June 19, 2007

Robert's American Gourmet Chaos Snack Mix

6122FVBR83L._AA280_PIbundle-24,TopRight,0,0_AA280_SH20_.jpgWe can't get enough Pirate Booty. And we've been known to pick up the occasional bag of Chex Mix on road trips. So why not try Robert's American Gourmet Chaos Snack Mix, a mixture of organic pretzels, chips, caramel popcorn and other snack mixes from the creator of Smart Puffs, Veggie Booty and Tings.

The verdict: It's no Pirate Booty, but Chaos is a nice mix of sweet and salty. And the 2 oz snack bag is perfect for school lunches or an afternoon snack.

Buy Robert's American Gourmet Chaos snack mix.

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

May 24, 2007

Comparing Compact Fluorescent Light Bulbs

676ced98-41ac-4df1-a570-e279526e913f_300.jpgNYTimes writer William Hamilton may think compact fluorescent lightbulbs have a long way to go before they're widely accepted, but we're ready to say the bulbs are here to stay. The question is, which compact fluorescent bulbs work best and where will you want to use them? Well, readers, here are our two cents.

On Earth Day, Russ and I dropped by Home Depot to pick up our free compact fluorescent bulb, plus a couple of extras for good luck. And, because my husband is a scientist, we did a few tests, trying out different bulbs in different locations around the house.

We picked up three lightbulbs by n:vision -- in Soft White (green packaging), Bright White (blue packaging), and Daylight (red packaging). The Soft White is a 14 watt bulb -- the equivalent of a 60 watt regular lightbulb. The Daylight and Bright White bulbs are both 19 watts -- equivalent to 75 watt regular bulbs. According to the packaging, these bulbs can save $56/year in energy costs if the lightbulbs are used for 3 hours a day. All three bulbs have a 9 year warranty.

So, now the question of the hour, which bulbs - if any - would we use around the house and where would we use 'em?

ArrowContinue reading: "Comparing Compact Fluorescent Light Bulbs"

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

May 23, 2007

Stonyfield Organic Low-Fat Frozen Yogurt

frozen_group_12-05.jpg

YUM ALERT! Just discovered Stonyfield Farm Organic Low-Fat Frozen Yogurt. Oh, organic fro-yo, where have you been all my life?

I'm salivating over Creme Caramel, a 1/2 cup serving of which has just 150 calories, 2% of your daily fat and 15% of your daily calcium. Heck, I may need to eat two servings. :)

Stonyfield Farm Organic Low-Fat Frozen Yogurt also comes in Cookies'N'Dream, Minty Chocolate Chip and Raspberry White Chocolate Chunk. The company also makes a nonfat version and a super premium ice cream.

Stonyfield Farm Low Fat Organic Frozen Yogurt is available at your local supermarket.

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

May 22, 2007

Blirt Organic Cotton Baby Clothes - Review

Kathleen from Blirt sent along a sample of her fabulously hip organic cotton baby clothes. Holy moly - how adorable!

We got a long-sleeve tee with a design based on the expression "Fish Out of Water." The clothes come wrapped in neat brown paper bag packaging with a rope cord and the Blirt logo -- kind of like the kind used for whole coffee beans, but way hipper. The shirt is super-soft cotton, with the "Fish Out of Water" graphic and the expression written out on a stitched label underneath. It comes with a little booklet explaining the meaning of figure of speech.

As we mentioned, this is a shirt you'll feel great wrapped your baby in and snuggling up to. The cotton feels great against your skin and Blirt's non-toxic dyeing and screening process ensures that the only thing touching your baby or toddler's skin is soft organic fabric.

Maybe partly because of the dyeing process, the shirts come in a more natural range of colors than your typical baby gear. "Fish Out of Water" is olive green with baby blue design; other shirts in the collection are brown, light blue, granite - hip, natural colors for hip, natural kids.

As we mentioned in our earlier Blirt post, the shirts are made of 100% organic cotton, using fair trade labor practices. So you can feel good about your purchase while your kid looks good. Super cute, and a nice gift for eco-conscious parents-to-be. As an added bonus, shipping is free!

Available at Blirt.

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

May 7, 2007

Seeds of Change Quinoa

31FR6BN8YWL._AA220_.jpg
We'd planned to grill last night, only to discover at the last minute that our grill was out of gas. Quick change of plans -- Russ made the chicken and asparagus under the broiler, and I whipped out a box of stovetop quinoa.

We had Seeds of Change Certified Organic Tomato Basil Quinoa Blend in the house, a blend of quinoa, rice, and dried vegetables and spices. Following the instructions on the package, I sauteed ours in olive oil before adding water and the spice packet and cooking for 15 minutes.

To jazz it up, I added chopped roasted cherry tomatoes and some fresh rosemary. Totally yummy. Thanks, Seeds of Change folks.

Buy Seeds of Change Quinoa Mix.

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

May 2, 2007

Newman's Own Organic Prunes

B000DZH20S.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_V45539838_AA280_PIbundle-12,TopRight,0,0_AA280_SH20_-1.jpgWhether you're using them to make prune puree for Miriam's Low-Fat Magic Brownies or just eating them plain to increase the fiber in your diet, allow us to recommend Newman's Own Organic Prunes. They're 100% organic California prunes, with no sulfites.

Prunes get a bad rap as "old lady food" but the truth is, they're great for you. They're high in fiber, vitamin A and potassium (important for those of us who are allergic to bananas!). Better yet, they're higher in anti-oxidants than any fruit other than blueberries.

Buy Newman's Own Organic Prunes.

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

April 18, 2007

Kee-Ka Bodysuit, Bib and Burp Organic Gift Set

Organic-Giftset-peanut.jpg

More Kee-Ka cuteness. The last piece in the care package Kee-Ka sent over was this adorable organic bodysuit, bib and burp cloth gift set. Like all Kee-Ka baby clothing, the organic baby gift set is made of 100% certified super-soft organic cotton. The snaps on the bodysuit are nickel-free. And the whole set is so soft you want to bury your face in it.

ArrowContinue reading: "Kee-Ka Bodysuit, Bib and Burp Organic Gift Set"

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

April 16, 2007

Lush Massage Bars - Sleepy Head and Wiccy Magic Muscles

253.jpg
LUSH products look funny - more like gourmet foods than skincare products - and I have to admit, that's a big part of what drew us into the store. But I'm a convert to their massage bars, which rank high on my list of favorite moisturizers for my itchy pregnant belly.

ArrowContinue reading: "Lush Massage Bars - Sleepy Head and Wiccy Magic Muscles"

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

February 8, 2007

Product Review: Crispy Pineapples from Crispy Green

crispy_pineapples[1]-thumb.JPGFood and Wine magazine named CrispyFruit one of the Top 100 Tastes to Try in 2007.

Well, guess what? We tried it already. In 2006.

Luckily, the folks at Crispy Green, makers of Crispy Fruit, just introduced their newest product, Crispy Pineapples, and sent along some samples for us to try last week. And they're delicious.

Like the original products in the Crispy Fruit line-up -- Crispy Apples, Crispy Peaches and Crispy Apricots -- Crispy Pineapples benefit from Crispy Green's sophisticated freeze-drying process. They're pineapples distilled to their essence - pure pineapple flavor, in a crispy snack form that satisfies your urges for sweet and for crunch. Like their peers, Crispy Pineapples contain less than 40 calories per serving, and all the fiber and nutrients of 1/2 cup of fruit.

With no additives or preservatives, they're a snack you can feel good about. And their convenient snack-size portions -- not to mention their space-age silver packaging -- make them a favorite among kids for lunchboxes and after school snacks.

Available at Crispy Green.

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

February 7, 2007

RabbitAir BioGP Air Purifier - Part 2

RabbitAirBioGP.jpg
Thanks to folks who've written in to vouch for the RabbitAir BioGP Air Purifier (responding to last month's Breathe Easier post).

Mark has this to say about it in his review on Mindful Musings:

After plugging the unit in, I turned it on with the thin remote and set it on full auto. It has a “pollen sensor” and a “smell sensor” and they work in tandem to determine how fast the unit runs. It was interesting to know how polluted the unit thought our house was when we turned it on.

* The unit is very close to silent. Only when it senses something nasty does it get a tad bit louder but the brushless fan is perfect.

* It cleans quickly and automatically. Cooking smells and odors are gone in a few minutes, never longer than a few hours (yet)

* The pollen and smell sensors work, which is quite amazing. Cooking makes it automatically run faster and so does Jennifer’ nail polish smell. When the dogs wag their tails near the pollen/dander sensor, the unit wakes up and starts sending more air through.

Read more about the RabbitAir BioGP Air Purifier.
Buy it for 37% off retail at Amazon.

Jess Brooks at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy