May 21, 2010

Natural Dog and Cat Treats Made from Wild, Sustainable Icelandic Haddock

wishes-231x300.jpg
There were some lucky dogs in my home when we opened up our sample of The Honest Kitchen Wishes treats.

Wishes are suitable for both cats and dogs, and can be used as a general reward or aid to training. Wishes are made with 100% wild caught Haddock from Iceland using sustainable fishing practices.

Iceland places a strong emphasis on the protection of its marine habitats and manages the waters off its coasts to prevent over-fishing. Icelandic haddock stocks have risen dramatically in the past 5 years.

They're grain-free, delicious and perfect for sensitive pets who suffer from allergies or intolerance to certain foods such as grains and proteins.

Ingredients

100% human-grade, wild caught Icelandic Haddock.


When you open this bag, the fish smell exudes, which was my first clue these treats are what they claim to be. My dogs hungrily ate these treats begging for more. My only complaint is the bag is a little small when you have three large dogs, but these are high quality treats!

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 19, 2010

Chemical-Free, Fragrance-Free Hair Gel for Babies and Kids

Screen shot 2010-05-15 at 9.24.11 AM.png
This may seem like an odd product, but Le Baby has created a chemical-free, fragrance-free hair gel for babies and kids. I call this product odd, because you may wonder why babies need hair gel. I have seen many parents spike little boy's hair into mohawks, and I needed hair gel to tame my daughter's locks into a bun when she took ballet (we used Jason Natural Products Hi-Shine Styling Gel). Even so, I don't really think this is a product you need.

Tami Dimmerman, creator of Le Baby, searched for a product that would tame and style her daughter Chloe's fly-away hair without aggravating her eczema or irritating her sensitive skin. She hoped to find a safe, gentle and effective gel without harsh chemicals or potentially harmful ingredients. Unwilling to settle for what was in the marketplace, Tami spent months experimenting with different all-natural formulas until, through animal-free testing, she found the perfect combination.
I also question the chemical-free claim when the listed ingredients include sodium benzoate and disodium EDTA, for example. Just because an ingredient is derived from a natural ingredient does not make a product chemical-free.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 17, 2010

Green Cleaning: New Earth Friendly Products

earthfriendlyproducts.jpg
Earth Friendly Products was one of the first natural cleaning companies I discovered before going green was in vogue.

Our family began by making cleaners for industrial use before Corvettes had fins. When your grandmother was wearing a poodle skirt and drinking a float at the soda fountain, we were earning our first patents

Decades later, when Jimi Hendrix turned rock upside down and played guitar with his teeth, we started our own quiet rebellion. We decided: only cleaners that were plant-based. Only paper that was recycled. Only products not tested on animals, period.

Does it sound boring to say we're family owned and operated? Because what it means to us is that it's personal. We've been around, well - seems like forever. We know how to make cleaners that CLEAN, paper goods that work (with 80% post-consumer content, and that's good,) detergents that won't harm a fiber of your clothing, and a phosphate-free auto dish soap that won't etch anything. Ever.


Earth Friendly Products has introduced three new products we have tried:
Baby Liquid Laundry Soap, Organic Chamomile & Lavender:
Our new Baby Laundry Soap is a hypo-allergenic, everyday laundry soap containing only the highest quality ingredients. Gentle enough for baby's sensitive skin, Baby Laundry Soap rinses thoroughly, leaving baby's laundry clean and soft. As always, it is plant-based, non-toxic, and environmentally responsible. Baby Laundry Soap employs soothing chamomile and lavender essential oils, and is suitable for hand-washing wools, silks, and other fine washables.

Fruit and Vegetable Wash:
Helps remove pesticides, chemical, heavy metals, dirt, wax and bacteria from the surface of fruits and vegetables. Fruit & Vegetable Wash is tasteless and rinses away clean. Beacuse natural ingredients are used, color and body may vary.

DuoDish:
DuoDishâ„¢ is a revolutionary breakthrough in dishwashing. For the first time ever, you can handle your dishwashing needs with one detergent - DuoDishâ„¢. Have a few dishes to clean? Just hand wash to avoid waste. Is your sink cluttered? Use that same liquid for a full automatic machine load. Say bye, bye to etched dishes, glassware and utensils and hello to clean and clear dishwashing results with DuoDishâ„¢ Enjoy another "first" by Earth Friendly Products.

I love the baby liquid laundry soap, and I don't think it has to be just for babies! The use of organic essential oils is a bonus and a first that I do not recall encountering in laundry products. I don't use vegetable and fruit washes. I think that water and a little dish soap is all you need, but I don't even use soap usually, just a rinse in water. Of course, I only buy and grow organic produce, but I have never thought of the need to also remove bacteria when washing fruits and vegetables. The DuoDish is a great idea eliminating the need for two soap products in the kitchen. It also contains organic essential oils.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 14, 2010

Exercise and Fitness: Powerhouse Hit the Deck Cards

powerhouse.jpg
The most important thing you can do for your health, besides eating well, is exercise! I have my routine of daily hikes and yoga practice, but Powerhouse has another solution that does not require expensive equipment or gym membership.

Powerhouse Hit the Deck - Exercise Cards and Interval Timer is great for traveling or fitness inspiration in the home. The cards are labeled by three intensities: no sweat, I'm glistening, and sweating buckets.

Set the interval timer, draw your first card and perform as many repetitions of the exercise on the card as possible. When the timer beeps, draw your next card! Each card provides both cardiovascular and resistance training at the same time, making your workout more efficient and effective. This portable and easy to use fitness program can be done anywhere, anytime, with no fitness equipment needed. It's perfect for the traveling executive or anyone who can't work out at the gym. You can lose weight, improve fitness, increase energy, manage stress and improve the quality of your sleep by making this a regular part of your fitness routine. Whether you are just starting out or are an advanced exerciser, PowerHouse Hit the Deck provides the appropriate intensity for the results you want."

Although there is a recommended program for using the cards, I like just pulling a random card out of the deck and seeing what I get. The timer also ensures you perform the exercises for a set duration and helps you set goals.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 12, 2010

Natural Beauty Secrets: Clearly Beautiful Collagen Facial Mask with Hyaluronic Acid

cbFacial.jpg

Clearly Beautiful offers a natural hydrating line of facial products. Featuring a facial mask and eye mask, these products contain:
an exclusive formula combining all natural ingredients with a pure plant collagen delivery system. It will transform your skin by nourishing both the epidermal (top) layer and penetrating deeply into the skin to aid in increased collagen production, cell renewal, and total skin hydration.
Pulling the facial mask out of the packaging, it resembled rubbery goo. I found it difficult to align over my eyes and mouth. Although the label assures me the liquid is safe to enter my eyes, I wanted to avoid any drips. The mask does have a cooling, soothing effect, but it is difficult to keep in place unless one reclines and does not move or talk or sneeze!
 

Clearly Beautiful uses plant-derived collagen. The active ingredient is Hyaluronic acid, hopefully not in nanoparticle form. Each mask costs $25, which is steep for a weekly regime in my opinion, and I did not see immediate results as promised, but my skin did feel soothed.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 10, 2010

Really Natural Books: Recipe for Raising Chickens

recipe for raising chickens.jpg
Many of my friends have recently purchase chicks and are raising backyard chickens in their urban environment. I remember my neighbors growing up had backyard fowl. Raising your own chickens are an easy way to become an urban homesteader.

Minnie Rose Lovgreen's Recipe for Raising Chickens: The Main Thing Is to Keep Them Happy is an easy to read handbook with everything you need to know to raise chickens. Written by Minnie Rose, an Englishwoman who was scheduled to travel on the Titanic but "hopped" an earlier boat, this book is full of humor and simple wisdom.

Minnie Rose, a chicken lover and gifted storyteller, had always wanted to write a book on raising chickens, but was always too busy. Then in Nov., 1974, soon after her 86th birthday, she was diagnosed with cancer. Her friend Nancy Rekow took the ferry into Seattle, appeared in her hospital room with a tape recorder, and said, "Minnie Rose, now we're going to write your book." And they did.

Minnie hand-lettered and illustrated her book.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 5, 2010

Recycled Cotton Farmer's Market Tote by Olive & Myrtle

olive & Myrtle.jpg

Spring time means the return of The Farmer's Market. Of course, you wouldn't want to shop the market with those horrible plastic bags from the supermarket, and hopefully you don't have any in your home anyways from using reusable bags. Olive & Myrtle makes the perfect bag for your farmer's market or any shopping excursion.
Product Description Look fresh at the farmer's market with this large recycled cotton tote bag. Made from 100% post-industrial cotton scrap and printed with water-based inks. Exclusive design by San Francisco based Lab Partners

Features and Benefits
Made from 100% recycled cotton
Fair Wage and Fair Labor Certified
Printed with water-based inks
Durable construction, holds more than a full grocery bag.


I really love our Recycled Cotton Tote Bag and think recycled cotton is certainly an eco step above simply organically grown cotton.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 3, 2010

Really Natural Foods: Terra Verde Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Terra_Verde_500m_4b95139590c18.jpg
When you think of Texas, you probably don't think of olive oil. Recently, we were sent a bottle of Terra Verde Extra Virgin Olive Oil by Texas Hill Country Olive Company. This product is "estate grown & hand picked", as well as being 100% natural and cold pressed.

Texas Hill Country Olive Company is a family run artisanal olive orchard near the town of Dripping Springs, Texas. Our land is located in the Central Texas Hill Country, the perfect environment for growing olive trees.

The idea to offer individuals an opportunity to adopt an olive tree in the Texas Hill Country was conceived by John Gambini. Together with the Mensik Family, John turned the idea into a reality. Texas Hill Country Olive Company is an organic olive tree farm focused on developing some of the finest olive oil produced in the United States. We are proud to join the pioneering group of entrepreneurs who are building the olive oil industry in the state of Texas.


What I don't understand is if the farm is organic, why isn't the olive oil? This olive oil has a very pleasant flavor, but organically-grown is best for health and our planet. For now, I think I will stick to Napa Valley Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil because it is made closer to home and carries the USDA organic label.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

April 26, 2010

Really Natural Beauty: Biodynamic Dr. Hauschka Rose Day Cream

dr.hauschkarosedaycream.jpg
I rarely buy natural beauty products anymore, as I get plenty of samples to review. Recently, I found myself out of face cream and resorted to purchasing one of my old favorites: Dr. Hauschka Rose Day Cream.

A rich, luxurious daily moisturizer. Soothing rose ingredients nurture and renew sensitive, dry and weather-damaged skin. Protects skin against dryness and soothes red, irritated skin and conditions of couperose.

  • Protects the delicate outer layer of the skin against dryness and irritation

  • Extracts of rose petal, rose hip and avocado soothe and renew red, irritated, sensitive skin

  • Seals in moisture to prevent dryness

  • Thirty rose flowers go into each tube of Rose Day Cream


Although I don't have any "irritated skin conditions", I like how this cream is thick and nourishing, but it doesn't feel heavy and oily. I do spend a lot of time in the sun gardening, so I like the soothing qualities of the rose cream.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

April 23, 2010

Really Natural Cleaning: Wool Sea Sponges Are Not Just for Beauty

wool sea sponge.jpg
I recently purchased a natural sea wool sponge. I've used such sponges before in the bath; however, this sponge I bought for house cleaning, specifically outside window washing. Sea wool sponges are durable, soft (no worries about scratching windows), and they do an amazing job. My sea wool sponge has quickly become my favorite tool for cleaning all around the house. They are perfect for car washing too!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy