July 24, 2009

Naturally Eliminate Bathroom Odors Before They Occur with Poo-Pourri's Organic Nature's Call

image001.jpg Poo-Pourri Preventive Bathroom Odor Spray has just released an organic version of its all natural odor eliminating product. Nature's Call combines organic essential oils to trap "odors at its source". Before going, simply spray into the toilet bowel and let the "citrus fresh blend" do its magic.
Poo-Pourri Nature's Call is a natural blend of Organic essential oils that create a film on the surface of toilet water, trapping odor at its source and eliminating it, instead of masking it. A few sprays in the water before you go, and the essential oils in Nature's Call will create a physical barrier around odor to neutralize it before it reaches the air. This means no odor while using the bathroom or after. Nature's Call also does more than just improve air quality - it is environmentally friendly, safe for your septic tank and the planet. "The Poo-Pourri line has always been natural and environmentally friendly," said Suzy Batiz, Poo-Pourri's founder and creator. "However, we found that as consumers become greener, there is a greater demand for Organic products. This is what inspired me to create Nature's Call."
Now, if only I can get everyone in my family to remember to use the Poo-Pourri before they go!
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 15, 2009

Green Home Remodeling: Zero VOC Natura Paint by Benjamin Moore

natura.gif Recently, my daughter decided she was finished with her Pepto-Bismol pink bedroom walls. It was a happy day in my life, as I have detested the color since she picked it out at three-years-old. As an eight-year-old, she has chose Benjamin Moore Natura Paint in blue orchid. Natura is a zero VOC, virtually odorless, acrylic paint.
Virtually odorless Natura paint is the greenest and safest paint available in the market. In independent third party testing, Natura paint has the lowest total VOC emissions of any national paint brand tested. Available in any color, Natura also outperforms the competition by being the safest paint for your family without compromising performance or color selection.

The paint smell was very mild as we applied it, and I felt comfortable letting my daughter help. I had chosen the semi-gloss, thinking this would be easier to clean in her room; however, it was more difficult to apply than the flat would have been. In places, drips occurred even when applying with a roller. Next time, we will use the flat or eggshell finish.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 13, 2009

Fight Coffee and Tea Stains with Eco-Friendly Wave Dishwasher Gel

wavegel.jpg Nothing annoys me more than removing dishes from the dishwasher that are still dirty. Sometimes coffee and tea stains are the hardest to remove. Earth Friendly Products has a solution: Wave Auto Dish Gel High Performance
Earth Friendly Products' Wave Auto Dishwashing Gel, available in Lavender or Free & Clear, is 100% natural, phosphate-free, petroleum-free, 1,4-dioxane-free and is the purest, greenest, most effective dish detergent on the market. This all-natural automatic dishwashing detergent won't pollute the waterways, won't etch glasses or dishes, will clean just as well as leading brands and now removes permeating coffee and tea stains. And at $3.99 for 40 ounces, Wave Auto Dishwashing Gel, with a built-in rinse aid, is priced to compete against the standard dish detergents so consumers can afford to incorporate green into their lifestyle.
I am a newbie to having a dishwasher, as I live off-the-grid. I've always used powdered dish detergents, but after trying Wave's gel, I am ready to make the switch. I especially like the way it does not leave a powdery residue on my wine glasses.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 10, 2009

Kick the Bottled Water Habit With a Wellness H2.0 Filtration Reusable Water Bottle

H2.0 bottle.png One of the biggest scams sold to the American public is believing that bottled water is better for your health than the tap water in your home. Even though tap water is safe to drink, many people still prefer a little extra filtration, especially if you live in an area practicing toilet to tap water recycling. Enter the Wellness® H2.O Bottle:
The Wellness H2.O Bottle is a reusable water bottle that provides better-than-bottled water on the go, preventing up to 1,100 plastic bottles of plastic waste with each cartridge. Made of non-BPA leaching #4 low density polyethylene (LDPE), the bottle contains a 2 micron carbon block filter which removes a wide spectrum of contaminants including Chlorine, toxic byproducts, volatile organics, and heavy metals such as Lead. Wellness Enterprises' patented enhancement technology is also included, adding rare Japanese minerals to the water which increase its hydrating ability, add antioxidants, and naturally increase alkalinity. The ultimate environment product. Eliminates 1100+ plastic bottles, reduces carbon emissions and conserves natural resources Saves you up to $1000 in bottled water purchases per year Only bottle to produce nourishing, better-than-bottled-quality, "enhanced" water without the cost or waste associated with bottled water.
Although I am not a fan of plastic water bottles, reusable or not, the filtration system is replaceable, and who couldn't use a little extra Japanese minerals?
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 6, 2009

Recycled Billboard Bag by Terracycle and Yak Pak

yakpak.jpg The ultimate upcycling company Terracycle has partnered with Yak Pak to create a unique, durable line of recycled billboard bags.
The product line is hip, stylish and because each is made from a different cut of a billboard, every single bag is a one-of-a-kind piece of art. They are manufactured at a hydroelectric powered facility in El Salvador, which is wholly owned by Yak Pak who pays fair wages and assures proper working conditions. The product line includes a variety of functional shapes including messenger bags, backpacks, laptop sleeves and totes and are very affordable, with most retailing for less than $35.
According to Terracycle, over 3,000,000 vinyl billboards end up in US landfills each year. Upcycling billboards into useful products helps close the loop and in my opinion, should be a requirement for any company that uses this form of advertising. Thankfully, Terracycle and Yak Pak are here to help!
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

July 3, 2009

Purify and Moisturize Hands Naturally with Clean George

cleangeorge.png It's Fourth of July weekend, and you are sure to be out and about with your family. Often when attending events, such as parades or fireworks, it is impossible to wash your hands before every snack, especially when your little Curious Georges are off exploring. Clean George all natural hand purifiers offer a great solution to alcohol-based hand sanitizers.
Today, amid concerns that anti-bacterial soaps cause 'super germs' and alcohol-based hand sanitizers contain harsh chemicals that strip the skin of natural oils and are unsafe for children, Clean George announces an organically pure solution for disinfecting hands when soap and water aren't readily available. The company has just released the first organic hand purifier that is also a moisturizer-- one with no alcohol-based ingredients, phthalates or parabens which are ingredients commonly found in other hand-sanitizing products on the market today.

Clean George is made with ECOCERT, certified organic and FSC (Forest Stewardship Council) certified ingredients, making it 100% eco-responsible. Clean George replaces chemical antibacterials with sustainably farmed tea tree and manuka oils, which are recognized natural antibacterials.


I love Clean George products, especially the "Lovin' Lavender" scent. Each bottle costs about $10 and has 400 squirts equating to less than 3 cents a squirt. The bottles are also made of 100% post consumer recycled plastic.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 29, 2009

Green Perfume and Organic Aromatherapy for Men and Women by Nantucket Natural Oils

nantucket.jpg Natural oils can do wonders for the body and soul, unlike perfumes that contain alcohol and come with a heavy price tag. Nantucket Natural Oils custom creates many products from after shave balm to shampoos that will delight your senses.
Nantucket Natural Oils, The Fragrance Bar, was established in 1983 when John Harding discovered he has the one-in-a-million olfactory equivalent of perfect pitch. He's been sniffing his way to sweet success in the perfume industry ever since. Frustrated by the high alcohol content and short shelf life of most designer scents, the effusive Harding set out to create his own fragrance formula.
We recently tried out a few affordable Nantucket Natural Oils products:
Chill Out Sport Rub:
Cool and refreshing, this rub has anti-inflammatory properties to work deeply and relax over-used muscles while increasing blood flow and boosting energy. Contains menthol, camphor, rosemary oil, eucalyptus oil, sage oil and fir needle. Spots only, do not apply to full body. Nantucket Natural Oil's fine natural-perfumed massage products, appropriate for professional practitioners and personal use, are specially formulated to relieve muscle soreness and tension, while nourishing and softening the skin with vitamins and botanicals.
Organic Spa Shea Butter & White Tea Massage Lotion:
70% Certified Organic Ingredients. One of the only Organic Massage Lotions on the market, this luxurious lotion provides optimal manipulation of skin and muscles with a smooth glide and lasting workability to both the spa professional and at home user. It is light and silky, yet penetrates slowly to allow for a long lasting,pampering massage experience. Ultra rich emollients - sunflower seed oil and shea butter, plus nourishing Certified Organic aloe, calendula, comfrey and anti-oxidants white tea and vitamin E, replenish and soften skin while protecting it from free radical damage. Unscented, this lotion can easily be customized with a few drops of any Nantucket Natural Oil of your choice for aromatherapeutic benefits.
Nantucket Blend- Rain:
Nantucket Rain is a nice mix with the notes of HONEYSUCKLE AND DAFFODIL. Nantucket rain - spring flora of the island.
The One by Dolce & Gabbana for Men: Introduced by Dolce & Gabbana in 2006.
The One is a warm, oriental floral with modern sensuality. Created for the ultimate diva, The One is at once tempting, modern and glamorous, embracing a touch of classicism. The top notes radiate a vibrant luminosity, with a sun-touched citrus blend of bergamot and mandarin. Warm fruity notes of luscious lychee and succulent peach add to the delight. The passionate heart evokes an exploding femininity, with an opulent floral soul comprised of madonna lily, muguet and jasmine, creating a distinct, audacious signature. An unexpected hint of plum glows as the base finally blooms with the luscious allure of precious vetyver, accentuated with the lasting warmth of vanilla and sweetened ambery-musk tones.


The Chill Out Sport Rub was just what I needed after a hard day of physical labor building a rock wall. It was a relaxing blessing! My Spa Shop is a great place to shop for Nantucket Natural Oils!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 26, 2009

Natural Food Friday: Organic Baked Apple Snacks by Yogachips

yogachips.gif Sweet organic fuji apples are used to make Yogachips. These baked snacks are full of crunchy apple flavor. They are made in a two part process where first the apples are baked and then popped. Yogachips are certified USDA Organic and Ecocert.
Ecocert is an international third party certifying body that verifies organic claims and grants organic certifications on behalf of the USDA.
Yogachips uses Ecocert certification because the apples it uses are grown in China. This certainly adds to the carbon footprint of this product if it is consumed in the US.
In the course of producing a wonderful apple chip, we also look for ways to ensure we benefit our suppliers and the environment. Our Fuji apples come from China's northern Shanxi Province and grow on the southern slopes of a mountain range facing the Yellow River. As terroir makes a good wine, so are the natural factors at our orchards critical to nature providing a sweet, juicy apple. Grown at 2,300ft, our USDA (NOP - National Organic Program) certified orchards are cool enough to deter most pests, allowing apples to grow and ripen robustly from the first April blossom through till October harvest.

Yogachips are also Kosher, gluten-free, Halal, and certified vegan. My children love them and can easily eat a couple servings in one sitting.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 24, 2009

Sweet Organic Baby Clothes by Hessnatur

BABy hessnatur.jpg We've been fortunate enough to review beautiful natural fiber clothing by Hessnatur before, now we have discovered their organic baby apparel line! Super sweet, soft, and adorable, Hessnatur's organic baby line means everyone in the family can dress in eco-fashion. Hessnatur is always fair trade, organic, and sustainable, which is exactly what baby deserves against their fresh, delicate skin.

What our clothes are made of and with

  • Pure, natural fibers- organic whenever possible. Made from renewable resources: Vegetable (cotton, linen, hemp, ramie); Animal (wool, specialty wools such as angora, cashmere, alpaca, mohair, yak; silk).
  • No PVC or Teflon, anywhere.
  • Natural materials for buttons, like ivory nut, wood, horn, or mother-of-pearl
  • Trims and linings are made from natural fibers, usually 100% organic cotton or 100% natural silk
  • Any metals used for zippers, buckles and buttons are nickel- and chrome-free.  Other materials are only used for these accessories in the rare cases when natural materials or metals are not functional enough.
  • Our only exceptions: we sometimes use up to 8% of elastane/spandex for the stretch in some lingerie and socks. All the spandex we use is covered in cotton so no synthetic touches your skin.

What our clothes aren't made of or with

  • Synthetic fibers: made from chemical substances derived from petroleum, like nylon, polyester or acrylic
  • Regenerated fibers: chemically treated and re-processed fibers made from natural materials that cannot be used for textiles in their original form, like viscose, modal and acetate. Their manufacturing causes significant water and power usage.
  • Azo dyes which can give off dangerous, carcinogenic and mutagenic amines
  • Dyes and dye procedures that include toxic heavy metals, which are known carcinogens
  • Optical brighteners, which are probable allergens
  • Chemical finishes, such as moth-proofing, anti-microbial, easy-care, wrinkle-free finishes, made with synthetic resins
  • Chlorine bleach, which harms the environment

Hessnatur also offers maternity clothes from moms to be! I wish I would have had these organic maternity clothes during my pregnancies!  Unborn babies deserve the best against mommy's skin too! 

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 22, 2009

Biodegradable Bamboo Dinnerware

Picture 3.png
It's exciting to see more and more alternatives to disposable plates and cutlery appear on the market. Bamboo Studio has introduced a line of biodegradeable dinnerware:

Bamboo Studio is a revolutionary all-occasion dinnerware that is both disposable and reusable. Handcrafted from the sheath of the emerging bamboo plant, these dynamic new serving pieces are elegant, strong, and environmentally friendly.

  • Strong and leak resistant

  • Handcrafted from Bamboo sheath

  • No harsh chemicals or bleaches are used

  • Requires little energy to make and Bamboo is 100% biodegradable


Bamboo Studio's organic certification is pending. What makes these bamboo plates unique is that they are made from the sheath of the plant, so the living bamboo is not harmed. The sheath also has a beautiful texture. This dinnerware is longer lasting and sturdier than typical paper plates, besides it is far more aesthetically pleasing.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy