December 29, 2010

Natural Beauty: Derma e Peptide Plus Wrinkle Reverse Eye Creme

derma_e_peptides.jpg
I am a fan of Derma e products, so I was excited to try the derma e Peptides Plus Double-Action Wrinkle Reverse Crème. Relatively odorless, this eye cream has a milky consistency that is thinner than my regular Dr. Hauschka Eye Contour Day Balm.

This revolutionary double-action peptide creme includes two of the most powerful peptides that bio-science has to offer. Formulated with Palmitoyl Pentapeptide to smooth away wrinkles and Acetyl Hexapeptide to relax muscles for healthier, younger-looking skin. Improves skin's resilience, tone and texture and also helps increase collagen and elastin production. A rich and luxurious moisturizing creme that saturates your skin with nutrients and softens even the deepest wrinkles. No animal testing. Made in USA.

Dr. Oz has recognized the peptide Argireline as an effective treatment for crow's feet because it relaxes facial muscles similar to the effects of Botox®. I can't say one way or another if this is true, as I have, nor would ever, resort to Botox.

Wrinkles are an inevitable part of the aging process. I think Americans' obsession with always looking twenty-years-old is unhealthy. We should embrace aging. I will use Derma e products because I like them, not because they promise to reverse the signs of aging.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 27, 2010

Really Natural Cookbooks: Appetite for Reduction: 125 Fast & Filling Low-Fat Vegan Recipes

appetite_for_reduction.jpg
After all those holiday meals packed full of calories, you may be in need of some low-fat recipes to shed away those extra winter pounds. Appetite for Reduction: 125 Fast and Filling Low-Fat Vegan Recipes is filled with delicious and interesting recipes you would never think were vegan or low-fat from their taste. From Mango BBQ Beans to Silky Chickpea Gravy, this is one mouthwatering cookbook!

In Appetite for Reduction, bestselling author and vegan chef Isa Chandra Moskowitz has created 125 delectable, nutritionally-balanced recipes for the foods you crave--lasagna, tacos, barbecue, curries, stews, and much more--and it's all:

  • Only 200 to 400 calories per serving

  • Plant-based and packed with nutrients

  • Low in saturated fat and sugar; high in fiber

  • Drop-dead delicious

You don't need to be on a diet to enjoy these meals and impress your friends with your vegan cooking abilities!


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 24, 2010

Really Natural Cookbooks: Quinoa 365: The Everyday Superfood

quinoa.jpg
In my family, we love quinoa! This kid-friendly grain is quick and easy to prepare, but we rarely include it in a recipe. We just make quinoa for quinoa's sake.

Quinoa 365: The Everyday Superfood is an amazing cookbook that takes quinoa to the next level. Packed with beautiful photographs and recipes, this book has inspired me!

One of the world's healthiest foods, quinoa contains a perfect balance of all eight essential amino acids, and is a great source of protein, making it an increasingly popular food choice for those looking to incorporate "superfoods" into their everyday diets. Gluten-free, wheat-free, and nutrient-packed, quinoa is ideal for those who are health-conscious, vegetarian, and/or physically active, as well as for those with gluten intolerance, wheat allergies, and other digestive disorders. But that's not all: You can eat quinoa guiltlessly knowing it's free of cholesterol and trans fats. In Quinoa 365 sisters Patricia Green and Carolyn Hemming show you how to use this miraculous superfood in all your favourite dishes.

From pomegranate, almond, and feta salad to cucumber, gouda, sprout sandwich, there is nothing you can't do with quinoa! The desserts look especially good and healthy, and I have added quinoa flower to my shopping list.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 23, 2010

Vegetarian Cookbooks: Greens and Grains on the Deep Blue Sea

greens_and_grains.jpg
When I think of vegetarian food, I don't think of cruises; however, Sea cruises offers a Holistic Holiday. Greens and Grains on the Deep Blue Sea: Fabulous Vegetarian Cuisine from the Holistic Holiday at Sea Cruises is a collection of the most popular vegetarian dishes from these cruises.

Even if they don't have their sea legs, fans of vegetarian cooking will want to give this volume a look. Innovative takes on familiar themes dominate this compilation of more than 100 popular dishes served on Costa Cruise Lines' Taste of Health cruises, like the Seitan Paella and the playful Sushi Salad, in which shiitake mushrooms and tofu get tossed with seasoned brown rice and nori. Natural foods expert Pukel and chef Hanna offer clear instructions for preparation, but offer little background on their choice of ingredients; instead, it's assumed that the reader is familiar with arame, shoyu, kombu and lotus root.

I don't find this cookbook as aesthetically pleasing as others. There are no beautiful photographs of the dishes, and the nautical theme is a little strange for a vegetarian cookbook (I had to keep reminding myself this was not a seafood cookbook); however, from vegetable fritters with cilantro dipping sauce to winter root vegetable stew, there are plenty of recipes to make your mouth water whether on land or sea!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 21, 2010

Earth Balance Natural Peanut and Almond Butter: No Stir and No Refrigeration

Screen shot 2010-12-18 at 9.05.02 AM.png
There are two things that really annoy me about natural nut butters. First, when you open them, the oil is separated and requires manual labor to make the peanut butter the right consistency. Inevitably, it is a messy task that I give up in frustration. Second, natural nut butters require refrigeration usually, which means the oils then solidify making the almond butter harder to spread on bread. Earth Balance's new line of nut butters solve these problems.

Earth Balance Creamy Peanut Butter and Earth Balance Almond Butter, Creamy are gluten-free, lactose-free, and vegan. These nut butters are sweetened with agave syrup and require no stirring or refrigeration. The added flax seeds make these nut butters rich in ALA Omega-3.  My only criticism is they are not made from organically grown ingredients.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 17, 2010

Not Eco-Friendly: Brow Beauty Bubble Features Tweezers and 10x Mirror

brow_beauty.jpg
I feel obligated to review every product we are sent for reviewing, even if it is not eco-friendly. The very point that a product is not natural is important for consumers to know. 

 
Tweezerman Brow Beauty Bubble, Candy Cane Wonderland might make it easier to pluck your eyebrows, but the product is housed in a plastic container that is sure to break if dropped repeatedly.

    • Our famous stainless steel Mini Slant Tweezer in red with white glitter-striped Candy Cane Print, featuring our award-winning, perfectly aligned, hand-filed precision tips for expert brow shaping
    • Great for "on-the-go" grooming, or coordinating, travel-ready Tweezermate 10X Magnify Mirror is optically correct - clear from edge to edge - with no distortion - for perfecttweezing
    • Clear Bubble Case is cute and super-packable while keeping mirror & tweezer easy to find, safely stored together, clean and protected. Perfectly packable for holiday gift giving - it's a wrap
    • Perfect for purse and travel
    • Fun and cute design
First, the candy cane striping does make this seem festive, but I really think it would be a strange stocking stuff. Also, the on-the-go marketing concerns me, as I just watched a woman applying makeup as she was driving on the freeway. Would someone be tempted to pluck while driving?

 

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 15, 2010

Let Your Organic Cotton Fashion Educate Children in Developing Countries


GeboMana's organic cotton t-shirts are a win-win for everyone! Not only do these shirts feature fashionable, hip designs made in Bali, they support sustainable education for children in developing countries.

You have an opportunity today to explore Limited-edition Organic T-shirts that make a real difference. These organic T-shirts are unlike any fashion you will find anywhere in the world. Hand numbered, unique designs, that once they are gone, they are gone.

More than just high fashion, high quality T-shirts though, your fashion investment will help a child. Every time we ship a T-shirt, we can start educating another child from a developing nation in sustainable practices.

Just six t-shirts is enough to educate one child for a whole year! These are limited edition t-shirts, so get one (or six) before they run out!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 14, 2010

Wooden iPhone and iPod Accessories from Renewable Materials

wooden_earbuds.jpg
Modern culture is addicted to their electronic gizmos that are upgraded often and accessorized with products made from non-renewables. iWave Audio has created a Grass Roots Collection made from renewable materials like recycled wood.

I've been enviously looking at wooden iPhone cases, but I questioned their durability. Unfortunately, my concerns were valid when testing out iWave's wooden case. When placed on my phone, I noticed there was a little crack that had formed on the top of the case. When I tried removing the case, the whole thing broke into three pieces. I was sorely disappointed. Other wooded iPhone cases may be stronger, but I am not tempted to waste money and try one after this experience. I truly am saddened, as I liked the way my phone looked in the case.

The Grassroots Kaolin ECO-200 Earbuds (Natural) are more durable than the iPhone case. They also have an integrated microphone.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 10, 2010

Green Beer: Fuller's 100% Organic Honey Dew

organic_beer.jpg
I am a former beer drinker. I've converted to wine as my beverage of choice, but I tried Fuller's 100% Organic Honey Dew for you, dear reader. It was quite a sacrifice, let me tell you.

Organic Honey Dew is the UK's best selling organic beer. Light and golden with a zesty edge and a bitter-sweet flavour, Honey Dew is a naturally palatable brew that is Soil Association approved.

Served chilled, Organic Honey Dew offers both refreshment and an unbeatable taste. The real organic honey in the brew gives a gentle sweetness that appeals to a wide range of people, even those who perhaps wouldn't usually drink beer, making it a very popular choice!


This beer has a smooth flavor, and before I knew it, the bottle was drained. There is a slight hint of honey, without the flavor being too sweet or overbearing. This is a tasty green beer!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 8, 2010

ZooBorns: The Newest, Cutest Animals From the World's Zoos and Aquariums


Who doesn't love a baby? Children especially are fascinated by baby animals. ZooBorns is a cute book of photography featuring animal babies of species found throughout the world.  In fact, these are the newest, cutest animals from the world's zoos and aquariums

ZooBorns showcases the newest and cutest animal babies from accredited zoos and aquariums around the world. With interesting animal facts and background stories on the featured babies, ZooBorns illustrates the connections between zoo births and conservation initiatives in the wild.

From clouded leopards to fennec foxes, this book is sure to educate and delight.

I like how this book not only features the baby animals, but it informs readers about endangerment issues. My only critique is that I don't see any information that the book is printed on recycled, forest-friendly paper. If this is true, it is a bit hypocritical to talk about conservation efforts when logging for paper production is responsible for habitat lost for some of these species.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy