August 25, 2010

Reusable Moshi Neato Computer and Flat Screen TV Cleaning Kit Features Green Packaging

41AziIw1ZpL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
Two weeks ago, we reviewed a Non-Toxic, Biodegradable, NOT Natural CyberClean for Electronics. I was disappointed with this product for many reasons, but I mostly wanted something to clean my computer screen. I usually just use a microfiber cloth, but this often just moves the dust around. I discovered in Macworld the moshi neato Screen Cleaning Kit and had to try it.

neato provides a simple yet effective solution for display cleaning. neato does not require the use of any solvents that could potentially damage the screen's anti-reflective coating. Its effectiveness lies in the fact that Neato is comprised of Terahedron, known for its superior cleaning capabilities and microfiber filaments that will not scratch your display. The other component of neato is GeckoPad, a patented elastomer that can adhere to a wide variety of surfaces. Since GeckoPad is not a glue, neato can be attached and removed repeatedly without leaving any residue. This comes in handy for sticking neato to the sides or back of the display for convenient access. Both components of neato are hand-washable and renewable. With proper care, neato can be reused countless number of times, making it the most effective and eco-friendly screen cleaner on the market today.

The grey pad is used for wiping dust particles off your screen, then the black one removes smudges. The grey pad worked well, but the black one did not get all of the marks off of the screen, although it got the majority of them.

Moshi uses soy inks on its packaging and all of the materials are recyclable. It would be better if the packaging was made from recycled materials.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 23, 2010

On Sale: Smith Proof Evolve Sunglasses Made from Renewable Materials

smith proof.jpg
Recently, I broke my favorite pair of Serengeti sunglasses and had to buy a new pair. I purchased Smith Proof Sunglasses, which I love, but I was shocked to learn I paid twice as much as they are on sale right now! For only $64.95, these stylish glasses have a lifetime warranty and are made from renewable materials.

These sunglasses are part of the Evolve line:

For forty years smith optics has been a steward of outdoors, evolve is our commitment to the health of our environment.

Other than paying too much for my sunglasses, I love my Smiths. If you are in the market for a new pair, check out the sale and get a killer pair for half price.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 18, 2010

Synergy Organic Clothing: Fashionable, Sustainable, and Affordable

synergy.jpg
It is hard to find organic fashions that are actually affordable, but Synergy Organic Clothing has done just that! I recently purchased an Organic Cotton Bird A-Line Skirt ($46), and I keep going back for more Synergy items! Not only is this skirt made from organic cotton, but is colored with low impact dyes and made in Nepal.

Synergy makes clothing that combines sustainability, with modern yet timeless design. We strive to make clothing that looks good, while being gentle on the Earth. We predominantly work with G.O.T.S certified organic cotton from India, that is dyed with low impact dyes. Our clothing is hand made in Nepal according to fair trade practices, verified by our long-term relationships with our manufacturers and our frequent trips to Nepal. Each season we look for ways to minimize our footprint as a business, in both the ways our clothing is made and in our daily operations.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 16, 2010

Really Natural Cookbooks: Green & Black's Chocolate Recipes

organic chocolate recipe book.jpg
From the makers of my favorite chocolate, comes an incredible cookbook! Green & Black's Chocolate Recipes, Revised Edition is the kind of cookbook that makes you drool. Not only is it filled with incredible organic chocolate recipes, it also gives you an education into cocoa (e.g. growers' associations, education, cultural information).

This is the ultimate chocolate cookbook. It contains 100 recipes to tempt, tease & torment lovers of this food of the gods. Chocolate is one of the most luxurious and satisfying foods, full of texture and flavor, and it is also a versatile cooking ingredient, not only for rich, dark desserts but also a perfect partner for savory and spicy dishes.

Above all, chocolate can be molded to suit every occasion and so the chapters within the book include Abracadabra (quick & easy recipes) and Wicked (irresistible concoctions). Woven into the book are stories about the Maya in Belize who cultivate organic cocoa for use in our chocolate bars as well as tips on cooking techniques and handling chocolate.


Of course, all great chocolate recipes start with fair trade, organic chocolate

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 13, 2010

Really Natural Cookbooks: The Homesteader's Kitchen Recipes From Farm to Table

The Homesteader's kitchen.jpg
Every once in awhile I come across a cookbook that I get really excited about. Homesteader's Kitchen, The: Recipes from Farm to Table is full of delicious, whole food recipes, as well as incredible photographs. It is motivating to me as a gardener to inspire new creations in the kitchen from what I have grown. From Miso Vegetable Soup to Brown Rice Cream with Dates, Cinnamon, and Vanilla, your palate will not be disappointed.

In The Homesteader's Kitchen, author Robin Burnside presents wholesome recipes and motherly advice for preparing nourishing meals, tasty embellishments, and luscious desserts. Her focus is on using fruits and vegetables from the family garden or the nearby farmers market. She teaches how to turn these local, organic foods into snacks, meals, and treats that nourish the soul as well as the body. From Multigrain Blueberry Pancakes in the morning, a Creamy Mango-Coconut Smoothie for a snack, a crisp Asian Cabbage Salad for lunch, an evening meal of Grilled Wild Salmon Fillet with Thai Cilantro Pesto, to a dessert of Spicy Pear Pie, Burnside offers mouthwatering recipes that are fun to prepare and a joy to eat.

My only criticism is with the title. The recipes do include some exotic items, like pineapple, so if the audience is intended to be North America, which is my assumption, than the ingredients truly aren't from your own homestead garden or local farmer's market. These ingredients are an exception in the cookbook that mostly favors items you can find seasonally grown in your local community.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 12, 2010

Non-Toxic, Biodegradable, NOT Natural CyberClean for Electronics

51scd0XR40L._SL500_AA300_.jpg
Cleaning your computer keyboard can be challenging, and Cyber Clean thinks they have the solution. Made from Swiss materials in China, this gooey compound forms around the keys and other crevices in electronics (and cars) to pick up loose dirt.

This amazing Swiss formula is a cleaning compound designed to get deep into all the cracks and crevices on any item or device. Cyber Clean is effective at removing 99.99% of harmful particles that live on everyday surfaces and it is fun and easy to use. Cyber Clean is a viscous, elastic compound designed to mold itself to fit the nooks and crevices that harbor harmful dirt. Cyber Clean will not migrate to other surfaces.

It is biodegradable and non-toxic, which is why I think the PR company sent me a sample to review; however, nothing resembles anything natural about this product. I did not find this product amazing, and I really thought I should be wearing gloves when using it. I did not pick up some spots on my keyboard, but then again, it only promises to pick up the loose dirt. It does not remove "oils and smudges off of screens", which is where my electronics always seem to be the dirtiest.

The Cyber Clean Automotive version is handy for cleaning out vents, but then again, so is a toothbrush or cotton swab.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 9, 2010

Natural Silk Travel Sheet/ Sleeping Bag Liner Adds 10 Degrees of Warmth

silk sheet.jpg After many years of wanting one, I finally bought a 100% Premium Silk Sleeping Bag Liner. This sleeping bag liner can also be used as a travel sheet too. Made from luxurious silk, this liner is a comforting bonus when camping!

The Sea To Summit 100% Premium Silk Sleeping Bag Liner not only feels luxurious, it provides a layer of protection between you and sketchy hostel or budget hotel mattresses. Thanks to its high quality, machine-washable, ripstop silk, this sleeping bag liner packs down into its own tiny stuff sack and weighs less than a can of soda, so you can easily take it traveling or backpacking. On cold, clear nights under the stars, layer it in your sleeping bag to add up to 10 degrees of warmth to your bag's temperature rating
.
This silk liner comes with a lifetime warranty!  It also eliminates the need to own a warmer zero degree sleeping bag.  

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 6, 2010

Pros and Cons of San Pellegrino All Natural Sparkling Lemon Beverage

san pellegrino limonata.jpg
I've gotten into the habit of drinking San Pellegrino Limonata Sparking Beverage. I first tried this refreshing beverage at an upscale restaurant, and then discovered our local CostCo carried cases of it. I feel good about drinking this all natural beverage, but I do have some reservations.
Pros:

  • All natural

  • No high fructose corn syrup

  • Great in cocktails


Cons:

  • Product of Italy (heavy carbon footprint shipping to USA)

  • Owned by Nestle (responsible for much bottled water degradation)

  • Not organic


I'll probably continue to enjoy San Pellegrino Limonata Sparking Beverage on occasion, but it is best to drink organic sodas.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

August 4, 2010

All Natural Chocolate Peanut Butter Handmade Treats by Jer's

jer.jpg
Jer's All Natural Handmade Chocolates makes delicious combination peanut butter and chocolate treats.

Jer's products, which have won six International Taste Awards to date, combine crunchy rice crisps, salty pretzels, buttery toffee, or gooey homemade caramel with all-natural, premium, dark, milk and white chocolates and all-natural peanut butter (made from locally-grown Valencia peanuts, the most nutritious, peanut-sweet and protein-rich available).

We tried out several varieties of Jer's handmade chocolates:

If you like peanut butter with chocolate, then you will like Jer's products. Personally, I prefer organic to simply all-natural, so I will stick to Newman's Own Organic Peanut Butter Cups with Milk Chocolate for my fix!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 30, 2010

Hint Premium Essence Water: 0 Calorie, 0 Preservatives, 0 Sweeteners

Screen shot 2010-07-28 at 8.31.22 AM.png
Sometimes water is just not enough to quench your thirst, or you would like a little flavor without all that sugar or high fructose corn syrup common to beverages.
Hint Premium Essence Water offers a healthy alternative.

The idea behind Hint is simple: pure water, nature's original refreshment, accented with a hint of natural flavor. No sugar, no artificial sweeteners no preservatives! Hint is a refreshing alternative to sodas, juice and other sweetened drinks and it tastes great.

I like the subtle flavor of Hint, but if you are used to sugary liquids, it may take some adjustment of your tastebuds. Since I am a mostly water drinker, Hint tasted full of flavor.  Their motto is "drink water, not sugar".

Hint does come in plastic containers (#1), and the label reads "Coming soon 15% less plastic".

Hint Water is also good in cocktails!  

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy