December 19, 2012

Hawaii Handcrafted Organic Ocean Vodka

oceanvodka.png
Looking for some handcrafted organic spirits this holiday season?

Organic Ocean Vodka is the official vodka of the Aloha state. Even if you can't visit Maui during the cold mainland winter months, you can enjoy the refreshing deep ocean water used to make Ocean Vodka.

The mission of Ocean Vodka is to create a superior organic, value-added agricultural product from Hawaii that supports the local economy, competes globally based on quality and raises awareness for ocean conservation.

We are eco-conscious producers and our devotion to the preservation of our planet compels us to utilize only the safest, most sustainable production methods available, from seed to finished spirit.

Inspired by our love and respect for the ocean, Ocean Vodka supports organizations charged with oceanic conservation. Since we produced our first bottle of Ocean Vodka in 2006, we have strived to give back and help to protect those ever-so-delicate oceanic eco-systems that so deeply influence our lives. We welcome those dedicated to conserving ocean resources to help us increase awareness about oceanic causes, and are always open to discussing support and partnerships with like-minded efforts.


Furthermore, Ocean Vodka bottles are made with 60% recycled glass. Recycled glass melts at a lower temperature and quicker than virgin glass, thus energy is saved in addition to the recycling efforts.

This is the only vodka made from organic sugar cane!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 17, 2012

SeabuckWonders: Affordable High Quality Sea Buckthorn Personal Care

seabuckwonders.jpg

Dr. Oz, although not my favorite celebrity health care advisor for calling organic food "elitist, has called Sea Buckthorn a "miracle berry". Sea Buckthorn is very beneficial to skin, as it reduced the appearance of wrinkles and blemishes, as well as helps reverse the signs of sun damage.

The original company to sell Sea Buckthorn supplements has introduced a personal care line. We were sent the following products to try:
Seabuckwonders Sea Buckthorn Exfoliating Facial Cleanser:

Super charged with powerful antioxidants and containing more than 190 bioacitve nutrients, vitamins and minerals, Sea Buckthorn has been used traditionally for its amazing cell membrane supporting abilities to nourish and maintain beautiful, healthier skin, hair and nails. Sea Buckthorn Facial Cleanser cleans skin gently, yet effectively, without stripping the skin of its natural oils. It exfoliates to remove dirt and impurities, while hydrating skin for a smooth, clear complextion.

Seabuckwonders Sea Buckthorn Facial Cream
Sea Buckthorn Facial Cream supports a healthy mositure balance deep within the skin. This hydrating, yet lightweight, formula absorbs quickly and nurtures the skin for a soft, smooth complexion.

Seabuckwonders Sea Buckthorn Deep Hydrating Serum
Sea Buckthorn Deep Hydrating Serum nourishes and supports cell regeneration to minimize fine lines and help maintain a youthful, healthy glow.

Sea Buckthorn Body Lotion - with Organic Sea Buckthorn
The famous pro-skin contents including Omega 7, Vitamins C, E, A, SOD(superoxide dismutase) and about 200 other bioactive elements and their synergistics effect offers excellent protection, restoration and rejuvenation to your fair and young looking skin

Compared to other Sea Buckthorn beauty products, these are very fairly priced. They are vegan and non-GMO, as well as cruelty-free.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 14, 2012

Raw Food for Dummies: Recipes and More!

raw_food_for_dummies.jpg
Although I find the title of the Dummies books, well insulting, they do contain useful information in a user-friendly format.

Recently, we were sent Raw Food For Dummies by Cherie Soria and Dan Ladermann.

Celebrities like Sting, Madonna, and Woody Harrelson have drawn attention to the newest trend in eating: raw foods. Raw foodists--people whose diets consist of at least seventy-five percent raw foods--eat an uncooked, unheated, unprocessed, and organic plant-based diet. For those looking for informative facts about this way of life, the newly published Raw Food For Dummies® shares reasons for incorporating raw food into your diet and tips on how to do it, as well as more than 100 recipes covering breakfasts, lunches, dinners, appetizers, and snacks.

Followers of a raw food diet cite numerous health benefits, including healthy detoxification, increased energy levels, improved appearance of skin, improved digestion, and weight loss. Raw foods are nutrient dense with little to no saturated fats or sodium, and because they're high in potassium and rich in fiber, they are important factors in helping to reduce the risk of heart disease and other chronic ailments. Raw Food For Dummies covers these benefits, as well as information on transitioning to the raw food lifestyle (including where to buy and how to store raw foods) and the popular methods of preparing meals (sprouting, dehydrating, juicing, greening, and more).

After two of my close friends went on an Ejuva Intestinal Cleansing Program, I became inspired to eat more raw foods. Currently, I eat mostly raw foods. I feel so much healthier!  The only time I eat cooked foods is at dinner.

Raw Food for Dummies has a lot of useful information and recipes for anyone wishing to eating more food the way nature intended. I especially like the "Sweet Endings" chapter. I can't wait to try the Sweet Nut'ins 'n' Chocolate Kiss Cookies (no, they don't use Hersheys).

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 12, 2012

Kitchen Gadgets: The Garlic Chop

garlic_chop.jpg
The Garlic Chop is a kitchen gadget designed to make dicing garlic easier and hands-free, for those who wish to avoid the odor on their fingers.

I grow a lot of garlic, and yes, sometimes I am lazy about using it in my cooking, as I don't want to peal it and clean the garlic press. The Garlic Chop does not change the need for peeling garlic, but it is easier to clean than a press.

The Garlic Chop is powered by your hands and with a simple side-to-side twist, perfectly chopped garlic is revealed. A conveniently placed button on the rear of the design escalates a patented riser plate that pushes the garlic upward, which can be removed with a knife or spatula.

It has the makeup of handheld food processors and quickly dices up to four peeled cloves at a time. Small ribs on the side of The Garlic Chop allows for an easy grip and the interior plastic teeth are sharp enough to create a chopped, pulp-like consistency ideal for fish, meats and potatoes.

It is dishwasher safe.

The Garlic Chop does not cut up the garlic as fine as a press, which is good if you want bigger chunks. It also only accepts pretty small cloves. The first clove I tried it with was way too big, and I had to cut it up to make it fit in the Garlic Chop. I like to grow bigger cloves, as they are easier to use in cooking. Often, they need to be cut up for the press too.

The Garlic Chop would not work with elephant garlic unless you cut it up ahead of time.

There is nothing eco-friendly or natural about this product. It is made in China.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 10, 2012

Ditch Paper Towels with Jimmy Pocket Towel

home_slide_sporty2.jpg
Did you know that:

51,000 trees are cut down every day to make paper towels.

13 billion pounds of paper towels end up in landfills across the U.S.
every year.


Having a new puppy in the house, I fear we are contributing to this problem.

Jimmy Pocket Towel is a new company aimed at reducing the evil paper towel habit by creating a reusable, washable towel in a zipped up case you can carry with you anywhere.

Jimmy Towel is an ecologically-driven product company based in San Luis Obispo, CA. Its first invention, the Jimmy Pocket Towel, provides an alternative to paper towels in hopes of reducing waste in landfills, saving trees and conserving energy.

Who is Jimmy?
Though Jimmy is not directly involved in the company--he runs his own theater poster design studio--he's provided the most critical ingredient to its evolution: inspiration. In 2011 Alec, Lee, Jimmy and 33 other concerned community members joined a yearlong leadership program through the San Luis Obispo Chamber of Commerce. In one of the workshops on sustainability, the group was sharing ideas with each other on ways to reduce their ecological impact. Jimmy shared how he hadn't used a paper towel in over a year by simply wiping his hands on his pants. It was a small and simple act, but the cumulative effect over time proved to be significant. The group felt that if everyone in the world made the same small commitment, we could make a big stride in reducing our overall environmental impact.

I do the same thing in public restrooms, often to avoid germs on paper towel dispensers, as well as to reduce my use. I'm not sure I would carry one of these around in my pocket, as they are already pretty full, but I like the idea of keeping one in the car. I always have to pour water on my hands after recycling and never have anything to dry my hands on.
disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.
Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 8, 2012

Liberty Bottleworks: The ONLY American Made 100 Percent Recycled Aluminum BPA-Free Water Bottle

liberty_bottleworks.jpg
I can't believe I have never heard of Liberty Bottleworks before! This great company makes 100% recycled aluminum water bottles in Washington State. Most metal water bottles are made in China, with the exception of Swiss made Sigg bottles, although the company does not have the best track record with honesty and BPA. Liberty Bottleworks is a fresh alternative!

We were sent a Liberty Bottleworks Pearody Sport Water Bottle. The spout straw tips up easily with the little loop handle, and I do like the lid design.

Product Features

  • 100-Percent American Made on all American Machinery

  • Made from 100-Percent Recycled Aluminum

  • BPA Free Materials provide confidence in your healthy choice

  • Our high resolution textured digital technology allows us to replicate art in full color and "feel" it, too

  • PureShield Liner provides a healthy and easy to clean alternative to porous bare metal that can hold bacteria and odors


Recently, Liberty Bottleworks wons the first American Made Outdoor Gear Award!
The 2013 American Made Outdoor Gear Award harvested a variety of intriguing data regarding U.S. manufacturing and sourcing. A sample of statistics from entries include: 80 percent of applicants own their own facility; 74 percent of applicants created new manufacturing jobs in the last year totaling over 500 new jobs; and more than 60 percent of the applicants reported that 90 percent or more of all the goods they sell are made in the U.S.

I love Liberty Bottleworks!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 6, 2012

American Summits Spring Water: Purity in Sparkling or Still

american_summits.png
When I first opened American Summits Mineral Water, I was immediately taken back to Italy. Ironic a product with the name "American" would remind me of Europe, but the glass bottles and refreshing taste reminded me of the question at every Italian restaurant: naturale or frizzante? I always chose frizzante.

American Summits Spring Water is delicious and available in sparkling or still:

Our mission is to provide pure mineral water sourced from pristine American mountain springs. We use sustainable springs that are naturally recharged by rain and snowfall. We will never treat our water with chemicals or preservatives, or with distillation or reverse osmosis. Therefore, we will never use well water as our source. Instead, we seek out untouched springs high in the mountains in remote, protected lands. Our water is organically filtered through layers of mountain rock, and mechanically filtered to remove fine particulates, leaving traces of beneficial minerals and a natural alkaline level ideal for the body's pH balance.

Our commitment to identify and utilize springs in the American wilderness is designed to provide water of the ultimate purity and taste, while reducing the country's reliance on imported bottled water. With more than 98% of glass bottled water served across American hotels and restaurants originating in Europe and the South Pacific, an increase in consumption of American-sourced mineral water can reduce the industry's transportation footprint significantly. Our clear, recyclable glass bottles are produced in North America, as well.


Water from glass bottles tastes so much better!

I tried the sparkling water in a cocktail last night and loved it.

Most plastic bottle water comes from filtered city water, like Aquasana. Other mountain spring water companies wreak havoc on local aquifers. It is nice to find a refreshing, glass bottle alternative. American Summits is sourced in the Beartooth Mountains of Wyoming.

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

December 4, 2012

Healthy Gift Giving: NatureBox's monthly snack deliveries

naturebox.png
For many people trying to eat healthier or lose weight, snack time is often a downfall. When the urge to munch hits, instead of grabbing potato chips or pretzels, nuts and dried fruit are a better option.

NatureBox is a monthly delivery service featuring snacks you will feel good about eating instead of guilt.

The company's 'healthy snack box delivered to your door' concept makes healthier snacking easier and provides busy people with a convenient way to have nutritious, wholesome, and minimally processed snacks always on-hand throughout the year. For less than $20 a month, a NatureBox includes 15-20 servings of 4-6 items 'curated' by a nutritionist and sourced from local growers and independent food suppliers across the U.S. Every snack included in the box is free of high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils, trans fats, artificial sweeteners, flavors, and colors. With measured portions, NatureBox snacks make it easier on snackers to resist over-indulging in unwanted and unhealthy calories.

We were sent an October box to try:
It's the time of the year for pumpkin, crunchy leaves, and piping hot mugs of tea. The cool chill that sweeps through the air might also bring with it a few extra sniffles and we want to help you stay energized and healthy! This month's snacks will help to boost your immunity and pack in a serious punch of antioxidants anytime you grab a snack.

The October box includes:

  • Antioxidant Boost

  • Cherry Berry Granola

  • Sun-Dried California Apricots

  • Sticks 'N Stones

  • Blueberry Almond Bites


These snack pouches all look delicious. They blueberry almond bites are my favorite! My only concern is they are not organically-grown, but at least the apricots are gmo-free.

NatureBox donates one meal for every box sold, so not only is this a great way to ensure your friends and family eat healthy snacks each month by giving this gift, but you are also ensuring hungry families get a few meals.

Use promo code : REFER25 to get 25% off!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.


Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 30, 2012

Sustainable Stocking Stuffers: Sweet Pure Honey Lip Balm and Perfume Stick


I love honey! I love supporting small family farmers! Sweet Pure Honey is the product of a loving family with 400 hives.

We were sent three face and body products to try:

SWEET PURE HONEY BALM & CREME
Sweet Pure Honey balm and creme are handmade with 2 ingredients. We gently heat and blend beeswax and organic coconut oil to make our signature lip and body balms.
Organic coconut oil is rich in antioxidant, nutrients and provides amazing moisture benefits for healthy looking skin. Raw beeswax is hypo-allergenic and scented naturally with honey. Containing both pollen and propolis, it is beeswax in its most natural form. Made fresh and never warehoused, Sweet Pure Honey balm and creme are hand poured and created with care.
LOVE SOLID SCENT ORGANIC PERFUME STICK
Using our signature 2 ingredient balm we combine organic lemon grass, orange, and vanilla sandalwood essential oils to create an uplifting, mood shifting sumptuous scent.
SWEET PURE HONEY MICA
Sweet Pure Honey MICA lip tints are made with 3 natural ingredients.

These gentle products are made of a few simple ingredients. I really like the perfume stick, of which I had never tried a honey-based one before. It goes on easily, so you don't overdue the scent, and it feels nourishing.

These are truly sustainable, handmade products made with love!  Plus, those kids are super cute!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

November 28, 2012

SunRidge Farms: Organic, Antioxidant, 1% Donation to Defenders of Wildlife

Screen shot 2012-11-24 at 9.30.51 AM.png
After all that holiday eating, trail mix is a great snack to give you energy and feel the goodness of raw food.

One of the first trail mixes I ever tried was from SunRidge Farms. It amazes me how this company keeps reinventing trail mix in new combinations.

We were sent the following four nut and dried food mixes to try:

Sunridge Farms Deluxe Trail Mix:

Great on the go, for hiking, biking and other activities. SunRidge Farms Organic Deluxe Trail Mix is Organic Trail Mix at its finest. a premium assemblage of the finest select ingredients, blended together for flavor and convenience. With Organic Dried Apricots, Organic Roasted Peanuts, Organic Raw Almonds, Organic Dried Apples, Organic Walnuts, Organic Date Pieces, Organic Sunflower Seeds and Organic Raisins. the result is a snack that tastes delicious, contains fiber, iron and other nutrients.

Sunridge Farms Organic Cranberry Harvest
SunRidge Farms Organic Cranberry Harvest is a lively combination of the freshest ingredients harvested, dried, roasted and mixed. A hearty blend of sweet and tangy Organic Dried Cranberries, Rich and smooth Organic Dark Chocolate Chips, Sweet Organic Apples, Golden Organic Almonds, Crunchy Fresh Organic Peanuts and flavorful Organic Pumpkin Seeds. great for holidays, parties, gift baskets, snacks and lunches. dark chocolate is recognized for its antioxidant properties the result is a snack that tastes delicious, contains fiber, iron and other nutrients.

Sunridge Farm, Trail Mix Women Vitality:
All Natural Plump, Sun-Ripened, sweet raisins, dipped in premium SunRidge Farms All Natural Dark Chocolate. 65% Dark Cacao Solids great for holidays, parties, gift baskets, snacks and lunches. dark chocolate is recognized for its antioxidant properties the result is a snack that tastes delicious, contains fiber, iron and other nutrients.

Berries and Chocolate Antioxidant Mix:
Packed with protein, fiber, and antioxidants Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, lycopene, and beta carotene, Berries and Chocolate Antioxidant Mix is 100 percent vegetarian. All natural, without artificial flavorings and preservatives, the mix includes a hand-selected blend of sun-ripened blueberries, dark chocolate stars, freshly roasted almonds, walnuts, cranberries, cherries, cashews and peanuts.

Only the deluxe trail mix and cranberry harvest mix are organic, and only the antioxidant mix sales are donated to Defenders of Wildlife. I wish all of the products were organic and a donations of all sales went to environmental organizations.

My favorite mix we were sent is the antioxidant one. I love chocolate and berries!

disclosure: The products described above were sent to us as free samples. Prior assurances as to the nature of the reviews, whether positive or negative, were not given. No financial payments were accepted in exchange for the reviews. The reviews reflect our honest, authentic opinions.

Jennifer Lance at Permalink social bookmarking

Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Recent Reviews
welcomeArchives

EcoPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 6.2.4
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy