November 27, 2009

Natural Beauty Products from Native Australian Plants

lillypilly.jpg
LillyPilly makes natural beauty products from Australian native plants.

For thousands of years the indigenous people of Australia have known about the skin revitalising properties of native Australian plants extracts - purifying lilly pilly, invigorating eucalyptus, soothing tea tree and rejuvenating Kakadu plum...LillyPilly is Australian owned and made and has been uniquely formulated in the harsh Australian climate to counter the effects of environmental pollutants and a busy lifestyle which can leave skin dull, tired and damaged.

We've tried out three LillyPilly products:

Eucalyptus with Nerolina Body Wash: At $17.99, this is a big tube that will last a long time.
Wake up your senses with Eucalyptus with Nerolina Body Wash. With its subtle menthol scent blended with the lavender and lilac undertones of Nerolina oil Eucalyptus Body Wash is the perfect tonic to decongest sluggish skin leaving it silky smooth and never dry.


Kakadu Plum Hand & Body Creme
: At $9.99 a tube, you will love the scent of this lotion.
Rejuvenate your skin with Kakadu Plum Hand & Body Crème. Fruit from the Kakadu Plum tree is the richest natural source of vitamin C in the world - an important antioxidant which helps prevent the breakdown of collagen in the skin. Blended with the naturally potent antioxidants and exfoliating fruit acids found in Lilly Pilly extract. Enriched with vitamins A & E, omega oils and Aloe Vera.

Tea Tree with Rosewood Hand & Body Creme: At $9.99 a tube, you will love the way this lotion hydrates your skin.
Soothe, calm and replenish sensitive and stressed skin with the healing properties of Tea Tree oil renowned for its antiseptic qualities. Enriched with vitamins A & E, omega oils and Aloe Vera.

Disclosure: I was sent the above described products in order to write this review. This is an authentic review and no prior assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 25, 2009

Naked, Package Free, Fresh Handmade Beauty Products by LUSH

lush.jpg
LUSH Handmade Cosmetics prides themselves on selling "naked" products. 65% of their products are sold without packaging, making them more environmentally friendly. Furthermore, Lush is against animal testing, as you would expect.

Our Core Beliefs
We believe in making effective products from fresh, organic* fruit and vegetables, the finest essential oils and safe synthetics.

We invent our own products and fragrances. We make them fresh by hand using little or no preservative or packaging, using only vegetarian ingredients, and tell you when they were made.

We believe in buying ingredients only from companies that do not commission tests on animals and in testing our products on humans.

We believe in happy people making happy soap, putting our faces on our products and making our mums proud.

We believe in long candlelit baths, sharing showers, massage, filling the world with perfume and in the right to make mistakes, lose everything and start again.

We believe our products are good value, that we should make a profit and that the customer is always right.

* We also believe words like fresh and organic have honest meaning beyond marketing.

I've tried out two LUSH products:

Breath of Fresh Air Toner by LUSH: This is a nice skin toner that "tones without tightness". It's not my all time favorite toner, but I do like it. Perhaps it is the hint of patchouli that reminds me of my Dead tour days. I like that this product uses sea water as an ingredient.

Vanilla in the Mist Body Soap by LUSH: I'm a big vanilla fan, and I love this soap. It actually uses real vanilla pods to create a wonderful scent. Lush is also "the only cosmetics company in the world using a palm-free soap base, but we're happy to share the formula with other cosmetics companies (we've already done so) so they can make the switch away from palm!"

Disclosure: We were sent the above described products to test in order to write this review. No advance assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.


Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 23, 2009

Organic, Gluten Free Kids Cereals by Nature's Path Not Just for Kids!

gluten free.jpg
Celiac's disease runs in my family, so we try to limit our gluten intake, even though no one has yet to show gluten sensitivity. Many of Nature's Paths Envirokidz line of organic cereals has always been gluten-free. Some of our favorites include:

All of these products are gluten-free, organic, vegetarian, low in sodium, and contain no preservatives or additives.

Disclosure: I was sent the above described products to try out in order to write an authentic review. Assurances were not given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 20, 2009

Natural Art Supplies that are Genuinely Non-Toxic and Sustainably Manufactured

natural_rock_crayons_overview.jpg
I truly believe that one of the best gifts you can give a child are art supplies; however, even though many kid art supplies carry the "non-toxic" label, they may not be truly sustainable or natural. Clementine Art's motto is "Non-toxic is just the beginning," and the company was born out of a children's art studio in Boulder, CO.

Clementine Art produces professional-quality and earth-friendly art supplies with pure, simple ingredients. Clementine's products are colored with plant and mineral pigments instead of artificial dyes, providing an innovative solution to chemical laden, artificially colored art supplies. Clementine Art's products do not contain any synthetic preservatives, animal byproducts, or petroleum bases, and Clementine is the first art product company to list all ingredients on its packages.

Considering how messy young children are when they create often getting supplies in their hair, skin, and even mouth, choosing quality natural products is key.  The Clementine Art Holiday Eco-Art Gift Set contains:

The vivid colors of these art supplies are wonderful, and the crayon and rock shapes are perfect for little hands. The soy crayons and rock work better than traditional crayons, and I am in love with all of the products we tried. Furthermore, Clementine Art's packaging is made from recyclable and recycled content in a wind-powered facility.

Disclosure: We were sent a Clementine Art Holiday Eco-Art Gift Set to review without prior assurances of positive or negative opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 16, 2009

This Isn't the Caramel Apple of Your Youth (It's Also Not Organic)

mrs.prindables.jpg
You have until Monday, November 23, 2009 to order one of these unique Caramel Apples from Mrs. Prindables in time for Thanksgiving. Loaded with chocolate, almonds, and peanut butter chips, this apple serves between eight to ten people. Mrs. Prindables also makes gourmet gift baskets.

My family tried one of the Autumn Wreath Jumbo Apples. My deprived children had never had a caramel apple before, and they didn't know what to expect. This apple is so loaded with chocolate and peanut butter chips, it's hard to find the apple inside. It's a good thing a tart granny smith is inside to counter that sweetness on the outside. In my opinion, it's a little (OK, a lot) too much. My children enjoyed it, but this apple is not made from organic ingredients and contains corn syrup (not high fructose).

Disclosure:  I was sent this product for review at no cost.  No assurances were given as to whether the review would be positive or negative in exchange for the product.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 11, 2009

Green, Eco-Friendly Non-Stick, Non-Scratch Extreme Temperature Ceramic Cookware

extrema cookware.jpg
Finally, there is a safe, green alternative in non-stick, non-scratch cookware. Cermacor's Xtrema cookware is amazing! From saucepans to tea kettles, "Xtrema is healthier than any other cookware and we have documented scientific and laboratory testing to prove it." There are many, many benefits to Xtrema, beside avoiding teflon or aluminum:


  • Xtreme High Temperature: Cookware can withstand 2,700 F, Steel can melt at 2,200 F

  • Xtremely Easy to Clean: Non-Scratch, Non-Toxic Ceramic Glaze Surface

  • Xtremely Attractive: High Gloss Black Finish

  • Xtremely Versatile: Oven, Stovetop, Broiler, Freezer, Barbeque Grill, Microwave Oven, Dishwasher and Dining Room Table

  • Xtremely Healthy Cooking: No Trace Metals or Chemicals Leaching from the Cooking Surface

  • Xtremely Practical: Reduces Cooking Time and Uses Less Energy, Foods Stay Hotter Longer

  • Xtremely Tasty: Ceramic Far Infrared Cooking Enhances the Food Flavor and the Entire Cooking Experience

  • Xtremely Durable: Cooking Surface can not be Scratched, even by Metal Utensils and Industrial Steel Wool


Extrema cookware is handcrafted in China, taking 22 days from start to finish:
The Chinese artisans have been handcrafting ceramics for over 5,000 years and we believe in providing the consumer with the very best in product quality and that is why we decided to have our product made where the finest ceramics in the world are made and that is in mainland China.

My family tested out a Three Piece 20 Oz Retro Tea Set and pie plate. We love Xtrema. It is the best green cookware on the market, and I highly recommend it! It's super easy to clean, and I am assured my family is not being poisoned by the very cookware our food is prepared in.

Disclosure: I was given the tea set and pie plate in order to test the products to write this review. There were no advance assurances given as to whether the review would be positive or negative.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 10, 2009

Icebreaker Stylish Merino Wool Shirts for Men and Women

icebreakerdetour polo.jpg
I often think of Icebreaker garments as a base layering piece for cold weather play, and I especially love their eco-friendly kids' line; however, this New Zealand company makes some gorgeous, stylish clothes as well.

Icebreaker SuperFine150 Detour Polo Shirt - Short-Sleeve - Men's: This shirt is very hip, with subtle stitch details. The ultralite fabric is perfect for warm to hot weather, as it "breaths as well as cotton but won't hold odour - so you can wear it for days without having to wash it". This shirt also looks nice with a longsleeve shirt layered underneath. Certain colors and styles are on sale right now too!

icebreakerwomens.jpg
Icebreaker Superfine 140 Henley Lite Shirt - Women's: This shirt is also made of superfine ultralite merino wool, which is not itchy at all and versatile for any weather conditions. The slight ruching and 3/4 sleeves gives this top a flattering, feminine shape.

Icebreaker is a sustainable company from product to packaging. Each step of the process (source, ethical manufacturing, transparent supply chain, and animal welfare) is part of the company's philosophy. They even add a compound to their plastic bags to assist in "oxo-biodegration" should the bags end up in a landfill rather than be recycled.

Disclosure:  I was given the above described products in order to complete this authentic review.  No guarantees as to the positive or negative nature of the review in exchange for this product.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 5, 2009

Reusable Baggu X3 Shopping Bags Go With You Anywhere and Make Great Gift Wrap

baggu.jpg
One of the things I love about the Baggu X3 Reusable Shopping Bags, besides the tough ripstop nylon fabric, is the convenient pouch that contains three bags. This pouch makes it easy to throw your Baggu bags in any purse or bag and ensures you will never run out of bags when shopping. Sure, it is relatively easy to remember your shopping bags at the grocery store, but what about your other errands? Having a few bags in your purse, pocket, or backpack means you never use a plastic bag again. Each Baggu bag can hold up to 50 pounds of merchandise.

Another great use of Baggu X3 Reusable Shopping Bags is wrapping presents! With the holidays approaching, using a reusable shopping bag instead of gift wrap is like giving two gifts!  It also gives a subtle hint to loved ones that it is time to break the plastic bag habit. With all of the bright colors and designs Baggu offers, your presents will look great.

Disclosure: Baggu provided me with X3 shopping bags in order to complete this review. No assurances were given in advance as to whether the review would be positive or negative. 

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 4, 2009

Handmade Upcycled Bags Made from Waste in Indonesia

shopaholic.jpg

XSProject USA makes upcycled bags from waste in Indonesia.  

the problem
80,000 tons of flexible plastic packaging are manufactured each year in Indonesia.
 
The average timespan of a single-use drink container packaged in flexible plastic is only 4 seconds. Because there are no safe disposal methods for flexible plastic, it may accumulate and then sit in a landfill forever. And because there are no traditional recycling techniques for this type of plastic it has little resale market value.

XSProject uses craftspeople and trashpickers to create unique bags from Indonesian waste.  A variety of bag designs are offered, from the Shopaholic made from recycled billboard bags to the What a Waste trash receptacle

I am not a fan of the aesthetics of most upcycled type bags, but I do love the concept.  I do think the Shopaholic is a great bag, and it is interesting to read the labels on the bags to see what products are popular in Indonesia.  The bags do have a very strong odor though, which is bothersome to me.  Many of the bags still smell like the products they once labeled.  Also, there are companies like Terracycle making similar products in the US, so it would lessen your carbon footprint to support them over purchasing a bag all the way from Indonesia.

Disclosure:  XSProject sent me three bags in order to write this review. There were no assurances given in advance as to the outcome of the review. 

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

October 30, 2009

Safely Relieve Common Pregnancy Skin Problems of Acne and Itchy Skin with Belli Pregnancy

belliacne.jpg
Two problems I remember being plagued by during both of my pregnancies was acne caused by hormonal changes and itchy skin caused by the big belly stretch. Belli Pregnancy has safe solutions to these problems.


  • BELLI Acne Clearing Facial Wash: This product uses lactic acid to treat blemished skin, as well as cucumber and green tea. This is not a soapy wash, but a smooth, lemony scented cleansing wash. It is important to note that most acne treatments are not recommended during pregnancy, except for Belli's product.


  • BELLI All Day Moisture Body Lotion: This is a wonderful lotion that uses lemon oil, chamomile, and shea butter to provide lasting relief for itchy skin. When I was pregnant, I was plagued with an itchy back from my growing, stretching skin, and no lotion could provide relief. I am not pregnant now, but this lotion did a wonderful job on my dry fall/winter hands. This product received a score of three out of ten for toxicity by the Environmental Working Group.

Belli Pregnancy is safe during those pregnancy months because:

Belli Pregnancy has set a higher standard for prenatal safety, as the only skin care line in the world that is teratology screened. We search through over 16 million medical research articles in over 5000 international journals, and use this information to exclude ingredients with even remote links to birth defects or other problems with pregnancy. Belli Motherhood is LactMed screened to avoid ingredients linked to harmful effects during breastfeeding. Belli Baby is screened for xenoestrogens--chemicals which can act like hormones that interfere with normal development of the reproductive system.

Of course, you don't have to be pregnant to enjoy these products.


Disclosure: I was sent free samples of the above products in order to write an authentic review. I did not guarantee a positive or negative review in exchange for the samples.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy