June 19, 2009

Customized, Reusable Sigg Water Bottles Perfect for Gifts, Camp, and Back to School

Picture 2.png Greensender, known to me for the adventures of Mini G, is now creating customized Sigg water bottles.
Greensender creates custom SIGG bottles by using a precision laser engraving process. Your design is created by etching away the top layer of color which exposes the vibrant metallic bottle underneath. The result is an exquisite and extremely durable mark that will make your SIGG bottle a prized possession, the envy of all your friends and an arrow in the quiver of environmental justice!
We all know the importance of using reusable water bottles over plastic ones, but it can be difficult to tell your reusable bottle apart from your friends' bottles. Sure, Klean Kanteens and Siggs come in different colors or designs, but even so, this does not make each one unique. For example at my daughter's school, several kids and teachers have the same Klean Kanteen. We have tried to distinguish our bottles with stickers, but they always wash off. Dents in the bottle become the identifying mark, but Greensender's bottle shop offers a better solution.

A customized Sigg water bottle makes a wonderful gift (maybe it can be a late Father's Day present?). It is also a great idea for camp or back to school, as your child's water bottle will be truly unique. My daugther LOVES her customized bottle from Greensender. They do an excellent job with the engraving, and the Sigg bottle is very durable.  Sigg bottles are made in Switzerland, not China, which is another bonus for consumers.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 10, 2009

Ahoy Matey! 6 Flavors of All-Natural Pirate's Booty

piratebooty.jpg We've long been a fan of the original Robert's American Gourmet Pirate's Booty in our home, but I have to admit we took a long break from the products following the Veggie Booty recall in 2007. Enough time has passed, and I hope Robert's Gourmet has learned their lesson, so Pirate's Booty is back in our kitchen cabinets. It's a great snack made from puffed rice and corn that is baked (not fried). We've tried six varieties of Pirate Booty, including two new flavors!
  1. Pirate's Booty: This is still my favorite. I love the white aged cheddar.
  2. Pirate's Booty with Golden Caramel: This was my youngest scallywag's favorite flavor. He does have a sweet tooth!
  3. Bermuda Onion Pirate's Booty: This is a new flavor and my oldest scallywag's favorite. It is really good!
  4. Robert's American Gourmet Sea Salt & Vinegar Pirate's Booty: Unlike many sea salt & vinegar chips that are too strong, this new flavor has just the right blend.
  5. Veggie Pirate's Booty: A blend of spinach, kale, cabbage, carrots, and broccoli makes this snack easy to get hooked on.
  6. Barbeque Pirate's Booty: This would be the captain of our ship's favorite variety. I hope he watches out for the pirates!
My only wish is that these products were made from organically grown ingredients.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 8, 2009

Green Fashion Giveaway: Indigenous Designs Fair Trade Clothing for the Whole Family

ingenous designs.jpg I love clothes, especially fair trade, organic pieces. Recently, I discovered Indigenous Designs. Since 1994, Indigenous Designs has been making fair trade clothing, and you have a chance to win apparel from this eco-friendly line!
Together, Scotty and Matt have helped form a scalable artisan network through the Indigenous clothing line that reflects a commitment to sustainability and socially responsible actions. This global collaboration weaves together the employees of Indigenous, the artisans from around the world, and most importantly you, our customers.

We are committed to:


  • Supporting and preserving fair trade wages and artisan cooperatives

  • Investing in natural and organic fibers and environmentally-friendly dyes

  • Spreading the beauty of handmade, eco fashion


One of my favorite pieces in the women's line is the double layer skirt. This skirt is made from 100% organic cotton jersey material, low impact dyes, and is so comfortable! Of course, it is fair trade (not free trade) from Peru.  I will be living in this skirt this summer, and you could win one too!

Green Fashion Indigenous Designs Giveaway!
To enter:


Entries must be dated before Monday, June 15 at 11:59 PM. Good luck!
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 5, 2009

Green Grooming Products for Men by Every Man Jack

everymanjack.jpg Every Man Jack has created a line of "all natural" grooming products for men. These products contain no parabens, no phthalates, no dyes, no synthetic fragrances, no sodium lauryl sulfates, and no animal testing.
 
Will this boost my energy and stamina? Get plenty of rest, eat right and exercise, and you'll be on your way. Speaking of energy, this invigorating spiced pepper body wash will nourish and protect your skin, cleaning deeply to remove your body's dirt and grime. So you feel refreshed, but never dry.

Will this clear up my past? That might be asking a lot. As far as your skin goes, our lotion with maximum strength acne fighting medicine will take care of current breakouts and help prevent future ones. Botanical extracts soothe away irritation and dryness.

Will this help me shed pounds? Only if you count stubble. Meanwhile, this rich gel formula comforts and protects your face for a close shave, while the soothing formula hydrates and heals your skin. Leaving skin looking fresh and healthy. Made for sensitive skin.

Will this make me "The Man?" If you're the only guy in your household, then yes. Meanwhile, our invigorating shampoo + weightless conditioner will gently cleanse and moisturize your hair and scalp, while removing excess oil and build-up. Leaves hair stronger, softer, and healthier. Ideal for daily use.

"The Man" in my household is very sensitive to fragrances in grooming products designed for men, and he approved of the slight scents in the Every Man Jack products.  These products are very affordable (between $5-$10) and available at Target. 

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

June 3, 2009

Durable, Beautiful, Eco-Friendly, 100% Organic Bamboo Rugs

bamboorug.jpg Are you looking for a unique, eco-friendly rug for your home? A bamboo rug may be just what you are looking for to add to your home decor. Simple, durable, and beautiful, these moso bamboo rugs have a non-slip pad on the bottom that works on any floor surface (concrete, wood, tile, carpet, etc.). Bamboo rugs are also easy to clean and an be used outdoors, as well as high traffic areas.

Since these bamboo rugs are 100% organic, you probably don't have to worry about the controversy surrounding the eco-friendliness of bamboo or hardwood forests being clearcut to grow it. Bamboo & Tikis co-founder and lifelong surfer Jamie Kocher explains the benefits of bamboo:

Bamboo is a wonderful plant as it requires little or no chemicals and grows very fast. In fact, it is the fastest growing plant (grass) in the world. The more you cut it the faster it grows as it has a rhizome root system that spreads rapidly. And it regenerates 25 times faster than a conventional hardwood forest. Another upside is that it fights CO2 emissions as it grows by releasing oxygen into the atmosphere. Each and every acre of bamboo "eats up" 9,600 pounds of carbon dioxide.
We love our bamboo rug, and because of its neutral color, it matches any room in our home.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

May 29, 2009

Organic Spirits: Blue Ice Organic Wheat American Vodka

blueiceorg.jpg One of my favorite things about eating at the Millennium vegan restaurant in San Francisco is the organic mixed drinks on the menu. To make organic cocktails, you need to start with organic spirits. Blue Ice American Wheat Vodka is handcrafted from "pristine" Idaho water and certified organic neutral spirits by a family owned distiller.
As a USDA Certified Organic product, Blue Ice Organic Wheat Vodka bears the highest legal benchmark of purity that a beverage can receive. This guarantee ensures a commitment to environmentally sound farming void of chemical pesticides or harsh fertilizers and the absence of chemical additives or other possible taste-altering agents. Combined with a fresh harvest of hand-selected winter wheat and the seasoned palate of Blue Ice's veteran Master Distiller Bill Scott, the new spirit imparts a smooth body and a crisp, refreshing finish designed to please the discriminating vodka connoisseur.
Blue Ice also makes an organic potato vodka.

I'll be enjoying an organic cocktail this Friday evening thanks to Blue Ice!

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

April 22, 2009

Kiss My Face Natural and Organic Shimmers and Shines for Kissable Lips

sosbanner.png Kiss My Face's newest natural, organic products are for your lips! Sheer Organic Shine and Sheer Organic Shimmer are 100% natural, 91% organic, and made from natural minerals. Vitamins A and E help protect and heal your lips, and the colors are beautiful. There are six shades of "glorious glosses" and six "tempting tints". They even contain stevia!

I've been suffering from chapped lips for days, and the Sheer Organic Shine is very soothing and healing. The organic hint of mint or vanilla flavor is delightful, and the shea butter and jojoba oil moisturizing. Of course, since these new lip products are from Kiss My Face, they do not contain parabens, SLS, phthalates, synthetic colors or flavors, animal ingredients or testing.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 30, 2009

Natural Canvas Cotton Shopping Bags by Barebags

barebags.jpg I finally remember to use reusable shopping bags at all stores, not just the grocery store. When I forget, I feel a strong pain of eco-guilt and usually walk out with my arms full of goods and no bag at all. I hate plastic bags, but many of the reusable bags sold in retail chains are made of synthetic fabrics that do not biodegrade. Sure, you are using them over and over again, but there is a better choice for the environment.

Barebags makes 100% natural cotton canvas shopping bags.

Plastic bags harm our environment. They harm our animals. They harm our lands and seas. They can suffocate our children and pets.
Plastic bags are comsumed by the trillions and only 1% are recycled.
Plastic bags are very costly to recycle and sell for very little on the market.

Today's latest answer to single-use plastic bags? The plastic fabric look-a-likes! They look like canvas, some are even the same color as real canvas. But guess what? They aren't cotton canvas! They are made from nonwoven polypropylene! Will they biodegrade? No. Will they photodegrade? Perhaps, with enough sunlight they will break down into tiny bits of toxins that could leach into our land and water supply. Reusable? Yes, for a year or so until the seams give way.

Barebags are sturdy and come in many sizes. The unbleached cotton fabric also gives you an opportunity to decorate the bags on your own, should you choose. These bags are great and will hold up to many years of use.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 28, 2009

Aurora Naturally Plush Toys Made from Soy and Kapok Win Toy Award

soyotter.jpg Aurora Naturally Plush Toys are eco-friendly stuffed animals.  The exterior of these toys is made from 100% soy fiber, and the stuff comes from kapok seed pods, a sustainable rainforest crop. Recently, Aurora Naturally Plush won 2008 BabyZone.com Amazing Toy Award.
The world's first "green" plush line, more commonly referred to as Eco-Plush, surpassed all award requirements as evaluated by Babyzone.com and its diverse panel of testers. More than 100 manufacturers submitted their newest, most innovative baby and toddler products to Babyzone.com. Products were given to a panel of test moms and their children who evaluated each toy on uniqueness, age-appropriateness, long-term usability, skill development and fun.
Congratulations Aurora! My family loves these eco-stuffed animals, and we have given them for many gifts.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

January 26, 2009

Natural Smart Wool Socks are Cool, Warm, and Funky

smartwoolsocks.jpg I am one of those people that is plagued by cold feet (I blame my mom for smoking when she was pregnant with me and negatively affecting my circulation). I don't like itchy wool socks, but I don't like synthetics fabrics either. Smartwool Socks are the perfect solution. These socks are 86% wool, 13% nylon, and 1% elastic. The nylon keeps them from being itchy, and for that, I will tolerate a little synthetic fiber in my socks. The high content of wool works as natural odor control (I should get my daughter a pair), temperature regulation (keeps your feet warm when it's cold, and cool when it's hot), and wicks moisture away from sweaty feet. The minimal packaging is printed on recycled paper using soy-based inks. Smartwool Socks come in super cool funky designs (even though they keep your feet super warm). I could not survive winter (or spring or fall) without my Smartwool socks.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy