February 11, 2013

The Unofficial Lego Technic Builder's Guide

Screen shot 2013-02-10 at 9.14.10 AM.png
Legos are fascinating, and although you don't need a manual to create interesting things, what you can do with a little help is amazing.

The Unofficial LEGO Technic Builder's Guide by Pawet "Sariel" Kmiec is not endorsed by Lego. It doesn't need to be.

The LEGO® Technic system opens a new realm of building possibilities. Using motors, gears, pneumatics, pulleys, linkages, and more, you can design LEGO models that really move.

The Unofficial LEGO Technic Builder's Guide is filled with building tips for creating strong yet elegant machines and mechanisms with the Technic system. Author Pawel "Sairel" Kmiec will teach you the foundations of LEGO Technic building, from simple machines to advanced mechanics, even explaining how to create realistic to-scale models. Sariel, a world-renowned LEGO Technic expert, offers unique insight into mechanical principles like torque, power translation, and gear ratios, all using Technic bricks. You'll learn how to:

  • Create sturdy connections that can withstand serious stress
  • Re-create specialized LEGO pieces like casings and u-joints, and build solutions like Schmidt and Oldham couplings, when no standard piece will do
  • Build custom differentials, suspensions, transmissions, and steering systems
  • Pick the right motor for the job--and transform its properties to suit your needs
  • Combine studfull and studless building styles for a stunning look
  • Create remote-controlled vehicles, lighting systems, motorized compressors, and pneumatic engines
This beautifully illustrated, full-color book will inspire you with ideas for building amazing machines like tanks with suspended treads, supercars, cranes, bulldozers, and much more. Your Technic adventure starts now!
There are some amazing ideas in this book, although there is nothing eco-friendly or natural about it. Your kids will be inspired and amazed by this book, but they will need your help to accomplish these Lego engineering feats!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 8, 2013

Organic Frozen Food: Mom Made Foods Munchies and Meals

Screen shot 2013-02-07 at 6.45.44 AM.png
Even the most devoted parents to cooking organic whole foods for their family sometimes has a rushed evening when they need a quick meal. Of course, it is great to freeze some of your own leftovers for such a pinch, but another alternative is organic frozen food like Mom makes.

Mom Made Foods uses organic ingredients and encourages you to take their healthy pledge:

Have you made a pledge to get healthy? Mom Made wants to make it easier for you to keep your commitment to feed your family healthy food, and to teach your kids that nutritious can be delicious! Mom Made cares deeply about children's health and nutrition, and we pledge to do our part to make positive changes. It's not a New Year's resolution; it's what motivates us every day at Mom Made!

Mom Made invites you to take our Healthy Pledge, and receive healthy tips, recipes, deals and more from us all year long.

"I pledge to nourish my kids with the foods they love that are also good for them; read nutrition labels; cut out artificial junk; and help my children learn about the importance of good healthy eating."


We were sent several Mom Made Foods products to try, and yes, they arrived safely and still frozen. My children liked the Mom Made Foods Cheese Pizza Munchie and Apple Pie Munchie.

Mom Made Foods remind me of some of the traditional frozen food I grew up with like mac and cheese and the above products my children liked. I am pleased to see more options of convenience available organically, but my daughter did say my apple pie is much better than the frozen kind!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 7, 2013

Mineral Make Up: Sheer Cover Face Palette Sophisticate Contains Parabens

sheer_cover.jpg
I don't wear make up unless it is to a wedding or some such other special event. Frankly, I don't really know how to put it on effectively. A good friend of mine is a make up artist, and she always recommends mineral make up.

We were sent Sheer Cover Sophisticate Face Palette to try:

Put your best face forward with a fresh take on sophisticated elegance. Everything you need to refine your look from the boardroom to a night on the town. Complete with 4 eye-popping classic shadows, 2 luscious lipglosses, a fabulous blush and a generous mirror for on-the-go convenience. Perfect for your desk drawer, handbag, or travel; you'll always be ready, no matter what comes your way!

This product does contain parabens, which should be avoided, as they have been connected to breast cancer

It may be a handy little compact, but the ingredients do concern me.  There are many other ingredients I cannot pronounce listed, thus I would avoid this product. I am thankful for ingredient disclosure by Sheer Cover, even if some items are listed as "may contain".

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 6, 2013

125+ Vegan Plant-Based Recipes: The Karma Chow Ultimate Cookbook

karma-chow-book-3d-final.jpg
The Karma Chow Ultimate Cookbook: 125+ Delectable Plant-Based Vegan Recipes for a Fit, Happy, Healthy You by Michelle Costello is truly the ultimate vegan cookbook!

The more than 7 million vegetarians and 3 million vegans in the United States alone are proving that chowing down on planet-friendly fare not only helps them look and feel better, but it can be delicious, too. In her debut cookbook, Karma Chow creator and celebrity chef Melissa Costello shares an exciting collection of 125+ recipes that will be a welcome addition for anyone already following a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle or for the growing number of people embracing more plant-based meals. As personal chef to celebrity fitness guru Tony Horton, creator of the bestselling P90X® fitness system, Melissa is constantly finding creative ways to keep Tony and her other clients happy, fit, and fueled.

With her "keep it simple" and "make it tasty" approach, she offers a smorgasbord of dairy- and animal-free appetizers and desserts, breakfasts, and dinners, as well as holiday- and company-worthy menus. Recipes include: Mac & Cheeze, Karma Burgers with Chipotle "Mayo," Thai-Style Tempeh Lettuce Wraps, Supreme-Oh Burritos, Roasted Butternut Squash Soup, Korean-Style Tempeh Tacos with Red Dijon Slaw, Enchilada Casserole with Ranchero Sauce, Artichoke and White Bean Dip, Cilantro Cauliflower Smash, Pad Thai in Peanut Coconut Sauce, Stuffed Mushroom Poppers, Indian Spiced Coconut Yam Soup, Chili Sweet Potato Fries, Un-Shepherd's Pie, Strawberry Crème Mousse with Pistachio Nut Topping, Banana Carob Bread Pudding, Apple/Pear Crisp, Brownie Bites, Chocolate Truffles, and Cardamom Chocolate Chippers (a Tony Horton favorite!)

The Karma Chow Ultimate Cookbook shows anyone how to reconnect with their food and honor it as Earth's source for keeping us alive--all while finding it easier to rock their workouts and sculpt a well-defined physique. It's a winning recipe for success for anyone looking to transition to a healthier way of life!


Some of the recipes I can't wait to try are:

  • Indian-Spiced Coconut Yam Soup

  • Cherry Pecan Quinoa Muffins

  • Kale Slaw with Creamy Pumpkin Seed Dressing

  • Sunflower Seed "Pate"
I really like how many of these recipes have accompanying photographs. The images help me decide what I would like to make, inspire me, and help when cooking to see what the final result will be.

Karma Chow has a great website too with many videos.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 5, 2013

Feel Good Discovery: Bulu Box Monthly Subscription Vitamin and Supplement Samples

BuluBox_PrimBox.jpg
We have been sent another Bulu Box! What's a Bulu Box?

Bulu Box is the best way to discover vitamin, supplement and health products. Each box is filled with 4 to 5 premium products selected to help you feel your best. Look forward to a new mix monthly for both women and men that include: vitamins, weight loss, energy, protein, digestion, sleep support and more.

Earn an easy 50 points ($5) or more each month by reviewing, sharing and completing short surveys. Use your Reward Points to purchase full-sized versions of the products that work best for you!

The box we were sent had the following products:
SafSlim:

Safslim is a clinically researched solution for specifically reducing belly fat!* Its main ingredient is high-linoleic safflower oil. A major university study conducted on post-menopausal women who had high blood sugar and wanted to lose weight showed they had an average reduction of 6.3% belly fat and an average of 20.3% increase in the important belly fat hormone adiponectin.*

CSpray:
Marz Sprays unique delivery system now allows consumers to take their vitamins on the go. CSpray includes a mega dose of Vitamin C and Echinacea, Zinc, Vitamin B12 and Vitamin D. CSpray helps manage stress, increase vitality, and maintain radiant skin. CSpray tastes great and is sugar and gluten free! If you purchased a bottle of every ingredient in CSpray it would cost you hundreds of dollars. For maximum benefits, Vitamin C needs to be re-dosed throughout the day.*

Vibrant Cleanse:
The classic, cleansing lemonade diet, now certified organic and in convenient powder form. The lemonade cleansing diet has been used for decades. It was designed and initially promoted in 1942 by Naturopath Stanley Burroughs as a liquid fast to rid the body of toxins. Industrial pollutants in the air we breathe and water we drink, chemical residues in processed foods, strange molecules from our medicines, and cooking pans, have all embedded themselves in tissues and organs. No one in the world is exempt.*

Warrior Blend Raw Protein:
Warrior Blend fuses and multiplies the power of several rich protein sources into a smooth, great tasting, and revolutionary proprietary formula that is overwhelmingly superior to the individual components alone. This dynamic fusion, along with a cold extraction process, creates a unique, raw, plant-based protein with a complete amino acid profile exceptionally high in Glutamine, Arginine, Lysine, Luecine, and branch chain amino acids.

The next generation in raw, plant-based protein is here, breaking through the constraints of other protein powders. Warrior Blend is an easy digestible, nutrient filled superfood perfect for anyone who wants to amplify their health and fitness levels. Best of all, it tastes phenomenal.*


Organic Papaya Leaf Tea:
Papaya Leaf Tea is made especially for your enjoyment and will help you boost your immunity and maintain overall wellbeing. Drink it now, drink it often and look and feel well! Papaya Leaf tea contains papain enzymes and is a rich source of anti oxidants, about 20 times more powerful than Vitamin E. Known for years for its various medicinal values, papaya has been used in several anti aging and digestive supplements.

So whether you are seeking to enjoy a Unique Herbal Tea experience or improve you overall health, Organic papaya leaf Tea is the Tea for you! Herbal Papaya Products went to town to bring you the very best! Experience its gently tangy taste, somewhat similar to green tea.


Papaya Leaf Extract Capsules
Herbal Papaya is the one company that has pioneered the process of extracting organic papaya leaf extract into easy to take, affordable capsules. Papaya is one of the richest sources of Antioxidants, up to 20 times more powerful than Vitamin E. Papaya Leaf extract may buld immunity and boost platelet count.This product is 100% organic and all natural.

I think samples of some products, like the Safslim, may not be enough to let you know if a product actually works. I did discover two new brands that I plan to purchase next time I go to the health food store: Vibrant Cleanse and Sun Warrior.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 4, 2013

From Chocolate to Million Year Mud: 7th Heaven and Montagne Jeunesse Natural Masks

Screen shot 2013-02-02 at 8.14.13 AM.png
I try to make masks part of my regular beauty routine, but it is far and few between that I actually take the time.

7th Heaven and Montagne Jeunesse make natural, unique masks. 7th Heaven masks 100% natural and about 55% organic. Montagne Jeunesse masks are about 95% natural. 

We were sent many samples from both brands. Each one is individually packaged with just enough for one application. Of course, such single packaging is not good for the environment, but it is convenient and ensures freshness for those of us who forget to use a mask product once we have opened it.

I tried the Moroccan Clay mask. It felt very cool and soothing when applied, and I love the scent! As it remained on my face for 15 minutes and dried out, it began to be a little irritating, like most clay masks. After I washed it off, I felt the need to hydrate right away, but my face feels very soft.  My daughter tried the Strawberry Souffle, which I think is a little over scented. I could smell it from the bathroom!

I appreciate how the 7th Heaven masks disclose how much of the product is organic. All of these products from both brands are vegetarian and not tested on animals.

Prices range from $0.01 to $3.95 on Amazon.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

February 1, 2013

Natural Weight Loss with Chocolate and Probiotics: Active D'Lites Candy Bar

Screen shot 2013-02-01 at 6.42.03 AM.png
The medical community and general public realize the importance of probiotics for our health and overall well-being. Companies such as Probiotix are making it easier for people to get their probiotics and lose weight http://www.probiotixfoods.com/product-p/singles-cb.htmby putting them in candy bars called Active D'Lites. Who doesn't love chocolate?

The proprietary formulation of Active D'Lites is anchored on pre- and probiotics. Probiotics are live microorganisms that promote the body's digestive and immune systems. Research has shown that the largest immune system in the human body is the intestines--the part of the body where probiotic bacteria is found. The presence of probiotic bacteria helps the body fight infection and improves intestinal functioning. Harnessing the power of these beneficial bacteria, Active D'lites has created chocolate and ice cream bars that can be enjoyed on a daily basis without worry of getting off track from weight-loss goals. With 9 grams of fiber and zero grams of sugar or net carbs, each chocolate bar is designed to help you maintain your figure while enjoying the health benefits of probiotics.

I was surprised to see each bar only contains 100 calories. I expected the count to be double that. I am also please they are GMO free.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 31, 2013

Village Naturals Therapy Muscle Relief Natural Lotion

71dJgqzzblL._SL1500_.jpg
We've been using this lotion for quite some time and it does wonders after snowboarding for the day.

  • Massage away muscle aches and pains while aromatherapy vapors help you feel better
  • Deep penetrating therapeutic formula enriched with vitamins and skin softening ingredients
  • Help improve skin circulation and appearance
  • Includes mineral bath soak, liquid mineral bath, mineral shower gel and body lotion
  • Contains juniper to calm and restore, sage to soothe and comfort, and wintergreen to relax and invigorate

At Village Naturals Therapy Muscle Relief Natural Lotion 16 fl oz


Blogpire Productions at Permalink social bookmarking

Glass Dharma Glass Straws: Reusable, Durable, and Healthier than Plastic

dots-straw-earth.jpg
If you have sensitive teeth, have children, or just like to have fun, Glass Dharma glass straws are for everybody! I love these straws!

Since March of 2007 GlassDharma has been producing glass drinking straws. The GlassDharma mission is to create world-wide awareness about single use plastics and how damaging plastic straws are to our environment. Glass Straws provide an alternative that eliminates the need for straws made from plastic.

Actually, we were sent a set of straws four years ago to review on my other blog. We have only broken one, which we could have sent back for the lifetime guarantee.  These glass straws continue to remain clean, durable, and popular with my family, plus they help us live a more plastic-free life.

There are five reasons why you should switch from plastic straws to glass ones:

    1. Glass Dharma's straws are handmade in the USA (Fort Bragg, CA)
    2. Glass doesn't leak toxins into your beverages
    3. Glass straws are dishwasher safe making them easy to clean and sterilize
    4. Glass Dharma straws are guaranteed for life against breakage
    5. Glass straws won't end up in our oceans as part of of the Great Pacific Garbage Patch

Some of these straws also come with a little cleaning brush, but we find that the dishwasher does a great job when you place them in the utensil section and don't really need it.
 

Glass Dharma straws come in a variety of sizes and designs (dots!) to fit your beverage needs. From cocktails to smoothies, there's a perfect glass straw. I am so thrilled to have more Glass Dharma straws in my kitchen!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 30, 2013

Gluten-Free Cookbooks: Cooking with Quinoa for Dummies

cookingwithquinoa.jpg
I have to say I find the title of the "Dummies" books a bit insulting, but heck you don't have to take it personally. Their approach to giving out information is easily accessible to all: dummies and savants alike.

Cooking with Quinoa For Dummies by Cheryl Forberg, RD is filled with recipes and a few photos sure to get your mouth watering.

Touted as "the gold of the Incas", quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) has many health benefits. It is high in both protein and fiber, gluten-free, and has been known to help those with cardiovascular health problems, as well as people who suffer from migraine headaches. Research also shows that the nutritional composition of quinoa is important in fighting breast cancer, especially in post-menopausal women. It is a great gluten alternative, and provides complete protein in vegetarian or vegan dishes. Not only does it have all of these phenomenal health qualities, quinoa is also delicious and extremely versatile!

Quinoa can be made into a breakfast porridge, stuffed into a wrap for lunch, combined with vegetables for a hearty salad, rolled with spices and breadcrumbs to make a delicious burger, and added to an assortment of cakes and breads for an extra protein punch. Cooking with Quinoa for Dummies shows you how you can easily incorporate quinoa into each and every one of your meals and snacks.

  • Offers over 140 gluten-free recipes for incorporating quinoa into breakfasts, lunches, snacks, dinners, and desserts
  • Explains the health benefits and disease-fighting power of this superfood
  • Provides the 4-1-1 on how quinoa can help you lose those unwanted pounds
  • Includes a 16 page color insert with beautiful photos of gluten-free quinoa-packed meals
My whole family loves quinoa, especially my kids! I even love it in chocolate. It cooks up faster than rice and is great alone or part of a dish, even soup!
 

This is not a vegetarian cookbook, but there are plenty of veggie recipes. I want to try the quinoa Nutty Banana Bread recipe!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy