Good Home Co. Products Tested on Good People, not Good Animals

Screen shot 2011-03-19 at 8.09.38 AM.png
Inspired by her parents' farm in Ohio, Christine Dimmick started the Good Home Co. making products on her kitchen stove. The Good Home Co. does not test on animals, only "good humans", and the products are vegan. They do not contain harsh chemicals.

Lately "organic" products have been popular in the market place, however none of our products would be deemed organic. Why? Because in order to be organic, all ingredients must be "grown", which is why the term organic relates to food. We use food items, but we also use other ingredients, such as water and soaps, that simply cannot be "grown". We hold ourselves to high ethics and standards and will not deceive our customers with claims that are impossible and do not pertain to our products, now matter how trendy they currently are. Though one ingredient we use may be deemed organic, if all ingredients cannot make this claim, then the product cannot be ingredient.

I agree with the above statement, but when I read the labels on the Good Home Co. products I was sent to review, not only are some non-descript (fabric softener and fragrance), none are labeled as organic. I understand not labeling an entire product as organic for the above reasons, but I like my products to contain some organic ingredients.  In fact, I take some offense at being labeled as "trendy" for caring about herbicide and pesticide use in our environment. 

We were sent the following products:


The Environmental Working Group has given the Good Home Co.'s fragrance a hazard score of 8. That's pretty high. Other products contain chemical colorants. The Good Home Co. does not claim to be all-natural and admits to using manmade ingredients in its fragrance.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 18, 2011

From Soy Candles to Castile Soap: Kiss My Face Peace Products

kiss_my_face_peace_candle.jpg
Kiss My Face's line of Peace products supports Seeds of Peace.

Seeds of Peace is an organization that pioneers programs and ideals dedicated to challenging widely accepted perceptions and taught to children in countries of conflict. We both believe that by questioning the established way of thinking and spearheading a new movement, change will come... and a new, better way will become the norm.

Founded in 1993 by journalist John Wallach, Seeds of Peace is dedicated to empowering young leaders from regions of conflict with the leadership skills required to advance reconciliation and coexistence.


We adore all of the Kiss My Face Peace products and support their mission!
Kiss My Face Soy Peace Candle, Pomegranate Acai
Give Peace a chance! Peace candles, that is. Each soy wax candle is hand poured with an unbleached cotton wick and scented to bring serenity to your favorite haven.

  • Environmentally safe, no petroleum based wax

  • Soy based, renewable

  • Natural cotton wick
Kiss My Face Peace Soap Grassy Mint Castile
Give Peace Soap a chance! You'll love it. (Peace & love....some things never go out of style.) Combining organic olive oil with coconut, hemp and jojoba oils for luxurious lather and mildness, we have created a totally pleasurable cleaning experience- from head to toe, ceiling to floor, our castile soap cleans skin and much more. Veggie, countertop, dishes or sweater, it does it all and it does it better.

Castile soap has been used for centuries around the world, originating in the Castile region of Spain. This simple soap formula is so effective that it has changed little in 500 years.

Kiss My Face Peace Soap Lavender Mandarin Castile Hand Soap
Same awesome 100% natural castile soap in a self-foaming bottle. Our natural castile soap starts with pure olive oil and natural essential oil fragrances ... lemongrass clary sage, lavender manderin, grassy mint, and pomegranate acai and is bottled in a cool, self-foaming bottle made of 50% post consumer recycled material.
 Kiss My Face was the first all natural beauty line I tried when I first made the switch to a healthier lifestyle at age 16. The company makes me feel nostalgic, and their Peace line does that for anyone who remembers a more idealistic time. 

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 16, 2011

Ayurvedic Tea: Prokapha and Provata All Natural for Your Health

prokapha_tea.jpg Herbal tea is not just for enjoyable drinking but can actually improve your health. R-U-Ved has two blends that not only taste delicious, they are based on the principles of Ayurvedic medicine, the oldest form of medicine in the world! Each tea is designed for your body-mind type: Vata, Pita, or Kapha


Prokapha Tea:
Cloves, Cardamom, Ginger, Green Tea, Cinnamon


Provata Tea:
Fennel, Licorice, Ginger, Cinnamon, Black Cardamom, Ajwain

At about $5, these teas are very affordable. They are kept very fresh in foil packages for individual tea bags, and each box includes an expiration date as well. The only thing that could make these teas better is if they were made with organically grown ingredients.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 14, 2011

Lucky Kids: Point6 Merino Wool Hiking Socks for Kids!

point6.gif
Wool socks have come a long way since my youth, when after one washing they became a felted, itchy mass. Adults love point6 Hiking Tech Medium Cushion Merino Wool Socks, now kids can too!

The Point 6 Difference 
With a new spin on traditional merino wool sock construction, point6 is leading the way in the evolution of the merino wool movement.
 The spinning process turns our premium merino wool fibers into yarn, and compact spinning removes more air from between the fibers, creating a more compact, and thus softer, finer and more durable yarn. This is an expensive process, so other companies are content to use small percentages of compact spun yarns in their products. point6 uses compact spun yarns exclusively in our mens wool socks and womens wool socks. Once spun, our yarns are knit with fine gauge needles, producing more stitches per inch, to create exceptionally soft and durable mens wool socks and womens wool socks. We have created a superior wool sock with increased longevity.

Our company name is derived from 98 point 6 degrees fahrenheit (the body's optimal body temperature), and reinforces the benefits of maintaining optimum performance through the fantastic temperature stabilizing properties of point6 merino wool.


I've quit buying my children crappy, cheap socks. They do not last, and why should their feet suffer while mine enjoy fine merino socks? Lucky kids wear Point6!

Point6 also takes sustainability seriously.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 11, 2011

The Best Breast Pump: Medela Pump In Style Advanced

medela_pump_in_style.jpg
We all know breast is best for baby, and thankfully companies like Medela have made it easier for moms to fill their baby's nourishment needs without being in their constant presence. From working moms to stay-at-home moms, a breast pump makes life more convenient.

With my first child, I had a hand style breast pump that was very inefficient and awkward to use. Even though we were together 99% of the time, I found a pump necessary when she fell ill and couldn't/wouldn't nurse. It was also convenient for when I needed to leave home to run a few errands sans baby in order that others could feed her without resorting to formula.

My second child was born with a congenital heart defect. After open heart surgery, breast pumping was a necessity to meet his needs in this fragile state. It made me feel good that I was helping him heal by pumping, and without Medela Pump in Style Advanced Breast Pump, there's no way I could have pumped round the clock for two weeks straight.

Medela Pump in Style Advanced Breast Pump with On the Go Tote:

Product Features
  • Daily use double pump electric New bag style with extra storage
  • Adjustable speed/vacuum dial lets mom choose her most comfortable setting.
  • Removable PVC-free cooler bag with contoured ice pack keeps milk cool for up to 12 hours.
  • Battery pack lets mom pump anywhere, anytime. (Optional 9V vehicle lighter adapter available).
  • More milk in less time with 2-Phase Expression technology when pumping at Maximum Comfort Vacuum.
I can't say that I enjoyed pumping, but at least the Pump In Style is efficient and painless. I became quite used to the sound, and it gave me some comfort during a very stressful time in my motherhood.

 

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 9, 2011

All Natural FruitziO Freeze Dried Fruit Snack Only 100 Calories Per Bag!

fruitzio.jpg
If you are looking for a full flavor delicious snack that is low in calorie, FruitziO may be the answer. Freeze dried fruit is crunchy and is a great treat; however, FruitziO is not organic. It is made by Crispy Green:

Our Crispy Green and new FruitziO product lines are created using a sophisticated freeze-drying process where water is removed from the fresh fruit in a cold (freezing) vacuum condition, leaving behind the true essence of the fruit in a light and crispy texture that's perfect for snacking.

Fruitzio comes in the following flavors:

These snacks are made in China, which does leave me with a little concern. Cane sugar is also added to these products, which makes me wonder what they would taste like if they were simply fruit. Our samples were packed in styrofoam peanuts (the non-compostable kind). FruitziO may be all natural and have great flavor, but these snacks would be better if they were organic, sugar-free, and made in the USA.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 7, 2011

Best Green Company 2010: Nikwax Cleaning and Waterproofing Extends Life of Your Technical Gear

nikwax.jpg
If you have noticed your synthetic long johns are starting to smell, or the rain water no longer beads on your jacket, Nikwax has the solution for you to extend the life of your favorite gear. Many people think they need a new jacket when it starts to lose its waterproofing, but that is not the case! Nikwax even has solutions for your footwear too!
Nikwax Basewash:

Nikwax BaseWash is a new product created specially for cleaning synthetic base-layers.It enhances the fabrics wicking properties, stopping them from stinking and helping them dry more quickly.

Nikwax Downwash Fabric Cleaner:

Benefits of using this product

  • It prolongs the life of gear and optimises outdoor performance

  • Revitalises loft and insulation, without damaging the structure of the down

  • It maintains breathability

  • It maintains original water-repellency

  • It's easy to apply - can be used in a washing machine


Nikwax Tech Wash:
Wash-in cleaner for waterproof clothing and equipment

Safely revitalises breathability and water-repellency

This product is a non-detergent soap which can be used regularly to clean clothing and equipment without damaging the Durable Water Repellent (DWR) coatings. Use this product instead of detergents or washing powder.


Nikwax Wool Wash:
Nikwax® Wool Wash is a new product created specially for cleaning and maintaining the natural qualities of wool garments. This new innovation from Nikwax® is a gentle product formulated to clean technical wool base-layers, whilst enhancing wool's natural wicking properties. Recommended for Merino.

Nikwax Footwear Cleaning Gel Treatment:
Benefits of using this product

  • Removes dirt and helps to release stains

  • Improves the appearance of dirty footwear

  • Prepares the footwear for proofing with an appropriate footwear product

  • Prolongs the life and performance of all types of footwear

  • Maintains breathability

  • Ideal for footwear with breathable linings e.g. Gore-Tex

  • Easy to apply

  • WaterBased - environmentally friendly, biodegradable, non flammable, non hazardous

  • Does not contain fluorocarbons


Nikwax Sandal Wash:
Nikwax Sandal Wash is a sponge-on cleaner for sandals Designed to clean safely, deodorise all sandal types - leather, fabric and synthetic, leaving you with a fresh smelling fragrance.

Whether you need to revitalize your capilene or your Smartwool, Nikwax has the product you need to keep your expensive outdoor gear lasting.

For two years in a row, Nikwax has been rated

one of the greenest companies in the UK. The Sunday Times Best Green Companies 2010 recognises that we deliver on environmental performance while instilling a culture within the business that ensures employees are doing their part as well. In fact, we are rated as having the 5th greenest workforce in the country!

It only makes sense that a company that helps your outdoor gear last longer also helps protect the environment through sustainable practices.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 4, 2011

Really Natural Beauty: Zi Ran Nature's Beauty is Pure

Screen shot 2011-02-27 at 10.27.59 AM.png
I always love discovering new beauty products that are handmade and truly natural! Zi Ran's philosophy is "Natures Beauty is Pure," and the company lives by this motto with the ingredients they use.

Our Basically Beautiful Lotion line contains;
Aloe Vera Juice, Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Cocoa Butter, Honey, Emulsifying wax (vegetable derived), Vitamin E, Grapefruitseed Extract, Essential Oils (fragrance of your choice) Shake well before each use!!!!!!!

Our All Natural Body Butter contains;
Purified Distilled Water, Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Almond Oil, Raw African Shea Butter, Emulsifying wax (vegetable derived), Vitamin E, Grapefruitseed Extract, Essential Oils (fragrance of your choice)

Our Super Scrub Soap contains;
Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Almond Oil, Jojoba Oil, Purified Distilled Water, Raw African Shea Butter, Tallow, Vitamin E, Grapefruitseed Extract, Lye. Essential Oils (Lemon Oil, and Eucalyptus oil at the moment)

Like any truly natural beauty product, Zi Ran products have a shelf life of six months. Rather than this being a negative, I see it as a positive. When companies include this information on their labels, it means they truly are all-natural.  Natural ingredients do not last indefinitely!

The aromas of the body butter and moisturizer are beautiful! These are products you can truly feel safe about applying to your skin.


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 2, 2011

Really Natural Breakfast: Kashi Heart to Heart Seven Whole Grain Cereals

kashi-heart-to-heart-cereal-printable-coupon.jpg
There's nothing like starting your day with whole grains! Kashi Heart to Heart cereals are delicious and all-natural. Throw in a little fresh fruit, like blueberries, and you have a great, quick breakfast to start your day.


  • Kashi Heart To Heart Honey Toasted Oat Cereal:
    Light, sweet, and crunchy, Heart to Heart Honey Toasted Oat Cereal is a combination of honey-toasted Os, hearts made with whole grain oats, and our unique blend of Seven Whole Grains and Sesame.

  • Kashi Heart To Heart Warm Cinnamon Oat Cereal
    We combined tasty cinnamon with some of our favorite warm spices to create a heart-warming way to start the day. Lightly sweet and crunchy, Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon Oat Cereal is a combination of cinnamon-kissed Os, hearts made with whole grain oats, and our unique blend of Seven Whole Grains.

  • Kashi Heart to Heart Blueberry Flake and Cluster Oat Cereal
    This is a delicious blend of crispy oat flakes and crunchy oat clusters made with sun-sweetened blueberries, one of nature's best antioxidant fruits...Blueberries are nature's #1 antioxidant fruit, and they provide powerful flavor punch in Kashi® Heart to Heart Clusters.

My family really likes this cereal, but I do wish they were made with organic ingredients. It's the only way these cereals could be better, as they are delicious!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 28, 2011

Clean + Green Furniture Refresher Cleans and Eliminates Pet Odors Naturally

clean_green_furniture_refresher.jpg
We have some very stinky dog beds on our deck.   I sometimes sprinkle them with baking soda to eliminate odors. Clean + Green Furniture Refresher Odor Eliminator for Dogs offers another solution:

Powerful and Effective
Professional strength. Used by pet and cleaning professionals. Exclusive Patented Encapsulation Technology and Advanced Eliminator Formula.

All Natural Ingredients:
Cane sugar derivatives, proprietary botanical extracts and hydrated cellulose (cleaning agents), purified water and nitrogen propellant (non-flammable & eco friendly.)

Quick and Easy
Works on contact. Just spray - no need to soak, scrub or rinse.

Safe and Eco Friendly
Safe on all water-safe surfaces. Environmentally Responsible Formulation: non-toxic, non-flammable, non-corrosive, non-carcinogenic, biodegradable and natural propellant.


This product is even suppose to eliminate skunk odor, but I don't think it is safe to spray directly on dog fur.

I sprayed our stinky dog beds, and Clean + Green Furniture Refresher Odor Eliminator for Dogs did seem to help. I am wary of aerosol cans though, even though the National Aerosol Association assures us they do not deplete the ozone layer. Even so, they can be trickier to recycle, so I would prefer to see this product in a pump spray.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy