holding you back, and taking smart actions to achieve your highest goals.


As self-centered as the title implies, the advice is not. The six choices promoted in the book included things like being "we" centered and valuing others. This is good advice!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 14, 2013

Scholastic Storybook Treasures: The Red Hen and More Cooking Stories

red_hen.jpg
Cooking food definitely leads to better eating. Stories about cooking inspire children to explore the world of whole foods rather than fast food dining.

The Red Hen and more cooking stories is a read along DVD collection from Scholastic Storybook Treasures.

You can collect the entire library of Scholastic Storybook Treasures and read along on screen with your favorite classic children's stories, brought vividly to life on DVD.

THE RED HEN (Written and illustrated by Rebecca Emberley and Ed Emberley, narrated by Walter Mayes) Filled with humor and sparkling illustration, this is the classic story of Red Hen and her adventures in baking.

BREAD COMES TO LIFE (Written and illustrated by George Levenson, narrated by Lily Tomlin) Watch each step of how to bring bread to life, from the sowing of the seeds to the shaping and baking of the bread dough.

HOW DO DINOSAURS EAT THEIR FOOD? (Written and narrated by Jane Yolen, illustrated by Mark Teague) These mischievous dinosaurs show that burping, spilling and playing with one s food are not the best ways to enjoy a meal.

ARNIE THE DOUGHNUT (Written and illustrated by Gerald McDermott, narrated by Michael McKean) When Mr. Bing buys Arnie in a doughnut shop, Arnie realizes he must persuade Mr. Bing that a doughnut can be more than just a sweet snack.


These are sweet stories, and the next best thing to actually reading to your child (which is the best thing!).   There is even a recipe included for Simply Splendid Cake that children can make with a little assistance.

There is nothing eco-friendly about this product; however, it may inspire your child to eat better or at least take an interest in food preparation.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 13, 2013

Natural Beauty: derma e Exfoliating Mask Deep Cleans and Detoxifies

Screen shot 2013-02-12 at 6.40.58 AM.png
I have yet to meet a derma e product that I do not love. derma e Natural Bodycare Cleansing Enzyme Facial Mask is no exception. In fact, it won the Best Face Mask of 2012 award from Natural Solutions magazine.

In introducing the award-winning beauty products, Natural Solutions magazine states, "The old adage says you are what you eat - but you are what you put on your skin, as well. It matters." With skin being the largest organ of the body that directly reflects your health, beauty products that are healthy and effective are essential. After reviewing numerous submissions, Natural Solutions chose, "the very best" in 17 personal care product categories.

Best Face Mask! Exfoliating Mask
with Fruit Enzymes and Dead Sea Salt

"This mask deep cleans pores, detoxifies and absorbs excess skin oil with the help of fruit enzymes and Dead Sea salt," say the editors of Natural Solutions. Enriched with detoxifying Sea Kelp, antioxidants Green Tea and impurity-absorbing Bentonite and Kaolin Clays, this formula leaves skin clean and healthy.

I agree completely! I only want to put natural products on my skin, and this does not in anyway mean compromising quality and effectiveness. derma e always delivers and is affordable too.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.


Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 12, 2013

100% Natural No Calorie Sweetener Nectresse Made from Monk Fruit

nutresse.jpg
I am always a little reticent about zero calorie sweeteners, as I don't think they are the solution to weight loss. Healthy eating with lots of raw foods and exercise are the solution. Furthermore, many zero calories sweeteners are full of artificial ingredients that are harmful to your health, like aspartame.

NECTRESSE Natural No Calorie Sweetener is 100% natural and made from monk fruit.

NECTRESSE™ Natural No Calorie Sweetener is a combination of deliciously sweet Monk Fruit Extract blended with other natural sweeteners (erythritol, sugar and molasses) to bring you the rich sweet taste of sugar without all the calories...

Erythritol is an all-natural, sugar alcohol that is naturally fermented from sugars and is found in many vegetables and fruits. Erythritol contributes zero calories per serving of NECTRESSE™ Sweetener. Consuming erythritol from NECTRESSE™ Sweetener is not expected to result in laxative or other gastrointestinal effects that are known to sometimes occur with other sugar alcohols...

Monk Fruit is a round, green melon that grows on vines on remote mountaintops in central Asia. The fruit has been cultivated for centuries. An extract from the fruit has been recently re-discovered as an ingredient ideally suited for sweetening foods and beverages. Monk Fruit Extract is about 150X sweeter than sugar and contributes zero calories per serving of NECTRESSE™ Natural No Calorie Sweetener.


This product is made by the makers of Splenda, which does concern me, but Nectresse does not contain any of the sucralose found in Splenda.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy