February 25, 2011

H2O + Sea Results Eye Mender Plus Reduces Wrinkles and Puffiness

h20_sea_results.jpgH2O Plus Sea Results Eye Mender Plus claims to:


    • Over 28 days see a 47% decrease in wrinkle depth

    • 24% reduction in puffiness

    • 19% increase in firmness

    • Patented Marine Micropatch Technology delivers intensive ongoing hydration with long-term preservation of the dermal water reserve
I personally cannot attest to such claims, but I did look up the product on the Environmental Working Group's Skin Deep Cosmetic Database, where this product received a hazard score of seven.

The list of ingredients is very long, and I would not call it all natural. For example, it has Polysorbate 60, which is:

Derived from sorbitan and esterified with fatty acids, polysorbates are oily liquids. The number 60 following polysorbate refers to the fatty acid chemically associated with the polyoxyethylene sorbitan component of the molecule, in this case monostearate.

This is a nice eye cream, but you may want to chose one whose ingredients you can trust as truly all natural, like Dr. Hauschka Daily Revitalizing Eye Cream.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 22, 2011

Really Natural Cookbooks: Raw Food for Real People

raw-food-for-real-people-luscious-vegan-food-made-simple-by-the-chef-and-founder-of-leaf-organics-21475326.jpg
Raw food contains the most nutrients compared to its cooked counterpart. Other than fruit, most people don't eat enough raw food. Raw Food for Real People: Living Vegan Food Made Simple by Rod Rotondi makes it easy for anyone to be a raw foodie!

Many have touted the health and energy benefits of raw foods, but few have presented recipes and instructions for making raw food appealing -- and satisfying -- to everyone. Chef Rod Rotondi demonstrates that going raw isn't hard -- in fact, it's fun, easy, and more delicious than you've ever imagined. You will learn all the fundamentals of preparing your own raw foods at home, including setting up your raw kitchen, transitioning to raw foods, sprouting, dehydration, and raising your kids on raw foods. Best of all, he offers a wealth of recipes for smoothies, breakfast, appetizers, soups, salads, dressings, entrées, and decadent desserts. Rod demonstrates that the best -- and utterly delectable -- way to go green and get healthy is to eat fresh food in its natural state.

I especially like the section on "Making a Salad a Meal". We do this a lot in our home, and I feel so much better after a salad meal. I don't feel weighed down. From "rawsagna" to nut "mylk", there are recipes sure to please anyone, even skeptics.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 21, 2011

Green Diamond Reusable Shopping Bags Feature AP-360 Anti-Bacterial Protection

Screen shot 2011-02-19 at 7.58.01 AM.png
Last year, the mainstream media reported reusable shopping bags were a hazard because they harbored bacteria. For many people, it was all they needed to hear to go back to single-use plastic or paper bags. Green Diamond Bags has a solution with their AP-360 protection.

As research continues to uncover the looming risks associated with reusable shopping bags, AP-360(tm), an all-natural, hypoallergenic renewable resource proves to be a lead-free and Triclosan-free solution. Environmentally-friendly and family-friendly are now synonymous with the introduction of AP-360(tm) treated shopping bags. AP-360(tm) naturally inhibits the growth of dangerous odor-causing bacteria on a treated article. Presently, the only shopping bags treated with AP-360(tm) are the Green Diamond Bag(tm) and AB Bag (a private label Green Diamond Bag used by Haggens).

"It's no secret that recyclable bags have the potential to host a multitude of bacteria," said Bret Schnitker, president of Stars Design Group, the exclusive U.S. supplier of AP-360(tm). "While making a diligent effort to go 'green,' many shoppers are growing increasingly concerned about the impact untreated bags may have on their families. I believe people are thinking twice about the purchase of recyclable bags in an effort to decrease any risk of cross-contaminating and spreading bacteria. Research shows that bags treated with AP-360(tm) reduce the possibility of contamination by creating a negative environment for harmful odor causing bacteria."


With our sample shopping bag, we were sent so much paperwork on the benefits of AP-360, that the paper saved by using the reusable shopping bag is null.

AP-360 appears to be safer than triclosan, and Green Diamond has done their homework in presenting the information. AP-360 is food grade, so it should be safe for grocery shopping.

I am not a fan of anti-bacterial products. I refuse to succumb to that fear tactic used to sell products, especially when it comes to reusable shopping bags. NPR's reporting on the subject was more sane than the phobia created by other reports:

Yes, a study funded by the American Chemistry Council, which by the way represents some disposable plastic bag makers, found there might be microbes hitchhiking in your reusable bags. But a few germs aren't likely to pose much of a health risk.

Academic researchers recently tested 84 reusable grocery bags from shoppers in California and Arizona: More than half the bags contained some sort of coliform bacteria, a category that includes Escherichia coli.


University of Arizona microbiologist Charles Gerba, lead author of the report, tells Shots the findings don't suggest there's going to be an outbreak of disease from the bags.

Instead, the plastics industry-sponsored work, which found 97 percent of the people interviewed never washed their bags, concludes the public should be educated about keeping them clean.

AP-360 may be perfectly safe, but I will stick to organic shopping bags that I wash between trips to the grocery store.

Green Diamond does support Project Eden supporting orphans in Ethiopia. 

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 18, 2011

Pretzel Crisp All-Natural Spreadable Pretzel Cracker

PC Original.jpg
Pretzel Crisps are a unique, all-natural, although NOT organic, snack. They taste just like a real pretzel, only they are thinner and flatter allowing for spreadable toppings. One of my personal favorites dips for pretzels is hummus, and Pretzel Crisps allow for you add additional toppings like a sprig of basil or some avocado.

Using a patented technology to compress the center of the pretzel, Pretzel Crisps, has turned one of America's oldest snacks into the world's first spreadable pretzel cracker, with no fat, cholesterol, artificial flavors or preservatives and only 110 calories per serving.

Created by the husband and wife team behind New York Style Bagel Chips and Pita chips, the vision for Pretzel Crisps was of a thin and crunchy pretzel that could be great for spreading, dipping and adding toppings.

We tried three varieties of Pretzel Crisps:

 These are good snacks; however, I would prefer organic ingredients.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 16, 2011

Two Degrees: Every Bar = Nutrition Pack for Hungry Child in Malawi

Screen shot 2011-02-12 at 10.36.56 AM.png
Two Degrees is a unique company offering all natural, gluten-free fruit and nut bars. In exchange for every bar purchased, children in Malawi are fed.

For every Two Degrees nutrition bar sold, a medically-formulated nutrition pack is delivered to a malnourished child around the world. With the launch of Two Degrees nutrition bars, consumers can now feed a hungry child by purchasing food that tastes good and does good for the global community at www.twodegreesfood.com.

"Two degrees of separation is all that stands between Americans and the 200 million hungry children around the globe," says 24-year-old social entrepreneur Will Hauser, who co-founded Two Degrees Food. "We see ourselves not just as an innovative food company, but as a movement against childhood hunger. Our customers can join us in this fight through simple, everyday purchases of delicious Two Degrees nutrition bars."


Two Degrees bars are delicious; however, they are not made from organically-grown ingredients. I like the concept of the company, but I think that they should be supporting healthy nutrition in both the rich and impoverished countries with organic ingredients.


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 14, 2011

Water Matters: Why We Need to Act Now to Save our Most Critical Resource

water_matters.jpg
You've probably heard of peak oil, and you've probably heard of peak water. The truth is without fresh, clean, water, it doesn't matter if we have oil. Water is life sustaining; oil fuels modern luxuries.

Water Matters: Why We Need to Act Now to Save Our Most Critical Resource is an amazing resource of photographs and articles by leading environmentalists about our most precious resource.

Who controls our water resources and how much water do we have left? Can we enact meaningful changes in our personal lives, our policies and our laws to protect our remaining freshwater reserves? Can we learn to share water equitably with each other and the planet? 
 In this collection, some of the world's leading writers, activists, photographers, and artists have come together to answer those questions and put us on a path for change. Water Matters: Why We Need to Act Now to Save Our Most Critical Resource is a call to action and a solution-focused guide to solving our global water crisis. Authors take on both the good and the bad--the impact of climate change on water resources, the threat of privatization, and the challenge of thirsty agriculture, as well as a growing grassroots water justice movement, tools for watershed literacy, and success stories in conservation and efficiency.

I highly recommend this book! Everyone needs to read this and become educated on one of the most pressing critical issues of our time.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 9, 2011

HOT: Living Through the Next Fifty Years on Earth

hot_living_through_the_next_fifty_years_on_earth.jpg
If you are a parent, then your children are part of what author Mark Hertsgaard dubs "Generation Hot". After becoming a father, Hertsgaard realized climate change had arrived a century earlier than predicted. In Hot: Living Through the Next Fifty Years on Earth, Herstgaard writes on climate change with some optimism in this personal book.

Q: Is that why you say your daughter belongs to what you call Generation Hot?

A: Not only my daughter. Every child on earth born after June 23, 1988, belongs to Generation Hot. Generation Hot includes some two billion young people, all of whom have grown up under global warming and are fated to spend the rest of their lives confronting its mounting impacts.

I date Generation Hot to June 23, 1988, because that's the day humanity was put on notice that greenhouse gas emissions were raising temperatures on this planet. The warning came from NASA scientist James Hansen's testimony to the United States Senate and, crucially, the decision by the New York Times to print the news on page 1, which made global warming a household phrase in news bureaus, living rooms, and government offices the world over.

Unfortunately, Hansen's and countless subsequent warnings by others went unheeded. The U.S. government, under Republican as well as Democratic leadership, listened as much to corporate-funded deniers of climate change as it did to actual scientists. So instead of shifting to greener technologies, U.S. emissions have soared over the past twenty years. That, in turn, helped accelerate global warming to where it triggered outright climate change. And as David King explained, once climate change gets triggered, it can't be turned off quickly.

As a result, my daughter and the other two billion young people of Generation Hot are destined to live with rising temperatures and stronger climate impacts for the rest of their lives. Which is why our new mantra in fighting climate change has to be "Avoid the unmanageable and manage the unavoidable." On the one hand, we must redouble our efforts to slash greenhouse gas emissions and stop global warming before it unleashes an unmanageable amount of climate change. On the other hand, we have to put in place better defenses against sea level rise, more effective water conservation systems, and many other measures to manage the climate change that is already unavoidable. In short, we have to live through global warming even as we strive to stop it.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 7, 2011

The Great White Bear: A Natural and Unnatural History of the Polar Bear

great-white-bear-natural-unnatural-history-polar-kieran-mulvaney-hardcover-cover-art.jpg
The polar bear has become a symbol of climate change. It is the symbol of global warming, in particular, as it is completely dependent upon sea ice for existence.  The ever shrinking polar ice on our planet may bring about its extinction except in conservation programs at zoos. The great white bear is cuter and fiercer than other species that are equally as threatened by global wierding, and thus the story of the polar bear is one that fascinates humans.

The Great White Bear: A Natural and Unnatural History of the Polar Bear by Kieran Mulvaney is the story of two fictional bears.

Polar bears are creatures of paradox: They are white bears whose skin is black; massive predators who can walk almost silently; Arctic residents whose major problem is not staying warm, but keeping cool. Fully grown they can measure 10 feet and weigh close to 2,000 pounds, but at birth they are just 20 ounces. Creatures that may wander thousands of miles over the course of a year, they begin life in a snowdrift.

Human encounters with these legendary beasts are cause for both excitement and apprehension. Tales throughout history describe the ferocity of polar bear attacks on humans; but human hunting of polar bears has exacted a far larger toll, obliging Arctic nations to try to protect their region's iconic species before it's too late.

Now, however, another threat to the polar bears' survival has emerged, one that is steadily removing sea ice and the life it supports. Without this habitat, polar bears cannot exist. The Great White Bear celebrates the story of this unique species. Through a blend of history, both natural and human, through myth and reality and observations both personal and scientific, Kieran Mulvaney masterfully provides a context for readers to consider the polar bear, its history, its life, and its uncertain fate.

This book is also adorned with a section of beautiful photographs in the middle section.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 1, 2011

Takeya Glass Water Bottle Made in Japan

takeya_glass_water_bottle.jpg
I've never had a problem with stainless steel water bottles causing the water to taste like metal, but I often hear this complaint from friends and family. Recently, I discovered another glass water bottle that I adore.

The Takeya Classic Glass Water Bottle with Silicone Sleeve is made in Japan.

Product Features

  • Size: 22-1/2-Ounce

  • High quality glass bottle provides a healthier way to drink

  • Silicone sleeve provides a good grip, a see-through window, and protects the glass vessel

  • Eliminates toxic leaching that plastic can cause

  • Innovative design holds 22-1/2 ounces

  • Dishwasher safe


Of course, a glass water bottle is heavier than its plastic equivalent, but it is much better for your health. You don't have to worry about any leaching with a glass bottle, and I like the ease of being able to throw it into the dishwasher, sleeve and all!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 28, 2011

Lowila Sensitive Skin Soap-Free Bar is Back!

lowila.jpg
If you have sensitive skin, soap can be drying and irritating. Lowila Care is recommended by dermatologists.

What actually sets it apart from other cleansers that address dry or itchy skin is that it is soap-free which means that it works to hydrate skin more so than bar soaps do, making it ideal for anyone with skin sensitivities. The product can be used on both body and face and if you or your friends have babies...it works on them too! Who doesn't love a win, win?

Lowila is ideal for those who suffer from dry or irritated skin conditions such as eczema. In fact, here are some stats we thought you might find of interest for you or your loved ones:


  • Atopic dermatitis is a chronic (long-lasting) disease that affects males and females at the same rate.

  • Although it may occur at any age, it often begins in infancy or childhood.

  • Though it's difficult to determine exactly how many people have eczema - since many never seek a formal diagnosis - it is estimated that 10-20% of infants and children experience symptoms of the disease and, of those, 60% continue to experience symptoms well into adulthood.*

Lowila has been reintroduced by Ranbaxy (it used to be made by Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.). The Environmental Working Group's hazard score rating for this product is six, but that was for the old bar. The ingredients list has changed; however, I would not consider this a natural product (nor does it claim to be), although some of the ingredients are derived from beeswax and coconut oil.  It is vegan and contains no artificial colors or fragrances, which are often the most toxic ingredients in beauty products.  

Lowila has not signed the Compact for Safe Cosmetics.


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy