March 29, 2010

Fair Labor, Organic Bamboo T-Shirt Supports Great Lakes Restoration

Screen shot 2010-03-29 at 9.45.29 AM.png
Are looking for a really cool, really comfortable eco-friendly shirt? thINK Conscious Apparel Thistle Bamboo Tee is my new favorite top. Made from eco-friendly bamboo and organic cotton, this shirt is made with fair labor practices and helps support the Milwaukee Community Service Corps, which works to restore the Great Lakes.

The Corps recognizes the potential of every young person to be a positive, contributing member of the Milwaukee community. By channelling [sic] this potential into educational, job-training, and environmental conservation experiences, we boost their morale, academic performance and provide a benefit to the local community.

The t-shirt is made in Turkey and printed in Wisconsin. Supporting inner city youth and eco-friendly fashion is easy with thINK apparel.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 26, 2010

Eco Fashion: Stewart + Brown Hemp Jersey Cinch Skirt

hempjerseycinchskirt.jpg
Stewart + Brown is one of my favorite eco-friendly clothing companies.

Karen Stewart and Howard Brown, partners in life and work, launched their ethical fashion brand in 2002 from Los Angeles, California. Inspired by their love and respect for nature and a passion for design, Karen and Howard were filled with a sense of purpose and determined to pioneer the sustainable fashion movement.

Stewart + Brown's hemp hemp jersey cinch skirt is one of my favorite items of clothing. It is the softest hemp I have ever felt and is super comfortable to wear. The drawstring gather on the side makes the skirt unique. The skirt is a little bit expensive at $98, but you won't be disappointed in its quality, and if you are like me, you will certainly get your money's worth by wearing it all the time.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 24, 2010

Natural Body Care: (SEED) Uses the Power of Nature (Grape Seed Enriched)

seed.jpg
Grape seed extract is pretty amazing stuff leftover from the winemaking process! I've used it to cure toenail fungus, and now there is a line of body care products that harnesses its power for natural beauty: (SEED)

(seed)+ Nourishing Body Lotion, Restful Lavender Sage: Brimming with the power of grape seed oil providing natural Vitamin E, the lotion is also rich in linoleic and essential fatty acids, which protects the skin and aids in moisturizing. The lotion also includes soothing green tea extract and shea butter for extra conditioning benefits. Our favorite part, the lotion absorbs quickly, is not greasy, and is long-lasting. Now that is the power of nature at its best! Available in three different scents: Invigorating Citrus Blend, Restful Lavender Sage, and unscented.

Moisturizing Body Soap: This grape seed oil and extract enriched body soap includes an additional boost from refined pomegranate, apricot and strawberry seeds to gently exfoliate and cleanse --bye bye scaly skin!
Available in two different scents: IInvigorating Citrus Thyme, and unscented.

Lathering Shampoo Bar: This spectacular grape seed oil enriched shampoo also includes conditioning panthenol Pro-Vitamin B5 and fruit seed oils which are shown to moisturize and repair stressed tresses. We love the compact quality of this bar making it easily portable - great for the gym and it lasts a long time. So long plastic bottle! This bar was especially formulated for short hair and guys love it! Available in two different scents: IInvigorating Citrus Thyme, and unscented.


Of course, all of these products come in recyclable or biodegradable containers, and they are made in the USA. I do wish the ingredients were organic though.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 23, 2010

Ditch the Paper Towels: Cloth Reusable "Paper" Towels

reusablepapertowels.jpg
Many of my friends have completely ditched paper towels, but I still keep a roll of brown recycled ones for really nasty clean up jobs I don't want to use my kitchen towels on. In fact, when my friend's father visited, he was pleased to see I was a paper towel user, as this was an issue between his daughter and him, and sent me a roll of super absorbent ones (he didn't like my brown paper towels).

Well, I have finally found a solution to paper towels: reusable paper towels! They aren't really made of paper, but they are cloth towels that can be used like a paper towel for those dirty jobs. They aren't quite as absorbent, but who cares when you are doing something that is better for the environment! They also come with a neat little bag you can hang from your cabinets to make them easy to dispense. The towels are made of "super absorbent birdseye diaper fabric", which got me thinking, why aren't I just using all those old cloth diapers I have from two children?


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 18, 2010

Organic Dried Fruit by Peeled Snacks Favorite of Oprah

41+d7YFRy3L._SL500_AA280_.jpg
Last month on another blog, I reviewed Peeled Snacks not so favorably for their food additives. The company read my review and kindly sent me the organic version of their dried fruit. Peeled Snacks Organic Fruit Picks Variety Pack comes in five flavors: pine-4-Pineapple, Cherry-go-round, Apricot-a-lot, Apple-2-the-core, and Banan-a-peel.

Organic or 100% natural single serving snacks that you can grab-and-go! We offer eight delicious varieties, featuring large pieces of dried fruit or dry roasted nuts. Our snacks are a natural source of vitamins, minerals and fiber. They have no trans fats, no hydrogenated oils, and no artificial flavors or colors. They are also cholesterol, wheat, gluten and dairy free.

Apparently Oprah has called Peeled snacks her "favorite afternoon snack". I do like the organic varieties better than the preserved ones; however, I think that packaging is a concern. There is very little fruit in each package, as it is designed for a snack, but it seems excessive for just four pieces of dried fruit (that's what I found in the pineapple package). One of the biggest problems I find with snack products is packaging. You are much better buying in bulk and reusing containers for snacks.


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 17, 2010

Roasted Seaweed Snacks from Korea

seasgiftnori.jpg
I am addicted to seaweed snacks, as are my kids. Sea's Gift Korean Seaweed Snack (Kim Nori), Roasted & Sea Salted is absolutely delicious and the perfect salty snack. It melts in your mouth and it is easy to devour a whole package before you know it.


  • All natural Korean seaweed snack

  • Roasted in sesame oil; Lightly salted with sea salt

  • Abundance of minerals & vitamins

  • Low calorie; No cholesterol; Healthy Snack

  • Wonderful nutty flavor

The only drawbacks to this wonderful snack is the packaging. It is heavily packaged for a little bit of seaweed, and each package comes with a "moisture absorbing packet". I understand this is necessary, but I wish they would include more seaweed in each packet. It is also a drawback that this product is shipped the all the way from Korea, but I really do love it and forgive these faults for the occasional treat.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 15, 2010

Really Natural Kitchens: Odor-Free Stainless Steel Compost Pail

compostpail.jpg
I have used the same funky plastic tupperware container for compost for over ten years. The plastic is stained and stinks, but I could never justify buying a new compost pail until I visited a herbalist friend of mine in Oregon. On her counter was a bright and shiny odor-free compost pail. I decided it was worth the expense.

The Odor-Free Countertop Compost Container has a replaceable filter in its lid. It is stylish and holds a lot of compost before having to make trips to the pile. It really classes up my kitchen counter, and I know it will last at least as long as my old tupperware.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 12, 2010

Environmentally Friendly Shoes: El Naturalista

41ELurR+x8L._AA280_.jpg
Are you looking for a quality pair of eco-friendly shoes? I recently visited a friend of mine and tried on her El Naturalista shoes. I had to own a pair!

You do your part to recycle and be as earth-friendly as possible, why stop there? The inviting Iggdrasil mary jane from El Naturalista is comfortable, attractive, and just right for the environmentalist in all of us. The vegetable-tanned leather is churned with ground tree bark and river stones for weeks to make the hide resilient to dirt, water, and daily wear and tear. It features pretty contrast stitching, too.

El Naturalista takes social and environmental responsibility seriously, which I was pleased to learn after buying my shoes.

El Naturalista frog Eco Policy

El Naturalista is an international shoe brand that makes comfortable yet fashionable footwear inspired by nature and people.

Adherence to our environmental policy is a prerequisite for doing business at El Naturalista. All suppliers, factories, agents and sales personnel must be strongly committed to our earth friendly practices.

We are continually working to find even better and more eco-friendly ways to produce our shoes. Our customers are aware of our environmental policies and our increasing sales demonstrate that consumers approve and support- our efforts.


  • We use natural materials and dyes

  • We avoid using polluting substances and toxic products

  • We seek to protect the environment

  • We maximize the use of biodegradable and recyclable/recycled materials

  • We pay fair compensation to providers and employees

  • We promoted traditional forms of production

  • We support the use of appropriate new technologies

  • We operate with corporate transparency

Shoes and material

El Naturalista uses the least harmful materials in the production of our shoes. We use natural dyes. We use recycled materials as much as possible: for example, the recycled polyurethane inner liner and the recycled rubber insoles (N 096 Iggdrasil). When dyeing leather, El Naturalista uses the least harmful chrome combination for the environment. Additionally, El Naturalista has developed the "pergamino leather", which is treated without the use of chrome.


I am very impressed with the quality and comfort of El Naturalista, and I definitely will explore other styles by this brand.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 10, 2010

Really Natural Books: National Geographic's True Green Life in 100 Everyday Ways

truegreenlife.jpg
It's exciting to announce the latest book in National Geographic's True Green series: True Green Life: In 100 Everyday Ways

This colorful, practical book presents scores of completely new tips for simply yet surely transforming everything from our vacations to our health to our celebrations. Ten chapters, liberally illustrated with 100 color photographs, present a wide cross-section of useful and uncomplicated ways not only to help the environment, but also to save money through smarter use of resources. Surprising facts, easy-to-understand advice, and a dynamic presentation follow the style of the previous True Green titles: friendly, familiar, and sure to be this season's favorite among the many readers who already know and love these books.

This title will be released next week on March 16, and we were lucky enough to receive and advance copy for review. The presentation of True Green Life: In 100 Everyday Ways is very user-friendly and aesthetically pleasing. I love the information on "recycling holiday cheer" and don't mow it away". From light green to dark green, everyone can learn something from this resource.  The book ends with the reminder:

Treat the Earth well: it was not given to you by your parents,
it was loaned to you by your children.
We do not inherit the Earth from our ancestors,
we borrow it from our children.
-Ancient proverb

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

March 8, 2010

Spilled Milk Organic Cookies Use Fair Trade Chocolate Chips

Screen shot 2010-03-05 at 3.31.39 PM.png

The Rabbit Hole Bake Shop makes delicious organic "oatie" cookies.

As the creators of Spilled Milk, we always choose to venture down the rabbit hole. We're very excited to share our newest venture, Spilled Milk Oaties. Enjoy their organic and whole grain goodness and rich, comforting flavors. Take a deep breath and smile, because these cookies are brought to you from two friends who truly believe life is a little easier when you can laugh at spilled milk.

These cookies come in four flavors:

  • peanut butter cocoa oatie
  • apricot oatie
  • chocolate chip oatie
  • ginger oatie

Not only are these cookies made from organic ingredients, but the chocolate is Fair Trade certified.  I'm a big cookie fan, and these taste like cookies made at home with wholesome ingredients.

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of these products to review. No prior assurances were given as to whether the review be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy