June 27, 2011

Grown in the USA Bio-Based Synthetic Green Motor Oil by G Oil

g_oil.jpg
Cars are a problem when it comes to the environment. Although gas mileage is slowly improving with newer motels, automobiles still require lubrication. Green Earth Technologies G-Oil 5W-30 Green Motor Oil is one solution that can reduce our dependence on foreign oil. This synthetic motor oil is grown and made in the USA.

Change your oil, change the world with Environment Safe, ULTIMATE BIODEGRADABLE* G-OIL® GREEN Motor Oil, the world's first and only American Petroleum Institute's (API) "SM" Certified bio-based motor oil. We blend nature's American grown base oils (domestically sourced beef tallow) with nanotechnology to provide superior performance protection during the maximum oil change intervals recommended by vehicle manufactures while meeting or exceeding requirements.

Our bio base-synthetic G-OIL is the GREEN SOLUTION for gasoline engines, providing better protection for automotive engines under the toughest driving conditions NATURALLY BETTER THAN SYNTHETICS.


I am not a mechanic, so I cannot speak to the claims of being better for your car under tough driving conditions.

I find it interesting the oil is made from beef tallow. I wonder if this is a byproduct of the meat industry. Tallow is a rendered fat. According to Wikipedia:

Tallow is used in animal feed, to make soap, shoe polish, for cooking, and as a bird food. It can be used as a raw material for the production of biodiesel and other oleochemicals. Historically, it was used to make tallow candles, which were a cheaper alternative to wax candles.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 24, 2011

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Organic Honey Stinger Energy Chews

limeade_honey_stinger.jpg
When you need a little pick me up, whether you are exerting energy or at the office, Honey Stinger Organic Energy Chews Limeade and Pink Lemonadeare naturally caffeinated with white tea.

Honey Stinger Organic energy chews are formulated specifically for health-conscious individuals and athletes seeking a great tasting energy snack.

  • First energy chew to provide naturally occurring fiber and protein that's derived from tapioca syrup and honey
  • Provides the right amount of carbohydrates to keep you going without excessive calories
  • Chews are certified USDA Organic and provide 100% of your recommended daily value of vitamin C
  • Gluten- and dairy-free product
  • Backpacker April '09 says, "In the real world--miles to go, tank on empty--flavor makes the fuel. And these gummi bear-like blobs beat all comers in the taste department."
We've tried out the original Honey Stinger Waffles and Chews, and not really being a fan of gummy type candies, the waffles are still my favorite.  The chews are sweet and chewy.  My daughter likes them.
 

I love that these products are organic, unlike many energy products, and they do pack easily. They have Lance Armstrong's endorsement, which doesn't really win me over one way or another, but the man does know about needing energy.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 22, 2011

Really Natural Cookbooks: Ani's Raw Food Asia

-!Anis Raw Food Asia Easy East West Fusion Recipes the Raw Food Way Books --image.jpg
I love raw food, but I wouldn't say I was a raw foodie. Fortunately, Ani's Raw Food Asia: Easy East-West Fusion Recipes the Raw Food Way has many great recipes to spice up my raw food recipes beyond nuts, cocoa, and salads.

You've been to her kitchen, enjoyed her desserts, and mastered the essentials; now go with raw food goddess Ani Phyo back to her roots for the first ever Asian raw food cookbook. Along with recipes from Korea, China, Japan, Thailand, Vietnam, India, Indonesia, and Hawaii and background information on traditional dishes, Ani's Raw Food Asia also offers essential tips on green living, well-being, longevity, fitness, beauty, and entertaining as inspired by a healthy Asian lifestyle.

Recipes include: Mixed Vegetable Skewers with Almond-Butter Sauce, Creamed Curry Saag, Vegetable Tempura with Orange Lemongrass Dipping Sauce, Marinated Shiitake Mushroom Dumplings, Corn Fritters with a Hot and Sour Cucumber Dipping Sauce, Dosas, Moo Shoo Vegetables, and more.


One recipe I found really interesting and never encountered before was for sunscreen! This recipe includes sesame oil, which according to Ani "blocks or reduces about 30 percent of the sun's burning rays". Who knew?

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 20, 2011

Dave's Gourmet Unique Pasta Sauces: Three Certified Organic Flavors

dave's_gourmet.jpg
Pasta sauces have surely gotten expensive in this economy, and I tend to make my own. It's pretty much the same marinara with whatever herbs are growing in the garden, but Dave's Gourmet has me beat with some really unique flavors. We were sent three varieties to sample. All of which are gluten-free, but only one was of the organic nature, although Dave doe's make three organic pasta sauces.
Dave's Gourmet Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce:

The first of its kind, our all-natural butternut-squash pasta sauce is made with squash ripened in Oregon's Willamette Valley. Paired with fresh garlic, onions and roasted red pepper, the natural sweetness and delicate flavor of the butternut squash is enhanced to provide a delicious change of pace.

Dave's Gourmet Organic Red Heirloom Pasta Sauce:
A fresh tasting sauce featuring fresh garlic, fresh herbs and organic heirloom tomatoes that burst with flavor. Try it tossed with your favorite pasta, dusted with Parmigiana Reggiano and a glass of Merlot

Masala Marinara Pasta Sauce:
This delicious and innovative pasta sauce pairs the wonderful western flavors of a classic marinara with the spices (masala), lime, and coconut flavors of the South Asian world. The result is a sauce that you would normally find coming from the kitchen of a talented restaurant chef. This sauce is fantastic with pasta, rice, chicken, pork, lamb, seafood, and vegetables.

Dave's Gourmet has me beat in creativity and will inspire me this fall to toss a few other ingredients in my homemade sauce. At least all of my sauces are 100% organically grown!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 17, 2011

Natural Poison Oak Remedies: Marie Original PO Soap

poison_oak_soap.jpg
With summer time outdoor adventures comes the risk of poison oak (PO) or ivy exposure. This plant can cause a mild rash to one that is intolerable. One solution I have found for my children, who do not always respect PO in the same way I do by sticking to the trail, is Marie Original Poison Oak Soap.

Poison Oak Soap helps remove the oils of the poison oak, poison ivy and poison sumac plants from the skin, and speeds up healing of poison oak, poison ivy, poison sumac and other minor skin rashes. Herbs with a natural antihistamine action help stop itching and redness, and promote healing of the skin. Marie Original Poison Oak Soap is a completely natural blend of essential oils, herbs, extracts, clay, oatmeal and glycerin soap and does not contain any artificial ingredients, dyes or scents.

My son has very sensitive skin, both sensory and physically. He loves Marie's PO soap and requests it at bath time. He associates with relief from previous itchy rashes and with prevention. I used to think any soap and water could wash away the oils of PO, but now I am a firm believer in Marie's Original Poison Oak Soap.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 15, 2011

Really Natural Beauty: Alaffia Roobios & Shea Butter Antioxidant Face Cream

alaffia.jpg
One thing I enjoy about shopping out of town is I discover new brands. I recently tried Alaffia Rooibos & Shea Butter Antioxidant Face Cream on a road trip, and I was quite pleased with its texture, consistency, and application.

This silky cream combines the proven moisturizing and anti-aging properties of Unrefined Shea Butter with the antioxidant power of Virgin Coconut Oil, Rooibos Tea and Wild African Honey. Improves skin elasticity & texture while protecting from damaging free radicals. For all skin types.Alaffia's mission embodies three clear principles:Create - We formulate and create our products based on indigenous beauty knowledge and fair trade ingredients.Inform - We believe that it is our duty to inform the public about interconnections between communities and how, together, we can alleviate poverty through fair trade and sustainable choices.Empower - The fair trade of our handcrafted shea butter and sustainable products funds community enhancement projects that encourage self empowerment and gender equality for women in our West African communities.

This product or company has not been evaluated by the Environmental Working Group's cosmetic database, so I have to take Alaffia at their word. I applaud their commitment to sustainability and fair trade.  Besides, this is a very pleasant face cream that leaves your visage feeling moisturized but not oily. 

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 10, 2011

Really Natural Beauty: Affordable Alba Sea Lettuce Cleansing Milk

alba_sea_lettuce.jpg
I enjoy a cleansing milk over a facial scrub. The gentle cleaning works just as well without leaving my face feeling stretched out and dry. I recently purchased Sea Lettuce Cleansing Milk when I found myself needing to spend an unplanned night away.

Product description: This unique soap-free cleanser with sea lettuce, aloe vera, and jojoba, gently lifts away make-up and impurities without stripping delicate skin, for a clean, vibrant complexion. Features and benefits: This gentle cleanser delivers soothing aloe and jojoba to stressed skin, gently lifting away make-up and impurities while maintaining your skin's delicate pH and infusing it with healing moisture. Alba's innovative blend of sea enzymes have a powerful regenerative effect, detoxifying and soothing your skin. Soap-free, No synthetic colors, pH balanced,100% Vegetarian ingredients and no animal testing

At under $10, this is a very affordable cleansing milk, although it did receive a moderate score of hazard from the Environmental Working Group, mostly because of concerns regarding the fragrance and vitamin A used.  I wish Skin Deep was available as an app to help with shopping on the go.  

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 8, 2011

New Chapter Bone Strength: Whole Food Calcium

new_chapter_bone_strength.jpg
Calcium is an important supplement for women as they age.

If you're 30+, you're losing bone.
The truth is, bone density peaks at age 30. After that, it declines at .5% - 1% per year in both women and men. And while it spikes briefly for women following menopause, by age 65 -70 both women and men resume losing bone density at the same rate. Western diets simply don't provide enough calcium. No wonder so many doctors recommend taking a calcium supplement.

I've tried many different calcium supplements. From health food store brands to commercial ones, most calcium upsets my stomach. Not so for plant-based calcium sources, such as New Chapter Bone Strength Take Care:
Many people think that all calcium supplements are created equal. The truth is that the most common form of calcium supplement today is derived from limestone or rock. We don't eat rocks as part of our balanced diet, so why would we choose to supplement our bone health nutritional needs with limestone?

Our bodies understand and seek whole food sources of nutrition. That's why New Chapter formulated Bone Strength Take Care with a whole-food plant source of calcium, magnesium, and other important trace minerals.

The calcium complex in Bone Strength Take Care is derived from a specific plant form called Lithothamnion Calcareum, sustainably harvested from pristine shores along the Icelandic coastline. Much like organic vegetables, this sea plant is allowed to mature naturally and then sustainably harvested to deliver its optimal nutritional value.

Calcium must be completely dissolved in order to be absorbed. The plant-based calcium found in Bone Strength Take Care grows in a honeycomb structure and is extremely porous, which dramatically increases the calcium's surface area. Stomach acid can then come into greater contact with the calcium, making it easy to dissolve. Calcium carbonate sourced from limestone has a much smaller, rocky surface area and is more difficult to dissolve.


No wonder I cannot digest the rock based calcium supplements!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 27, 2011

Numi Organic Tea Chest: 18 Assorted Flavors Committed to People, Planet, and Pure Tea

numi.jpg
Numi is one of my favorite organic tea brands. Numi Organic Tea Tea Chest allows you to sample 18 different varieties of pure tea!

From fertile hills to sun-kissed meadows... from smooth earthy tones to light floral scents, we proudly bring you our palette of teas and herbal teasans. These Gifts of Nature have soothed, roused, healed and been shared for centuries. Green Tea: Gunpowder Green, Jasmine Green, Toasted Rice, Mate Lemon, Ginger Lemon Black Tea: Aged Earl Grey, Breakfast Blend, Decaf Black Vanilla, Golden Chai Pu-erh Tea: Chocolate Pu-erh, Emperor's Pu-erh, Magnolia Pu-erh White Tea: White Rose Herbal Teasan: Chamomile Lemon, Rooibos, Moroccan Mint, Rooibos Chai, Honeybush"

The tea chest is reusable and made from 85% post-consumer waste. The tea bags are biodegradable.
NUMI'S VISION
Numi inspires well-being of mind, body and spirit through the simple art of tea. Our company is rooted in the principle of creating a healthful product that nurtures people and honors the planet. In all of our company initiatives, we strive to foster a healthy, thriving global community while bringing you the purest, best-tasting organic tea.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 25, 2011

Really Natural Books: Energy, Convenient Solutions: How Americans Can Solve the Energy Crisis in Ten Years

energy_convenient_solutions.jpg
Energy, Convenient Solutions: HOW AMERICANS CAN SOLVE THE ENERGY CRISIS IN TEN YEARS by Howard Johnson offers solutions using current technology that would solve the energy crisis. He explains how the energy crisis does not need to be solved just because of climate change, peak oil, etc., but we should focus on solutions to prevent "economic collapse and war".

This book is a collection of descriptions of energy systems-past, present, and future-and of many possible and practical ways to replace fossil fuels with renewable fuels or nonfuel energy systems. All of the new systems described could lead to no-net carbon dioxide addition to our atmosphere. Using easily understandable terminology, the book describes the many energy systems, sources, fuels, conversions and usages that comprise our total energy system. Use of the information in the book could lead to new, safer power plants, new powering and fueling systems for our vehicles, and greater energy efficiency and reliability. These systems are real and practical alternatives that will replace the use of fossil fuels and stop the hemorrhaging of billions of U.S. dollars for petroleum imports.

This book is easy to read; however, it's simplicity is also deceiving. There seems to be a common theme of a less intrusive government, and I do not agree with Johnson's thoughts that we should be drilling for more oil in the US. I am pissed that he calls environmentalists "opportunistic" and "self-serving."

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy