August 6, 2011

The Strongest Glass Water Bottle: The Bamboo Bottle

bamboo_bottle.jpgThe Bamboo Bottle is a glass bottle with an outer bamboo shell that protects the glass better than silicone shells. The bottle comes apart for dishwashing, and it is said to be safe to drop from great heights!

One of the most stylish, cleanest and unique water bottles you can drink from - all while being as environmentally responsible as possible. The Bamboo Bottle is a reusable water bottle made of a bamboo insulator and a glass bottle. To clean, simply unscrew the top and bottom and insert the glass bottle into the dishwasher. Unlike plastics and metals that can leach chemicals, this BPA-free water bottle keeps your drink safe at all temperatures. This is the best reusable water bottle to drink from- it's eco friendly, it's clean, it's stylish and it's safe to drink from whether your beverage is hot, or cold. The glass lining ensures clean drinking at all temperatures. It's eco friendly and reusable.

I have not dropped our Bamboo bottle to test at what height it will break, but I love its design. My only complaint is that it is not larger. I am used to the 40 ounce Klean Kanteen.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 3, 2011

SunRidge Farms: All Natural Trail Mixes and Treats

tropical_trail_mix.jpg
If you are looking for a convenient, all natural snack for the trail, car, home, or beach, SunRidge Farms has many flavors to suit your desires. We tried out four new varieties:

Tropical Trail Mix
INGREDIENTS: Unsweetened Papaya, Roasted Peanuts, Raisins, Almonds, Sunflower Seeds, Unsweetened Pineapple, Dates, Coconut, Bananas, Peanut Oil, Salt. 


Milk Chocolate Rainbow Drops
INGREDIENTS: Chocolate Center (evaporated cane juice, unsweetened chocolate, cocoa butter, whole milk powder, soy lecithin [an emulsifier], natural vanilla), Colored Shell (evaporated cane juice, rice starch, gum arabic, tapioca dextrin, carnauba wax, natural food colorings [vegetable juice colors]).


Berries & Chocolate Antioxidant Mix
INGREDIENTS: Chocolate Stars (dehydrated cane juice, unsweetened chocolate, cocoa butter, soy lecithin [an emulsifier], natural vanilla), Roasted Peanuts (peanuts; safflower, peanut, and/or canola oil; salt), Dry Roasted Almonds (almonds, sea salt), Dry Roasted Cashews (cashews, sea salt), Dried Cranberries (cranberries, evaporated cane juice, sunflower oil), Dried Cherries, Walnuts, Dried Blueberries (blueberries, evaporated cane juice, sunflower oil).


Women's Vitality Mix
INGREDIENTS: Dark Chocolate Chips (Unsweetened Chocolate, Calcium Carbonate, Evaporated Cane Juice, Cocoa Butter, Soy Lecithin (An Emulsifier), Vanilla), Cranberries (Cranberries, Evaporated Cane Juice, Sunflower Oil), Pumpkin Seeds, Raisons, Dry Roasted Almonds, Sunflower Seeds, Dry Roasted Cashiews, Organic Roasted Soy Nuts (Organic Soybeans, Salt, Organic Canola Oil Or Organic Soybean Oil), Cherries, Pistachios, Blueberries (Blueberries , Evaporated Cane Juice, Sunflower Oil).

My favorite blend is the Women's Vitality Mix. It has the right mix of sweet and salt, although, I wish there were more organic ingredients. That's true of all of SunRidge Farms products. I do commend that 70 percent of their distribution and manufacturing facilities are powered by solar, and they use biodiesel in their deliver trucks. SunRidge Farms just needs to make the jump to 100 percent organic ingredients!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 27, 2011

The Compassionate Diet: How what you eat can change your life and save the planet

comdiet.png
The Compassionate Diet: How What You Eat Can Change Your Life and Save the Planet is written by Arran Stephens, founder of Nature's Path Foods. Nature's Path is one of the health food companies I respect, as they have remained independent at a time when similar companies have been taken over by mainstream food corporations.

In this book, Stephens looks at the "truth about factory farming, GMOs and organics".

What can we do to allay global warming, contend with world hunger, be healthier, and live longer? In The Compassionate Diet, Nature's Path founder and CEO Arran Stephens, who has been at the leading edge of the organic food movement for decades and a vegetarian his entire adult life, answers these complex questions in the simplest terms: Eat vegetarian.

A balanced and natural vegetarian diet is neither a fad nor a passing trend. It has been part of many cultures over untold millennia. The Compassionate Diet distills the history, philosophy, and core benefits of eschewing meat.

A sense of compassion and humanity has animated Stephens's life's work, and it drives this book. The vegetarian lifestyle has innumerable benefits, but for Stephens, eating a plant-based diet is first and foremost an expression of compassion for animals, for ourselves, and for the planet. This elegant and completely approachable book is a beautiful guide that illustrates the rich gifts that compassion yields.


One of the most interesting section of the book explores vegetarianism in world religions.

I really like this book, as it is easy to read, as well as informative and aesthetically pleasing.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 20, 2011

Green Back to School: Stainless Steel Bento by PlanetBox

planet_box.jpg
In less than a month, my kids go back to school. As the school year starts earlier and earlier, it's time to prepare.

School lunches are notoriously unhealthy, and we have tried a variety of plastic bento boxes and lunch bags. Last year, we discovered the PlanetBox. This stainless steel bento style box is perfect, so perfect we ordered another one for our son!

Looking for an eco and easy way to pack healthy lunches for your kids? PlanetBox is the safe, non-toxic alternative to plastic. Not your old fashioned metal lunch box, PlanetBox delivers lunch transportation for the green generation.

Super easy to clean, super easy to pack, and super fun to use! My kids love their PlanetBoxes!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 18, 2011

Really Natural Fashion: Organic Aventura Schaffer Dress only $29!

P04668_908_hero.jpg
I love organic fashion, and when it is comfortable and fits well, that's an added bonus. The Aventura Women's Schaffer Dress is all that, plus it is on sale for $29. Great dress! Great deal!

Aventura Clothing is a new organic, sustainable label I have discovered.

2005 marked the company's 40th anniversary, an event celebrated with exciting new opportunities and adventures. most notably, sportif announced the launch of its new women's line. aventura clothing has the mission to "help the earth... one garment at a time." we want to provide our customers with fashionable "eco-friendly" products that will lower our ecologic footprint on the planet. over 80% of this casual lifestyle clothing is made from environmentally friendly fabrics so you can feel good about looking great!

I love my Schaffer dress, but you need to hurry to order one to make sure they still have it in your size!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 15, 2011

Klean Kanteen Reflect: Shiny Stainless Steel and Bamboo Lid Water Bottle for a Plastic-Free Life

klean_kanteen_reflect.jpg
Klean Kanteen has been my standby for reusable water bottles for as long as I can remember. It would seem there is not much to reinvent with a stainless steel bottle, but Klean Kanteen has done it several times with colors, insulation, and now the Klean Kanteen Stainless Steel Reflect Water Bottle (Stainless Bamboo Cap).

The Reflect raises the bar. Again. The Mirror finish is shiny, but we chose the name for a different reason. It symbolizes our deep commitment to continued innovation, and our promise to you to deliver value and quality with integrity. The first of its kind. The Reflect is crafted using just sustainably harvested bamboo, food-grade silicone and stainless steel. Beautiful in its simplicity and deliberate in its design, what you don't see on the Reflect is as important as what you do. No paint. No plastic. Just three materials united to create the ultimate expression of our ongoing crusade to change the way people think and drink. The Stainless Unibody Bamboo Cap. Fashioned from a single piece of stainless steel, the cap is extremely strong and durable. The stainless steel bail is firmly attached, providing a handy attachment point. Together, they deliver unparalleled strength and durability, beautifully finished with bamboo. Laser Etched For Life. The logo is laser etched onto the bottle, replacing paint. With nothing to scratch or wear off, it's as durable as the Reflect itself. A Fine Finish. The Reflect is available in two finishes, our traditional Brushed Stainless and Mirror. To achieve the Mirror finish, the bottle goes through an additional electropolishing process to make it extra shiny.

NO PLASTIC! That is amazing! This bottle is aesthetically pleasing, and truly green (except for being made in China). I love my Reflect bottle!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 13, 2011

Redwood Hill Farm Goat Milk Products: Solar Powered and Delicious

jen-1309182967.jpg
Goat milk is very delicious, as long as the goats are not allowed to simply eat strong flavored weeds as happens with non-commercial herds. It is easier to digest than cow's milk, and it makes great dairy products like yogurt and kefir.

Redwood Hill Farm has been making award winning goat milk products since 1968. Recently, they won an award for solar power!

Redwood Hill Farm has demonstrated sustainability leadership here in Sonoma County by installing a 586 kW DC solar electric system, providing 100% of energy used at our Sebastopol organic creamery. The solar system covers nearly 2 acres of roof space using 2,500 solar panels made in California. The CO2 reduced annually is equal to 110 acres of trees saved, 54 cars off the road, or 76 homes powered. Our Certified Humane® goat dairy is solar powered too.

Not only are the goats treated ethically and the power renewable, but Redwood Hill Farm products are delicious! Live and active cultures keep your gut healthy, and your taste buds won't complain either.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 7, 2011

Global Girlfriends: How One Mom Made it Her Business to help Women in Poverty Worldwide

global_girlfriends.jpgGlobal Girlfriends: How One Mom Made It Her Business to Help Women in Poverty Worldwide by Stacey Edgar is an inspiring story. It's the story of how one mom took her tax return and started a fair trade company across five continents.

Seven years ago, Stacey Edgar had a $2,000 tax return and a deep desire to help provide economic security for women in need. She knew that of the 1.3 billion people living on less than $1 per day, seventy percent are women. What she didn't have was a business plan. Or a passport. But that didn't stop her from creating a socially conscious business that has helped poor women in five continents feed their families and send their children to school.

Global Girlfriend has since grown into a multi-million dollar enterprise that specializes in handmade, fairly traded, ecoconscious apparel, accessories, and items made by women all over the world. Global Girlfriends is Stacey's inspiring story of following her convictions, as well as her passionate argument for simple actions we can all take to eliminate extreme poverty. Stacey Edgar refused to be paralyzed by the size of world poverty; she started by taking several small steps, personal responsibility firmly in hand, and never looked back.


This is one of those stories you read and think about what is possible with life. Not only does the story tell how her business grew, but it also profiles women she has helped around the world. From selling her goods in the Wild Oats parking lot to producing a catalog, Stacey's story is one we can all learn from and applaud.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 5, 2011

Green Valley Organics Lactose Free Yogurt

GreenValleyFamilyLayers592pxwide-wSC.jpg
If you are lactose intolerant but love dairy products, Green Valley Organics has the solution for you!

Peace & Harmony In Your Stomach.

Dairy power to the people, especially the lactose intolerant people!

For you and your family, we've created rich, creamy Green Valley Organics™ real dairy yogurt and kefir. Unlike other lactose free options there is no compromise on taste. They're simply delicious by any standard. Made from organic ingredients, our fresh and flavorful, lactose free dairy foods will make you feel good inside. And with all their protein, calcium and Flourish™, our proprietary blend of 10 live & active cultures, they're as good for the body as they are for the soul.

Our company has been committed to digestive health for over 40 years.
So when we say it, you can believe it.
Give peace (in your stomach) a chance.


I am not lactose intolerant, although I have had trouble with casein. This yogurt is delicious, especially with raspberries and granola, and you would never know that it was lactose free from the flavor.

These dairy products start from milk on humane, small farms, and then is cultured in a solar powered facility.  
 

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 29, 2011

Twist 'n' Grate Anything From Chocolate to Cheese

grater.jpg
I hate to grate anything. I always scrape my knuckles and end up bleeding into whatever I am grating, and the alternative of using a food processor involves more effort in clean up than its worth.

Microplane Twist N Grate Dual Sided Grater offers a patented solution.

Sleek and space saving, the Microplane Twist N Grate - Dual Sided Grater is designed to easily come apart when not in use for compact storage in a drawer or cabinet. Comes with two Microplane blades, Fine and Extra Coarse. Microplane's signature grating blades are engineered to quickly and efficiently grate a wide range of foods, from hard cheese like Parmesan, to softer cheeses like cheddar and mozzarella, as well as assorted vegetables and fruits, including onions, potatoes, zucchini, apples, pears, etc. The Fine blade can also be used to zest the peel of citrus, such as lemons, oranges and limes.

I admit I was perplexed by this grater at first, but I like its sleek design. Unfortunately, the round design caused my hubby to scrape his knuckle on first try.  As a result, we prefer your standard grater. 

There isn't anything eco-friendly about this product, other than it is made in North America rather than China, cutting down on transportation emissions.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy